9/19 Binks +10.5 75 +11 113 PMPS 106 +2 116 +3 144 +11.5 284

Status
Not open for further replies.

mybuddybinks

Member Since 2010
We have a new ni ni song around here;

"Wake me up before you go low
and don't go bouncing round like a yoyo.
Wake me up before you go low
and let's just skip the times when you go high!"

cancelled the pj party cuz he seemed to be surfing last night, but couldnt get online to get the word out. i was afraid i'd wake up looking like the guy who passes out first at the frat party...decorated with lamp shades and permanent marker notes all over me...

thank you all for your restraint

celi
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=25275
 
Re: 9/19 Binks amps 148

Oops: Bink's Saturday Condo

Celi:

I'm not sure if anyone provided any post-dental info. Please make sure you know whether Binks will be given pain meds and if so, which one. I'd strongly discourage Binks getting Metacam since it has been found to cause kidney damage in some cats. There are other choices. Many cats here get buprenex. If there aren't extractions, a pain med may not be indicated.

When you bring Binks home, get a BG test when you walk in the door. Many cat's have a drop in BG numbers due to anesthesia. Having an in-the-door test will let you compare that number with your PMPS.

Since Binks may not have eaten most of the day, you'll have a hungry kitty. Do not give a lot of food all at once. Anesthesia slows gastric motility and if Binks chows down, you'll end up with scarf and barf. Give a small amount of food every 30 to 60 min.

When Gabby's had dentals, I've used baby food as a treat. It takes less chewing!
 
Re: 9/19 Binks amps 148 (mon 7am dental)

thanks for the housekeeping, guys. obviously not enuf coffee yet.

and thanks for the post-D info sienne...

no word on Kim & shadow yet?

celi
 
Re: 9/19 Binks amps 148 (mon 7am dental)

mybuddybinks said:
thanks for the housekeeping, guys. obviously not enuf coffee yet.

and thanks for the post-D info sienne...

no word on Kim & shadow yet?

celi

her spreadsheet is updated, seems ok.
 
Re: 9/19 Binks amps 148 (mon 7am dental)

Hi Celi,

Pouring more ~O) .

Nice AMps this morning. Good luck with the dental on Monday...!
 
Re: 9/19 Binks amps 148

Sienne and Gabby said:
When Gabby's had dentals, I've used baby food as a treat. It takes less chewing!


Good luck w/Binks dental tomorrow.


Just curious about the baby food recommendation.....any suggestions on the type of baby food.....
 
Re: 9/19 Binks amps 148 (mon 7am dental)

thank goodness on kim...of course i didnt think to ck her SS. makes me all that more determined to get our profile up tho...

morning, Blue!

celi



thanks, Manni-o Andretti! you can DRIVE, dude! Dorothy always trying to tell me "but it only goes up to 180 mph"- boy...did you show her! howz Der Paw this morning?

binks
 
Re: 9/19 Binks amps 148 (mon 7am dental)

You want Gerber's stage 2 or the equivalent -- it will have only meat and broth (and cornstarch). You want to make sure there are no onions or garlic in the ingredients. Just as a "heads up" -- at one point I figured that baby food is somewhere around 7% carb. Depending on the carb content of what you usually feed, you could see a bump in numbers depending on how much baby food you're giving.
 
Re: 9/19 Binks amps 148 +1 143 (mon 7am dental)

you know, the Dx vet had me feeding him baby food exclusively...said he needed the highest carb diet we could manage to "help him assimilate the insulin" thank goodness her referral was to a vet who knew more about FD!

i'll get some today. as for pain meds, the vet was pretty sure no extractions would be necessary, just wanted to get his teefus cleaned up to try to help lower his numbers...which is what many of you have mentioned. i really like the fact that she knows what she knows, and researches what she doesnt...when she called i mentioned the AB info you folks posted, and they did some checking and got back to me in full agreement.

of course, it goes without saying that binks adores her...he's NEVER Dorothy on vet day!

