9/19 Atlas PMPS 401, +1 400, +2 297, +3 286, +4 285

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beth & Atlas

Member Since 2010
Good Morning ~O) ~O) ~O)

It's a three cup day today and looking at the board...a few of you may join me with needing that extra cup of joe!!!

Well no wild ride here, just the usual 1am spot check and early morning rise pet sit visit. I think I'm gonna change that early visit policy to more like 7am. It is dark outside even now, but I think for safety sake...it would be a good thing.

Another rainy morning...I'm going back to bed Mom or better yet...under the bed. ~~~Attie


Yesterdays Red Roof Inn visit: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=25256
 
Re: 9/19 Atlas AMPS 435

I hope Atlas decides to come out from under the bed by the time you finish your rounds and better yet, he decides that red is just not his color. Good luck with the dosecrease.
 
Re: 9/19 Atlas AMPS 435, +2 438 Attie...please get off the roof!

Again...bounce?

The protocol says to disregard the fluctuations. Now I am wondering, questioning, doubting what that means? They say not to do "so called rebound" checks. They say somogyi rebound doesn't truly exist.

Yet, we have a whole sticky about: rebound on lantus and missing the correct dose. :?

Attie's ideal weight is 12-15lbs. He has lost weight on Lantus.

If I calculate it out he should have started at about 1.7u, which is where we are finally. A vet would have rounded that up to 2.0 or down to 1.5.
 
Re: 9/19 Atlas AMPS 435, +2 438 Attie...please get off the roof!

Ouch on the red - hope it clears quickly. Good luck with the dosecrease! I hope you guys have a good day today.
 
Re: 9/19 Atlas AMPS 435, +2 438 Attie...please get off the roof!

Now let's see....what could keep three felines from breffis #2?

Oh....I see the issue...

I moved the birdfeeders around yesterday and they are much closer to the picture windows...

They are birdwatching and discussing their sightings of finches, chickadees, sparrows...and chipmunks!
 
Re: 9/19 Atlas AMPS 435, +2 438 Attie...please get off the roof!

The +2 isn't a surprise -- remember that the +2 and pre-shot should be roughly the same number in a "perfect" curve.

Somogyi, which has very limited research evidence to support it, could potentially happen if a dose was increased too much -- like increasing by a full unit -- and thereby missing the optimal dose. The other thing that can contribute to higher numbers is an infection or inflammation. Has Atlas had a dental any time in the relatively recent past or do you have any reason to suspect a UTI or any other problem?
 
Re: 9/19 Atlas AMPS 435, +2 438 Attie...please get off the roof!

I think Atlas should come on down to the yellow door at least!!-Rebound exists as many of us can tell you for sure!!
We went through this debate a few years ago...Right now you are seeking the right dose for Atlas--Like I told you, patience & consistancy..That's what it takes.
But we in our desire to fix our kitties, seem to have hard times with this--
Just follow the help our learned members here give you, and you will get the optimal results...
Having a vet that is learned in lantus is very very rare!--Sienne is absolutely correct, this high number could be coming from a low grade infection even..
Has your vet checked Atlas urine & teeth before this??
Hope the dose crease works today!! Have a good one!
 
Re: 9/19 Atlas AMPS 435, +2 438 Attie...please get off the roof!

Sienne and Gabby said:
The +2 isn't a surprise -- remember that the +2 and pre-shot should be roughly the same number in a "perfect" curve.

Somogyi, which has very limited research evidence to support it, could potentially happen if a dose was increased too much -- like increasing by a full unit -- and thereby missing the optimal dose. The other thing that can contribute to higher numbers is an infection or inflammation. Has Atlas had a dental any time in the relatively recent past or do you have any reason to suspect a UTI or any other problem?


OK, well we're increasing pretty slowly...not even 1/2 units so somogyi is not likely.

Attie has a loose bowel issue that refuses to clear up. If you check back through the the loads of threads you will see where this is discussed. We're currently doing Tylosan, which in felines is an broad spectrum antibiotic and helps with intestinal inflammation. Attie is allergic to metrodiaznol(sp). He's been wormed several times, we tried metro, we tried boiled chicken, we tried psyllium to add bulk, we even did Children's Immodium, and now we're using Tylosan ...which takes a long time to work (been 3 weeks and can take up to 4-5 weeks to see improvement)? I've also tried keeping him to only one kind of food & flavor. Twice daily BM's of a pudding to liquid consistency. This has been going on for months. Yes, I said months... :sad: It doesn't seem to be causing any real impairment like dehydration and inspite of it...he gained weight and overall good health.

