9/18 Ella pmps 389 At a loss..

Status
Not open for further replies.

tpr

Member Since 2012
yesterday:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=79280

Hi Ll,

So my wish came true, YAY but I'm not sure what to do, BOO!
Ella has been dropping all night as she is breaking her bounce. I'm not sure if I should shoot the full amount as I'm not going to be here to monitor past +2. I may be able to come back at lunch today but I won't know until I'm at school and can see if someone can cover for me.
Thoughts?

ps. I fed her 1/8 of food at +8.5 because she was begging.
 
Re: 9/18 Ella amps 144 need dosing advice

She's been dropping all night, and she's Ella, and we've seen her do this before. I would shoot a BCS shot, now.
I would not stall.
And then feed her and get +1 in, and we'll see where she goes.
Even if you shot your regular dose now, she'd probably be at the same spot at +1.

Does that sound okay to you?

I have to test, shoot and feed J.D.

I'll be back in another 5 minutes.
 
Re: 9/18 Ella amps 144 need dosing advice

I'm glad Ella's bounce is breaking! I can't advise on dosing - I can't decide on a dose for my own cat when I AM here to monitor :lol:
 
Re: 9/18 Ella amps 144 need dosing advice

Thanks Dyana:) What would be considered a good BCS at this point?
 
Re: 9/18 Ella amps 144 need dosing advice

I think 1.25 would be a good BCS dose.
 
Re: 9/18 Ella amps 144 need dosing advice

I just did another test and she's 158. She's also flicking her tail (indicative of a bounce) so I think she's on her way up. She just finished eating 5 min ago so it can't be a food spike. I might give her 1.50
 
Re: 9/18 Ella amps 144 need dosing advice

To everyone looking: 144 is a perfectly shootable number, but Ella is Ella, and has done this before where she was dropping all night and then continued to dropping in the AM cycle. Because Tamara won't be home today, we are erring on the side of safety. Too bad, this didn't happen on a weekend, where you could have been home and shot her regular dose. Because she was finally making some progess.

I may or may not be online when you get your +1. If she's still dropping, you can give her a little bit of higher carb food mixed in with her LC. You know what to do.
 
Re: 9/18 Ella amps 144 need dosing advice

tpr said:
I just did another test and she's 158. She's also flicking her tail (indicative of a bounce) so I think she's on her way up. She just finished eating 5 min ago so it can't be a food spike. I might give her 1.50
That would be good, too. A BCS of 1.50 should be fine. Hopefully, you'll be able to check on her at lunch time.
 
Re: 9/18 Ella amps 144 need dosing advice

Ok Dyana, please no wet noodles here as I know I asked for advice and you graciously came to my rescue :-D . Just as I was about to shoot her, her tail went super flicky and her eyes got dialted; both signs that she is going to bounce. I gave her the full dose as I'm fairly certain I'm correct. If I'm not, I will pump her up with hc and then beg and plead with someone at work to cover my class so that I can come home and check. Alternatively, I will drop her off at the vet to be boarded for the day if it looks like trouble. Thanks angel for all of your support :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/18 Ella amps 158

Wow. Good hooting. Get a +1. It sounds like you have your action plan all figured out.
 
Re: 9/18 Ella amps 158

Thanks Dyana:) I'm all excited from the action so no btb for me this morning.
Ella was feeling pretty swell this morning. She was rolling around in her chair all furry and purry and now she's happily grooming herself.
 
Re: 9/18 Ella amps 158 +1=139

Oh,oh! I should of known better than to write my theory in the forum as Ella did not do what I expected nailbite_smile
I'll have to see what the +2 gives me before deciding what I will do.
 
Re: 9/18 Ella amps 158 +1=139

What is it with cats - you try predicting them and they're almost guaranteed to turn around and do the opposite!
 
Re: 9/18 Ella amps 158 +1=139

Nice shooting! Now Ella, surf safely for your bean. Sounds like you have a plan and that's a good thing. Have a great day Tamara!
 