Sienne...what would it take for us to lure you away from TBP to do this full time? i'm thinking we need to start fundraising immediately...(although it sounds like you have a fascinating job)

celi
 
Re: 9/19 Binks amps 148 +1 143 (mon 7am dental)

Hey Binks, You having a dental tomorrow? Good luck, good buddy. Looking forward to a bright shiny smile!!

Stu
 
Re: 9/19 Binks amps 148 +1 143 (mon 7am dental) Check This Out

man, when i saw this online, i couldnt help but be struck by how it symbolizes what i think the spirit of this board is...
 

Attachments

  • FD TEAM.jpg
    FD TEAM.jpg
    32 KB · Views: 2,851
Re: 9/19 Binks amps 148 +1 143 (mon 7am dental) Check This Out

Yes, the force is with us at FDMB. Cute picture. Good luck with the dental. Have you decided what you are shooting tonight and if you are shooting at all in am?
 
Re: 9/19 Binks amps 148 +1 143 (mon 7am dental) Check This Out

hi, joyce...thought your pm was wonderful..thank you.

Vet suggested full dose tonight, half dose tomorrow am...and no-one has suggested differently..so that's what i was thinking. she doesnt think he'll need any extractions, but wants give his toothy grin a litlle help hoping it may assist lowering his numbers (and getting him dates).

celi
 
Re: 9/19 Binks amps 148 +1 143 (mon 7am dental) Check This Out

Oh Celi I totally agree on the pic! Should be on the page header here! Glad you got some sleep last night.
 
Re: 9/19 Binks amps 148 +1 143 (mon 7am dental) Check This Out

I'd kind of take a poll and see what others have done on their dental days.....
Last one of Tuscany's we did not shoot in the am. I shot the regular dose the night before - but with having to pick up food early - she was a bit lower the next am. Then you have the anesthesia that likes to nom nom on the glucose and the cat hasn't had fuds yet so we did not do any insulin day of dental.
Also - depending on how long Binks will be there before you can pick her up - take some of her food and give instructions to vet that if they are going to feed her after anesthesia - to please use her food - not theirs - no telling what they might give her.
 
Re: 9/19 Binks amps 148 +1 143 (mon 7am dental) Check This Out

CELI!! This is important--After the dental, the BG's will drop due to the anesthesia, so Please be aware of this!!!!!!
Moonie's 1st dental on 11/19/09, I spent part of the night up with Jill trying to get Moonie's BG back up!!--Look on my SS.
THE Anesthesia has the NOM NOM efect & eats the BG causing the numbers to drop...
So maybe you should shoot a reduced dose at night--OK? Ask the dosing helpers just to be sure-OK??

WE Will Be nervous on Monday along with you, as our Civvie is having his dental at 9am--
We will be Wishin and hopin, & planning & dreaming (song test :lol: ) for our kitties to be home well & safe!!
Right there with you kiddo--Big Hugs!!
 
Re: 9/19 Binks amps 148 +1 143 +3 80 dental pm dose ?

ha! for once i restrained my itchy fingers and i finally predicted one of his bg readings correctly...figured after am cycle yesterday that this might be the look of his +3.( that's not to say that i wasnt observing his behavior like a hawk, but at least i saved him 1 pokie). maybe i should run out and get a lotto ticket...

please see posts above re: dosing advice for tonight and tomorrow am pre-dental and let me know what you suggest...

celi

roni- were we carpooling it for the mental dentals? i understand if you're not comfy riding around with a carful of my personalities :)
 
Re: 9/19 Binks amps 148 +1 143 (mon 7am dental) Check This Out

Roni is partially right. Not all cat's BG drop after anesthesia. It may also be a matter of how long they are under anesthesia. The first dental Gabby had, there was no effect on her numbers. After the 2nd dental, which was more involved, there was more of an effect from the anesthesia AND she didn't want to eat. It's why it's important to get a test when you get home so you have a comparison. Also, post before PMPS if you have a question about dose.

Ceil - these days with my job, I'd be more than happy to chuck it and do this full time!
 