Some think it might be IBD, but somewhere I read some cats don't get neuropathy in their hocks...it shows up in the bowel? I am wondering if adding B-12 might help.

I've even considered ordering some edible clay. A homeopathic remedy?
 
Re: 9/19 Atlas AMPS 435, +2 438, + 4 369

Well, home from TBP.

Stopped on my way to work to pick-up some EVO Duck, Rabbit or Venison. The only thing the store had was 6 cans of duck. That will last 3 days. :roll: I read they may be good for IBD?

And we're at a 433 too boot.

Attie is guarding the perpetual water bowel :cry:

I still have humilin N on hand and am wondering if giving him a half unit ...just to knock these numbers back a bit ...would be OK.

I thought he might be healthy enough to do this switch, but maybe I was wrong.
 
Re: 9/19 Atlas AMPS 435, +2 438, + 4 369

Hi,
picked up yur coment on Jills thread.

The liquipoo issues I'd put a separate post in health, you should be able to get some more eyes that have specific experience of this.an't comment on the AB's your using.
Ask about methyl B12 being given too (Hilary/maui is the guru that I always refer to :-D for this)

Numbers wise-you could just simply be still looking for your breakthrough dose. It's a marathon not a sprint :mrgreen:
Try not to throw an increase in and then drop again, this can throw your numbers too.
As Jill's post reminds you, hold the dose and increase in .25u increments.
You had a good initial reaction with Lantus (often happens) then numbers start to rise-all normal.

Bounce can last up to 72 hrs.
School of thought is that somygi doesn't happen with Lantus even if it does exist, so don't get caught up in that.Hold your dose now for 6 cycles (as per Jills reminder and so on.We for example went up past 4u before we started coming down again, some higher than this.Doing it the way you are keeps you in control)
If he is keytone prone, your doing the right thing to regularly test.

You can give him fresh boiled chicken to bulk up his protein intake and get some more weight on him (if you think he needs that? negligible carbs).
Good Luck :mrgreen:

just ssen you've posted-what switch?
 
Re: 9/19 Atlas AMPS 435, +2 438, + 4 369

kate and lucky said:
just ssen you've posted-what switch?

I don't understand what you are asking?


And yes, all good advice and reminders too the "impatient...beans." :razz:
 
Re: 9/19 Atlas AMPS 435, +2 438, + 4 369

I'm rubbish at doing the quote thing!
The last sentence in your post before mine.
 
Re: 9/19 Atlas AMPS 435, +2 438, + 4 369

Blue said:
I still have humilin N on hand and am wondering if giving him a half unit ...just to knock these numbers back a bit ...would be OK.

I thought he might be healthy enough to do this switch, but maybe I was wrong.


We switched from 6 months on Humilin N to Lantus. I had worked Attie up in health & weight and down from 8u Humilin N to a sliding scale of 1.5-2.0u. He was still being erratic enough to give me heart palpitations...so we thought switching to a longer acting insulin would be better.

The vet investigated Lantus and spoke with some colleagues and agreed to attempt this switch. Partly/mostly because he trusted me through all the home testing to be able to do this ...all for the better. He is not real familiar with Lantus, but agreed to try it.

Part of me is thinking we're no where near high enough yet on the lantus. Part of me thinks we should have started at 2.0u and not the 1.0u, but it is a lesson learned.

The last concern has to do with the insulin itself. There may be an issue with it. If it's potency has been compromised, I'll need to caution his adoptive family to start all over again as the shelter isn't going to spend the $$$ for a cat waiting on transport. If there is no problem with the potency and the numbers start to shake out.....well it will be a relief.
 
Re: 9/19 Atlas AMPS 435, +2 438, + 4 369

Ahh now it makes sense.
If you look at stickies it does give some pointers to check whether Lantus still good (such as floaties) Also if numbers continue to increase.
If insulin has been stored correctly should definitely be good for around 40 days and Jill has known people use it up to 9 weeks.

I still think you've done the right thing working him up from 1u-even if it's been frustrating. It's helped you to start putting the pieces of his jigsaw together. :-D

Hope he's happy in his new home-your a brick for fostering an FD kitty, cos not many will!

Good Luck Atlas cat_pet_icon
 
Just sittin' here restin' my bones,
Gonna make this dock my home,
I'm just sittin on the dock of the bay,
Watchin my time a slippin' away,

Pmps 401
+1 400
+2 297
+3 286
+4 285
+6 255
+10 295
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top