Re: 9/18 Ella amps 158 +1=139

Hi guys .. nice shooting! I hope ella doesn't do any major diving for you while you are out, but rather cruises along enjoying the scenery! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 9/18 Ella amps 158 +1=139

Morning Tamara! Nice shooting! and a very nice amps. Sounds like you have your plan in place. Surf well Ella! it is so great to see you blue!
 
Re: 9/18 Ella amps 158 +1=139

Ella tricked you? :lol: :lol: Dont get angry Tamara, it's a beautiful blue there! I hope somebody can have the time machine invented soon, so we can cover each other when in situation like this! :lol:
 
Re: 9/18 Ella amps 158 +1=139

We told you Ella reads her condo and does the opposite :lol: :lol: next time you should write "she's flicking her tail so she will probably drop like a hot potato". Then she will go up :lol: :razz: :razz: ;-)

Good job today, Tam.....you are doing well at handling these scenarios!

Surf Ella surf!
 
Re: 9/18 Ella amps 158 +1=139

Hello everyone,

Your kinds words and encouragement are much appreciated :YMHUG:

I had one heck of a day and am totally exhausted. Ella did bounce but not until about +4. She was surfing blue when I was about to leave and I was puzzled as to what I should do. I tried calling my colleague to make a plan for lunch time but was unsuccessful in getting a hold of her. I wasn't getting an answer from the vet so I didn't want to pull up with Ella in hand without making prior arrangements as their boarding facilities sometimes get full. So not knowing if I could come home for lunch, I pulled a Julie and packed Ella in the car with the litter box, food, strips ect. It was a cool and cloudy day so I knew Ella wasn't going to get warm in the car and I parked under a tree in case the sun came out. Poor little Ella was not a happy camper. I felt really horrible for relocating her but it allowed me to check in on her to make sure she was ok. Prior to leaving, I had given her a few tsp of hc so I knew she would be ok for a few hours while I was teaching. When I went to visit her in the car she was super happy to see me but I knew she was anxious to be there. The ride home was horrible. She was mortified that I put her back in the carrier and she meowed the whole way back. I had just enough time to drop her off and race back for class but the whole experience was extremely stressful.

I know I've said this many times before but I'm seriously at a loss as to how I'm going to take care of Ella while I'm at work. Being able to come home for lunch will be a rare occurrence and I definitely can't count on being able to do it. I really can't see how I can successfully help Ella if I can't physically be here to ensure her safety. We don't have anyone to pop in and we just can't afford a sitter. If I could count on Ella to eat then this wouldn't be as much of an issue but she won't touch any mc or hc food. The only way she eats it, is if I syringe it to her. If I had it my way I would try and convince her to take her reductions on the weekend but we all know that it never happens that way. I'm really at a loss as to what I can do for her. I've put so much time and energy in to helping her and REALLY want her to get better but I just don't know what to do with this bouncer and diver. Help!
 
Will Ella eat LC if you mix Karo or honey in it? (Or put a drop or two on top?) I can't give Gabby HC gravy. She's sensitive to gluten and can end up with diarrhea. I use a drop or two of syrup on top of her LC food to steer her numbers.

Will Ella eat from a feeder? It may be worth trying this as a means of making sure there's food available while your at work. I have a 2 chamber feeder that I use.

The other option is to make "catsickles." You add enough water to her food and then freeze the food in ice cube trays. You can leave a few of these out for her when you leave.
 
Hi Tamara, have you thought about switching Ella to levemir? It's got a later nadir and can help with bouncy kitties. Just a thought!
 
Hi Tamara,
I feel your frustration. I hope that you can get Ella to eat when you aren't home. Sienne's suggestion of the 2-compartment auto feeder might indeed work. We serve Rusty all of his meals out of this type of feeder. When we are home we use it as a " tray table." When we have to be out we use it as an "automat". He knows that his food will always be in the same place. The Cat Mate C-20 comes with a freezer block that fits under the trays and keeps the food cool.