Re: 9/19 Binks amps 148 +1 143 +3 80 dental pm dose ?

Something to think about Celi....I decided to NOT give shadow is full dose the night before...as I wrote a couple of days ago....
Did your vet say what would happen if Binks' BGs were too low in the morning? Skippy/Birten was too low in the morning and had to go home and reschedule the dental, I'm just sayin...
Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
We have a list of things to think about when having the dentals done Celi....each vet varies from another in how long they want the kitty to fast.

I will speak of my experience....They are to fast from midnight right through until after the dental. No insulin the morning of the dental. (last dental for Shadow, I reduced his dose on my own the night before after talking it over with people here. I was afraid of him going too low overnight and with my having him fast, that would be a problem if his insulin drove his numbers down.)

Some vets cancel the dental if the numbers are too low in the morning of the dental.
I drop them off at 8am and usually pick them up between 2pm and 4pm. One time I needed to give Clavamox for 2 weeks after the dental due to infected gums, last time I did not have any ABs for Shadow after. (it is recommended that you do not take the Convenia shot...lasts 14 days...Clavamox is safer if ABs are needed)
My two never seemed wobbly or sick when I picked them up and they ate normally that evening.
However, some kitties are really knocked out by the anesthesia and one has to take it slow when reintroducing food. A tablespoon at a time to start and then in an hour, a little more food.

Depending on the work that needs to be done, the kitties usually have better BG numbers within a few days after the dental...Binks is looking good already so that is not the case with him

You might want to take a look at this too: http://www.cathospitalofchicago.com/lib ... hesia.html
I am sure others will come by with suggestions for you to think about....

I gave him a reduced dose the night before since I couldn't give him any food to bring his numbers up during the night before the dental. that is not the norm though and I did discuss it with people here. usually they give the full dose the previous night. I erred on the side of caution. The anesthesia lowers the BGs further, so the morning BGs are important before the procedure. How would you feel about halving his dose tonight since he is supposed to fast?

Not sure what others will say to this so I am just putting it out there once again to you since you didn't mention it today...
maybe people will make suggestions to you about it...
 
Re: 9/19 Binks amps 148 +1 143 +3 80 +3.5 80

all p's firmly in place...including a new one...my bean is a total prat...she forgot the litter for my breeze box, and if she thinks the dried kidney bean trick is gonna work again, she's got another think coming. i can see her gearing up to be Devilina Darter again, too. my ear aches at the thought...

binks

yes, they said that if his bg's were too low we'd need to reschedule. and as far as pm dose tonight, i'm willing to go with the collective opinion y'all come up with...your experience and guidance have never failed us! you'll have to coach me on how we get back to the correct dose...we'll cross that bridge when we come to it.

celi

**believing that discretion is the better part of acerbic wit, i chose to edit out the kennedy reference...
 
Re: 9/19 Binks amps 148 +1 143 +3 80 +3.5 80

Why not see where Mr. Binks goes today & decide before his PMPS??.Cant hurt!-As Moonie is a long term diabetic, I go for safety..
Binks has been getting such beautiful numbers, my best advice is to come on & ask later-Let's see where he goes today(besides to see Mannie, Shadow or Stu :-D )
OK?
The morning is the worst part of the dental when they look at you & say"where's my food?" :sad:
Very hard for us, but ya gotta do it!! And also till you hear from the vet that they are OK!--It will be fine for us both! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/19 Binks amps 148 +1 143 +3 80 +3.5 80 =4 78

sounds good to me...i've got a full runaround scheduled for the time he's at the vet's...i will leave the meter home to avoid any test withdrawal incidents like pulling out the lancet at the tire store...stabbing the intern when they drain the knee fluid, etc.. :))

celi
 
Re: 9/19 Binks amps 148 +1 143 +3 80 +3.5 80 +4 78 +5 60

it could be that Dorothy has some of his own ideas about tonights dose....

fed flat teaspoon of HC gravy
 
Re: 9/19 Binks amps 148 +1 143 +3 80 +3.5 80 +4 78 +5 60 +5.5 56

fed full teaspoon HC gravy with couple good size drops karo syrup...maybe between 1/32 and 1/16th teaspoon...gotta be a better way to describe it.

should have known his previous love of pudding would make him dig the karo...
 
