Jan D & Squeaky
Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-19-20-squeaky-amps-273-7-335-pmps-375.235580/
Hi Friends, Thanks so much for all the input. I'm aiming for TR and I still need today to decompress from all the emotional turmoil and stress so we'll start tomorrow if all seems in order. I still need to get the "hypo" equipment assembled in one place.
Couple of questions.
1. How important is it to have an appetite stimulant on hand? I'm thinking expense..... geez not cheap and expires. The last tube, we used ONCE and now it is expired. Is there a lot of agreement that the mirtazapine ointment is good? The plus side of that is no pilling, Squeaky hates pilling.
2. If I need to give him something with honey, what's the best way? A drop on a treat? If he's hypo, will he be interested in eating at all?
3. Is a feeding syringe something I need to have on hand?
4. Is there ever a chance that I can give Squeaky (and me) a break one day sometime, and only do the PS BG and not the mid-cycle ones? You know, a person (cat) just needs a break sometimes, from the stress.
5. I'm wanting to change from 2.5 prednisilone in the a.m. to 1.25 in the morning and 1.25 in the afternoon. Part of me is reluctant because he hates being pilled and that's two pills. However his eating habits are inconsistent (chunks by hand) and I never know what he's going to want to eat, he changes all the time. Anyway, what is the way to make the change? Give him 2.5 in the morning, then 1.25 evening, then 1.25 the next morning? He would get a little extra at one time then receive the desired dose.
The other option would be 2.5 one day, 1.25 the next morning, 1.25 the next evening. That might create a bit of a dip because his body is used to getting the 2.5 in the morning.
So a little extra, or a little less? That is the question.
Thanks a bunch!!!!!
Hi Friends, Thanks so much for all the input. I'm aiming for TR and I still need today to decompress from all the emotional turmoil and stress so we'll start tomorrow if all seems in order. I still need to get the "hypo" equipment assembled in one place.
Couple of questions.
1. How important is it to have an appetite stimulant on hand? I'm thinking expense..... geez not cheap and expires. The last tube, we used ONCE and now it is expired. Is there a lot of agreement that the mirtazapine ointment is good? The plus side of that is no pilling, Squeaky hates pilling.
2. If I need to give him something with honey, what's the best way? A drop on a treat? If he's hypo, will he be interested in eating at all?
3. Is a feeding syringe something I need to have on hand?
4. Is there ever a chance that I can give Squeaky (and me) a break one day sometime, and only do the PS BG and not the mid-cycle ones? You know, a person (cat) just needs a break sometimes, from the stress.
5. I'm wanting to change from 2.5 prednisilone in the a.m. to 1.25 in the morning and 1.25 in the afternoon. Part of me is reluctant because he hates being pilled and that's two pills. However his eating habits are inconsistent (chunks by hand) and I never know what he's going to want to eat, he changes all the time. Anyway, what is the way to make the change? Give him 2.5 in the morning, then 1.25 evening, then 1.25 the next morning? He would get a little extra at one time then receive the desired dose.
The other option would be 2.5 one day, 1.25 the next morning, 1.25 the next evening. That might create a bit of a dip because his body is used to getting the 2.5 in the morning.
So a little extra, or a little less? That is the question.
Thanks a bunch!!!!!