Tracy's suggestion about a switch to Lev. might be an option for you. I know that now, with Lantus, you have to get up very early in order to feed and shoot Ella and still be home to do a +2 test. With Lev. you might be able to push everything back several hours so that you could feed and shoot just before you have to leave for school. Onset won't begin for another 4 or 5 hours, and the nadir would be later than that. Of course you would have to have a period of adjustment so that you can see when Ella's onset and nadir tend to be, so you couldn't start this now. But maybe during your next vacation? Just a thought.

Anyway, I hope that things will settle down for Ella and you. It's too bad that your schedule this semester is so unfriendly. Do you think you could talk to your supervisor and get it changed/modified?

Hugs,

Ella (bean) and Rusty
 
Hi Tamara - what a day for you. I know on the stress. At least you now that it can work that way if it comes to no other options. This so takes me back to the days when I was working, and Mannie had just been diagnosed. I spent two years caring for him while I worked, retired soon after that. I was home for amps, and his +1, and not back until pmps. SO so stressful. I finally decided that if I tested as much as I could during the PM cycle that I would understand better his patterns, and would know how to deal with the mornings. That did help. If I had a low amps, he got HC/MC fuds, based on what I thought he'd do while I was gone. Do you have enough time in the morning maybe to be able to do that? I have a friend who found some one who was willing to come to her house , test her kitty and feed if it was needed. Maybe that is an option? well - I hope you find a solution - I am sure you will. Our love for our kitties and out desire to help them always leads us to an answer. I know that with Mannie (who is btw - a master diver) it all did work, I never had a problem with him, once I started trusting my data. Wishing you much luck!
 
Know how you feel when we are out all day the 25 or so days we work the fairs..
I use a 2 compartment feeder & set it for the time I feel she will drop~~+3 to +5.
I put 4 or so Temptations in each one and few tbls of either lc or MC food. That seems to keep her going for the day & I dont worry so much..
There is also a 5 compartment auto feeder, so hopefully that could really help you!
Hugs & Love, you did a good job today!! :YMHUG:
 
Oh Tamara :YMHUG: :YMHUG: Miss Ella sure is a conundrum. It looks like you might be getting a good dose but won't be able to do the take to school option when the weather turns. Great experiment BTW. Cats can adapt and get used to a change in schedule so that might work for a while if it's looking like an active cycle.

When was the last time you tried serving Ella a buffet of foods? Now that she's been on wet food for a while, she might be used to it and willing to try another option. When Neko was young, she was just on Wellness Chicken, and that was an issue for me because they would occasionally change the texture and I'd have to play the "what lot # is this can?" game. I slowly started trying different options and once she got used to more different foods, it became easier to introduce something new. Maybe try it for her +9.5 snack when she's really hungry and demanding something.
 
I had a thought that you may or may not have already thought of.
I originally had my own shot times at 8 /8 and had problems because my dh got up so early and had fed her all her life around 6 a.m.
but I didn't want to get up so early.
I finally realized I had to give up even more sleep and changed the shot times to 5:45/5:45. I usually stay awake until 11pm so now
I get a +5 easily before bed. ( so far my cat's nadir has been at +2)

So without knowing your work schedule, maybe if you think a little outside the box, you might come up with something.

The other thing I have to do for my cat to be able to give her a shot is add raw shrimp to her food. She gets 2 cut up tiny with food for
each shot time.
Does Ella like anything like that, shrimp, crab, something that smells enough to get her attention that she likes.
The other thing that gets my cat's attention are scrambled eggs.
I think the buffet idea might be worth another try to see if anything might have changed and she would be more willing to eat it now.
 
((((Tamara))))

I'm so sorry you and Ella had this kind of day. I also wonder if lev might be w good choice. One thing I want to clarify is that cats may still bounce on lev. It shouldn't be switched to with the expectation that Ella will no longer bounce.

While typical onset is +4 and nadir between +8 and +12, ECID. Gracie has rarely followed the rules but she definitely onsets late and nadirs late. You might think about it and then talk to some of the lev users and look at SSs. Ann/Tess, Ells/rusty, barb/checkers, Libby/Hershey, Tracy/Leo, Denise/shakes, Jill/alex....these are the ones that come to mind.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top