Re: 9/19 Binks +1 143 +3 80 +3.5 80 +4 78 +5 60 +5.75 56 +6 49

and there it is...fed another teaspoon HC with 1/16th teaspoon karo...
 
Re: 9/19 Binks +3 80 +3.5 80 +4 78 +5 60 +5.75 56 +6 49 +6.25 77

be warned, celi...if you want to play Joan Crawford a la "Mildred Pierce", i'm gonna make you work for it!!

binks

guess this will figure into the decisions on tonight's dose...and boy...karo works faster than i expected...

cuddles
 
Re: 9/19 Binks +1 143 +3 80 +3.5 80 +4 78 +5 60 +5.75 56 +6 49

Wow, that is fast! Sure glad he did this today instead of tomorrow.
 
Re: 9/19 Binks +1 143 +3 80 +3.5 80 +4 78 +5 60 +5.75 56 +6 49

i think so too, anne...what have other folks seen with karo timing (knowing ECID)? i tend to think he's a very carb-sensitive guy from my limited experience...but the way he evened out with the mini meal change kinda leads me to suspect that.

and now i'm a lil more nervous about tomorrow...
 
Re: 9/19 Binks +3 80 +3.5 80 +4 78 +5 60 +5.75 56 +6 49 +6.25 77

somehow i must have edited the wrong subject line...
 
Re: 9/19 Binks +3.5 80 +4 78 +5 60 +5.7 56 +6 49 +6.25 77 +7 114

bumped him up quicker than yesterday, too.. guess it may be due to timing in the cycle, less food on board or maybe i'm a little off on how much i gave him...

celi
 
Re: 9/19 Binks +3.5 80 +4 78 +5 60 +5.7 56 +6 49 +6.25 77 +7 117

That's some nice surfing by Binks! He sure loves those greens. :mrgreen: I hope everything goes well at the dentist tomorrow.

ps I love your ni ni song!
 
Re: 9/19 Binks +3.5 80 +4 78 +5 60 +5.7 56 +6 49 +6.25 77 +7 117

Binks you rascal...glad you coming back up. What an awesome Mommy you have.

We'll be thinking of you tomorrow...ace that dental, boy.

Celi...while I'm a newbie at FDMB, I am totally familiar with metacam and run, don't walk away from it. I'm in a CRF group and
there have been alot of people with young cats come to us because they got metacam and it whacked their kidneys. We have always
used buprenex after dentals and it works great for my civvies and I believe someone else said it was ok for a sugarbaby. Even if he
doesn't have any extractions, his gums might be sore from the cleaning. Also...if you need an AB, and they want to give
him something like Convenia, I'd just be sure you hang around the vet's office for a while. Most kitties do absolutely fine
with it, but Gracie went into anaphylactic shock. But ECID like you all say and Gracie is the only one I've ever heard of
that has done this. Thank God I had just left the vet and was able to turn right around and get back in...of course I'm
sure the cops weren't too happy with my driving...curbs and running red lights and all...that was probably enuff to scare
Baby Grace back into reality. Anyway, her gums were white but they got her turned around in no time. So my philosophy now is if it's something new, we hang around the vet and watch all the other pets come and go for a bit.
 
Re: 9/19 Binks +4 78 +5 60 +5.7 56 +6 49 +6.25 77 +7 114 +8 96

"5 ear pok-iiiies....
4 'holy craps!',
3 teaspoons HC,
2 karo shots...
and a teaspoon of low carb fooood"

karo spike, i'm guessing.

Marjorie...thanks for the info. is metacam a pain med?
whenever people ask me "do you need help?" my answer is always: "oh, only all that i can get..." :))

Celi
 
Re: 9/19 Binks +4 78 +5 60 +5.7 56 +6 49 +6.25 77 +7 117 +8 96

You are amazing...he's doing good, huh?? He's coming back up but not crazy fast and settling a little. Good, right?

