9/18 Guppy AMPS 295 +1 328 +9.75 213 PMPS 215 +1.75 225, +4.25 159, +7.5 209

Previous post in Feline Health forum Guppy's BG has been all over the place and I'm wondering if his dose is a little high for him? He is also greatly in need of a dental, which I have scheduled for about 7 weeks from now, and I'm hoping once those issues are corrected he can start to regulate a little better, but right now I'm going nuts with the back and forth numbers. Last night his PMBG was 98, so I didn't shoot as I've never shot that low and was nervous about hypo, but he ended up bouncing to 530 in 3 hours.

Edit, also just read the TR protocol sticky, and can see that it was safe to shoot, but would giving a dose have helped counteract the bounce and kept him from going quite as high? I'm still learning how bounces work, do they tend to happen less frequently as a cat experiences lower numbers more often and their system gets used to it? It's difficult when we have one day in the blues with a few yellows, and the next day is all red and pink
 
Last edited:
I was glad to see Guppy brought it down overnight.

First thing people will ask you when you post a question on dose is which dosing method you'd like to follow. If it is TR, then please include that in your signature and at the top of the spreadsheet. If following TR, we look for a number under 50 to say he needs a reduction. If following SLGS, we need to see a number under 90. Neither of those occurred yet.

Bounces are annoying and each cat takes their own length of time learning to get over them. It all depends on how comfortable their body is with lower blood sugar numbers. If they've been in high numbers for a while, it can take longer to get used lower numbers. If they start seeing more and more normal blood sugar numbers, the bounces will lessen. Over time you will learn to recognize a bounce and get an idea how long it takes Guppy to get over them. That time too can change over time, but typically starts at around 3 days/6 cycles. While he's bouncing is a good time to do things for you.

Cycles where they start high and numbers slide down the entire cycle, like yesteday AM, are bounce clearing cycles. When I look back at the spreadsheet, I see on the PM of the 13th, he started high then slid down to a lower AMPS, and saw some nice blues that day. Then bounced. Counting the PM of the 14th as cycle 1 of the bounce, yesterday's AM cycle was cycle 6.

The +2 test is a common test that people using Lantus/glargine will get. It often offers a clue what the rest of the cycle will look like and how much more testing you need to do. A typical Lantus cycle with some downward movement has a +2 around the same number as the preshot. A +2 higher than preshot means a quieter cycle. A +2 quite a bit lower means more downward motion with more testing. There are some caveats to the above, such as cats that onset earlier or later. That means you'll have to gather some data to see what is the best time for a test for Guppy as a predictor. It might be half hour one way or the other. But once you do get an idea of when his onset is (when insulin starts to drop the numbers) and his nadir (typical low time) you'll be able to be more strategic about testing.
 
I was glad to see Guppy brought it down overnight.

First thing people will ask you when you post a question on dose is which dosing method you'd like to follow. If it is TR, then please include that in your signature and at the top of the spreadsheet. If following TR, we look for a number under 50 to say he needs a reduction. If following SLGS, we need to see a number under 90. Neither of those occurred yet.

Bounces are annoying and each cat takes their own length of time learning to get over them. It all depends on how comfortable their body is with lower blood sugar numbers. If they've been in high numbers for a while, it can take longer to get used lower numbers. If they start seeing more and more normal blood sugar numbers, the bounces will lessen. Over time you will learn to recognize a bounce and get an idea how long it takes Guppy to get over them. That time too can change over time, but typically starts at around 3 days/6 cycles. While he's bouncing is a good time to do things for you.

Cycles where they start high and numbers slide down the entire cycle, like yesteday AM, are bounce clearing cycles. When I look back at the spreadsheet, I see on the PM of the 13th, he started high then slid down to a lower AMPS, and saw some nice blues that day. Then bounced. Counting the PM of the 14th as cycle 1 of the bounce, yesterday's AM cycle was cycle 6.

The +2 test is a common test that people using Lantus/glargine will get. It often offers a clue what the rest of the cycle will look like and how much more testing you need to do. A typical Lantus cycle with some downward movement has a +2 around the same number as the preshot. A +2 higher than preshot means a quieter cycle. A +2 quite a bit lower means more downward motion with more testing. There are some caveats to the above, such as cats that onset earlier or later. That means you'll have to gather some data to see what is the best time for a test for Guppy as a predictor. It might be half hour one way or the other. But once you do get an idea of when his onset is (when insulin starts to drop the numbers) and his nadir (typical low time) you'll be able to be more strategic about testing.
I am very grateful for the help and advice you've given for Guppy, thank you for your replies. I'm still trying to unlearn the somewhat misguided information I've received (although well-meaning), especially "if their blood sugar bounces they're getting too much insulin". I changed my signature and SS to include TR, although I'm slightly daunted as someone who lives alone and works full time during the day, but I would like to put the work in. I think I initially underestimated how helpful the spreadsheet would be in terms of visualizing what's going on, but it's been such a great tool. I also FINALLY remembered to grab ketone test strips, so I'll be doing that as well. I was hoping it would be less overwhelming 7 months in, but that's how life is I guess, always more to learn and do
 
Hi Bridget! Welcome to you and the cutest little Guppy!

I follow TR and also work full time. It's definitely do-able. TR as a dosing method has been the subject of research and has been shown to get kitties into remission. As Wendy suggests, that +2 test is a great indicator to signal or forecast what might happen in the cycle (onset of the insulin is typically at +3) and how active it's going to be. You can (and should, as you are beginning this journey here) check in with the forum if you are concerned about a possible low pre-shot number, or really if you have any other kinds of questions/concerns.

Good luck with your treatment of Guppy!
 
Hi Bridget! Welcome to you and the cutest little Guppy!

I follow TR and also work full time. It's definitely do-able. TR as a dosing method has been the subject of research and has been shown to get kitties into remission. As Wendy suggests, that +2 test is a great indicator to signal or forecast what might happen in the cycle (onset of the insulin is typically at +3) and how active it's going to be. You can (and should, as you are beginning this journey here) check in with the forum if you are concerned about a possible low pre-shot number, or really if you have any other kinds of questions/concerns.

Good luck with your treatment of Guppy!
Thank you Mary! I am definitely going to walk shot times back a little so I can get a +2 in the mornings. It definitely feels doable, and it's been really helpful looking at other TR spreadsheets and reading the stickies to see what the process can look like:)
 
Back
Top