9/18 Moonie AMPS 224,+4.5~137-dental advice pls)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Roni and Moonie

Member Since 2009
Happy Caturday! We are getting ready to go to Conn. to see my DB & SIL for end of Holiday(Oh my expanding waistline!)
DPS is coming to care for kitties(this is getting expensive!) :roll:
It is a beautiful day here, and cats are unsuspecting that we are leaving--Poor babys, BAM in walks DPS later!
Had a lovely morning playing with Moonie & one of those cat fishing poles with the fleece thing attached--we played for a long time-soooo nice-
Both cats have been so so affectionate, that we are so Blessed!
Moonie is messing up the kitchen with some disgusting lizard stew thingy she is making--EEEUUUWWWWW!!!! @-) We dont have those lizards here, but
she said she saw a praying mantiz once here, but no meat on it :lol: :lol: :lol:
OK guess the gang will see her later!

COPPER DENTAL IS MONDAY!! Vet's office said no food after midnight & no water in the am--WHAT DO I DO WITH MOONIE???
I never took away water for Moonie's dentals...How will I feed & shoot her, unless I trap her in bedroom, and then how will we get him into the carrier???

Please someone send us the dental protocol that Jill made up, or any that are available--I hate that morning when we take everything away!!
It feels so cruel, but I know it's for the best, more than even Moonie's dental was--He has a Heart MurMur also--
I am really worried about this now(see I never go crazy worrying till 2 days before anything--
Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated!! Big Hugs from us
My stew is just divine--all who eat it will go YUMMMMMM---Be down to surf as soon a beans leave--Hugs, Moonie :-D
yesterday
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=25228
 
Hi Roni....this is just too weird. I had bookmarked it from the old board...guess who posted it? YOU!
Re: 12/8 Fluffy Am - 151 question
Posted by: Roni & Moonie (IP Logged)
Date: December 8, 2009 10:07AM

Here It IS:
1). pre-dental antiobiotic - clindamyacin (begin 5 days prior to dental)
2). have pre-dental x-rays done.
3). have bloodwork done.
4). monitor blood pressure with doppler machine.
5). monitor heart rate.
6). IV fluids - only if needed. place an IV cath prior to procedure so there is quick veinous access, but don't need fluids unless kidneys are compromised.
7). anesthesia - Isoflurane? or sevo? either of these are good choices.
8). do you administer pain meds during the dental and after? would like buprenex if there are extractions.
9). post dental antiobiotics - administer clindamyacin for 5 days post-dental. do not give 14 day covenia shot.
10). use fortiflora (probiotic) while on antibiotics.
11). perform post dental x-rays to make sure nothing was missed.

vet told me to fast her for 8 hours before the procedure. water was allowed. give full dose of insulin the night before... half dose or skip shot in the morning (depending on her numbers). she's on levemir. instructions for kitties on vetsulin may be different. instructions may also vary from one vet to another.

in case no one has mentioned it, the anesthesia can have a blood glucose lowering effect after the dental for some cats. you may opt for a reduced PM dose after the dental just in case shadow is one of these kitties. be sure to monitor that night.


I guess Jill's vet said Alex could have water...hmmm...each vet is different I guess.
Wishing you a wonderful day today! Don't worry too much about Copper...I know you will, but I have to say that anyway. :lol:
Talk to you tomorrow! Sending HUGS! :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top