Gracie said to tell Dorothy that she loves pink, too.
 
Re: 9/19 Binks +4 78 +5 60 +5.7 56 +6 49 +6.25 77 +7 114 +8 96

of course she does...she's named after my 2nd favorite actress of ALL time...(and a princess, to boot!)

binks has this pink feather boa that he refuses to let anyone touch...cracks me up
 
Re: 9/19 Binks +4 78 +5 60 +5.7 56 +6 49 +6.25 77 +7 117 +8 96

Hola, Sknib. Another exciting day, I see?

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 9/19 Binks +5 60 +5.7 56 +6 49 +6.25 77 +7 114 +8 96 +9 71

Si, Donito...well, actually, i've been napping anytime i can get away from Pokelina.

Sknib
 
Re: 9/19 Binks +6.25 77 +7 114 +8 96 +9 71 +9.75 64 +10 61 ??

now the question...just fed him 2 teaspoons HC at +10...retest, then if i have to give him more, ill that mean a stall?
 
Re: 9/19 Binks +6.25 77 +7 114 +8 96 +9 71 +9.75 64 +10 61 ??

hmmmm, if I were you, I would lean toward no more than 1/2 dose of insulin tonight. What time are you supposed to pick up his food? And I wouldn't give any in the morning, to be safe.

oh, and this late in the cycle *usually* low carb will help them stay on the surfboard. ECID, so do whatever works for Binks.
 
Re: 9/19 Binks +9 71 +9.75 64 +10 61 +10.5 75 +11 113 dose??

i gotta tell you...reduced dose or no dose is sounding really good to me about now. shot time is 45 mins away.

celi & sorehead
 
Re: 9/19 Binks +9 71 +9.75 64 +10 61 +10.5 75 +11 113 dose??

what time did they tell you to pick up his food tonight?

More than once we've had kitties whose dentals were cancelled because they were too low. It's probably better to run him just a bit higher than usual tonight so that won't happen, especially if you have to take up his food at midnight. Then no dose in the morning.

When you get home after his dental tomorrow, we recommend testing as soon as you get home so you'll have a baseline. Then you'll know if he's dropping (and how fast) by PMPS. Some people have to give 1/2 dose the evening after the dental too.
 
Re: 9/19 Binks +9 71 +9.75 64 +10 61 +10.5 75 +11 113 dose??

the tech told me 830pm...when i said," but he gets an insulin shot at 630 pm", she said," ok...then 9pm." they definitely said no dose in the am...but i'm a lil shy about his pm tonite...thinking at least half or less? she says they'll do the dental right at 730 am
 
Re: 9/19 Binks +9 71 +9.75 64 +10 61 +10.5 75 +11 113 dose??

WOW!! I go away for a few hrs & look at Binksy!! :shock: :shock: :shock: Whatta a wild ride!!
I would go with Libby's help anyday, anytime!!--BTW they told me to not feed Copper after 12 midnite, then they said 10 pm??? What is with these people???
How about Moonie?? She cant eat either after 12!!!--Hope it wont hurt her!!
I must take away his water in the morning-- ohmygod_smile How about Moonie?? ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile
You know these are receptionists..Right??

Look by this time tomorrow both our kitties will be home & safe, and we will return to our usual calm selves :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
This will all be behind us--OK Now tell it to me nailbite_smile
 
Re: 9/19 Binks +9 71 +9.75 64 +10 61 +10.5 75 +11 113

sorry, libby- i missed the post where you suggested half...that sounds good to me.

and roni- why is it so much worse than when WE go in for a dental?? guess we really are "those" people :))
 
Re: 9/19 Binks +9.75 64 +10 61 +10.5 75 +11 113 PMPS 106 ?

two more queries, then i'll give it a rest...
do i need to check him again tonight before +11?

and after we get thru tomorrow evening...did his 49 earn him a dose reduction?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top