9/18 Tori Update- She's having a setback

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb and Tori

Member Since 2009
Hi everybody. I haven't been around for a week or so. A lot has been going on not just with Tori but with my son as well. Some of you may remember that he has been ill for some time now and that the doctors really don't know what the heck is going on with him. His symptoms have been getting worse and new problems keep showing up. Anyway he's been going through a real hard time emotionally. His primary doctor has told him that he should apply for disability benefits. He's only 23. It's been a very bitter pill for the both of us to swallow. We're both really wondering if he will ever get his life back. So as you can imagine a lot of my time has been devoted to him .

Now to Tori. Since Doug called and told me about his concern about her weight I have been doing my best to try and fatten her up a bit. I've been trying the kitty buffet routine. I think I went about it a bit too enthusiastically and she wound up with diarrhea for what I think is the first time in her life. I discovered that she really likes the Merrick especially the Grammy Pot Pie so she's been eating that along with her regular food.

Yesterday was Chemo Day and she received the Cyclophosphamide which is given orally. Well her CBC is fine. He also drew a chemistry profile but that had to be repeated today after she fasted overnight because her blood is so lipemic. Not a surprise as this has happened before. Her weight is down again from 2 weeks ago. She has lost another 0.2Kg. When Doug examined her he agreed that the bump has again become a lump and he also felt a couple of more bumps which would be along the node chain. These could be just inflammation or could be spread of the lymphoma. So now we have to decide what we are going to do. Doug is going to get in contact with the oncologist in Calgary to discuss whether we should change her chemo protocol, go back to every week or what. The problem is that there isn't really a standard protocol for this type of lymphoma. It's just not that common and there has only ever been one study done. I'm just so frustrated and am feeling totally defeated right now. The treatments of choice were just not possible for Tori. Surgery was impossible -she probably would have stroked or bled out or wound up with a facial paralysis. Radiation just isn't doable either. Now the chemo isn't doing its job and we don't really know what to try next. I'm so scared.

Tori really feels punky today after the chemo. She didn't give a hoot that she couldn't eat this morning and she turned up her nose at everything I offered her .
I did start her on Mertazapine this morning. Hopefully that will help. SHe has now lost over a pond since August. She has seen a lot of yellow in her numbers lately and I upped her dose to 1.5 this morning.

So that's where we're at. Hopefully we'll get some answers soon and my baby girl will start feeling better soon. Sorry this was so long.

Now to check out how the rest of LL is doing.
 
(((Barb))) I'm sorry things are so rough. I hope the oncologist has some ideas for you. Have you considered trying Ondansetron for nausea to help with he chemo? It's quite expensive, but the vet can write a prescription for you to take to Costco or another human pharmacy. Sending lots of snowflakes to Tori and your son.
 
Oh (((Barb))) - sorry to hear about Tori's setback. Hoping it's just temporary. Tell her Kasha and I are counting on her to pave the way for us - we need to see some success here, Tori girl!

I hope all works out with your son. I don't know what is going on with him, but I do know that I was pretty sick (though not as bad as your son, it sounds) for a quite a while in my 20s (and again in my 30s, not that you mention it) and the docs had no idea what was wrong with me - it was so frustrating feeling bad every day and having no answers... My heart goes out to you both and I hope they either figure it out and treat it or he recovers on his own. And soon - yes, soon...
 
(((((Barb)))))) ((((((Tori)))))) ((((((Barb's Son))))))

I'm sorry you are going through all of this right now. Lots of hugs, healing vines and snowflakes for you all.

Please keep us updated about Tori and your son.
 
I'm so sorry for everything you are dealing with .. I'll be sending lots of prayers and positive thoughts to you and your son and Tori ...
 
Oh Barb....I am so sorry you are facing these challenges now...sending best wishes to your son and to Tori....
and blizzards of snowflakes and healing vines for both of them..... (((Barb ~ DS ~ Tori)))
 
Re: 9/18 Tori Update- She's having a setback; PMPS 268

Well the Mert did work some. She ate a small can of Wellness plus some of her regular food. She sort of nibbled all day which is fine. Very vocal but I was expecting that. She was when she was on it before. Her numbers haven't been too bad. AMPS was 272; +5~198 and PMPS 268. Hopefully with the dosecrease of today we'll see more blues and greens again.

My granddaughter was so cute tonight. She gave Tori a hug and kiss and told her "Tori's my best friend." When she said that Tori licked her hand. Those two have really come to love each other. Another incentive for me to keep fighting for Tori and for Tori not to give up.

Have a good night everybody.
 
(((((((((Barb))))))))), We are thinking good thoughts for your son and for Tori. Many healing vines, snowflakes and prayers are heading your way. You have so much on your plate right now and we hope that things will get better soon.
Many hugs,

Ella & Stu
 
many positive thoughts and healing vines for Tori, and your son. I am sorry that things are so difficult right now - I hope for improvement for everyone soon. Hugs from Mannie and me.
 
Sending strength and healing vines to your son and Tori. That must be so frustrating re the both of them. Did you ever watch the show Mystery Diagnosis? Its on like TLC I think. Its very interesting. People that go to doctor to doctor trying to find out what is wrong with them. Sometimes its just a vitamin deficiency. Look it up it may help.

Hope Tori weight can stabilize and she gets her appetite back for you.

Know that your not alone.

jan and sara
 
Barb,
I asked a local pet supply store to order the nanner for me. I can look up the price I paid when I get home from tbp, and I can order one for you and send it if you like. I also think that Ronnie and Luna mentioned that she found one in a store in Toronto.
 
I'm so sorry you and yours are going through such a hard time. I will keep Tori and your son in my thoughts, sending healing vines your family's way.
 
((Barb)) ((Tori)) I'm so sorry to see this post and see that Tori is having so many problems. Such a difficult thing to go through and with your son being so ill also. My heart goes out to you and I'm sending many hugs and high hopes that things begin to even out for all of you.

This must be so difficult for your son at such a young age -

I'm sending tons of good vibes and healthy prayers your way - will keep watching for your posts. I'm not here on LL much anymore - Dude is on TID and still doing "his thing" - but I try to check in on everyone from time to time.

Sending lots of hugs and keeping you in my thoughts and prayers.

Emmy & Dude (& Mittsi too)
 
We're newbies,Barb, but Gracie and me and all the rest of our clan are keeping you, Tori, and your son in our prayers. We're so sorry for all you are facing now.
 
Sending my very strongest healing vines to Tori and To you Dear Son!! Blizzard of snowflakes & Prayers for both recoveries!!
((((BARB)))))((((Tori))))(((((Barb's Son)))))
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top