9/18 Autumn amps-460,+6-366, pmps-360, +3-280

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
After staying flat red yesterday I started her back on insulin last night on the tiny dose of .1 and have my fingers crossed that I've stopped her wild swings and can now work up to where her dose should be again.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/18 Autumn amps-460

autumn is doing quite the jump. her and Tibbs must be on the trampoline together.
 
Re: 9/18 Autumn amps-460,+6-366

Autumn, Autumn, Autumn.... She really likes to keep you guessing. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 9/18 Autumn amps-460,+6-366, pmps-360

Not great but better than we started with today.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Mel

Had you thought about shooting every 18 hours? That could help the depot drain a bit (assuming she's still on lev or LAntus...I couldn't tell what insulin you switched her to. I've seen it work.

Eta: found it...back on lev :-D
 
Once I get her back down where she needs to be again then I'll figure out what is going to work best for her by either going to a longer cycle, or shooting sid or even shooting on demand as needed.

Just when I think I've learned all her fancy footwork she throws me some new dance steps.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Well, I guess that's the point. You might not be able to get her consistently back down where she needs to be. There is obviously some reason she is doing this.

I thought about this a while last night because, as I said, I've seen another cat do this recently. I have also had Gracie do the dive/bounce thing on me of late but nothing like what you are seeing. In the past, I've taken her dose down to flatten her out in high yellow and then raised it but she just started the dive/bounce again. For Gracie, the remedy is to increase the dose but she was not getting into the low numbers and bouncing as high as Autumn and that's why I think that there is something else at play.

Just for your consideration, there are three other options and two arent great but ....

---test more and feed to manage the curve so she doesn't drop. For instance this morning, she came down a lot from last night so I'd test and feed a higher LC food to try and get her to slide instead of dive. Try to prevent those huge drops with food or even karo if you have to.

---I've seen cats look like this that are actually bouncing off the insulin. You stopped her insulin but I'm not sure you stopped it long enough. i know she is prone to ketones and that's why this option makes me nervous but if you test twice a day for ketones and watch them and maybe have some R handy to shoot the high numbers downif she shows ketones you might consider stopping insulin but give her at least six cycles for the depot to totally drain and clear the bounce. Take a look at Tuckers SS and you can see it took more than six cycles to clear the bounce.

---consider an insulin like compounded PZI so you can dose based more on PS with consideration of nadir and you won't have to deal with the kind of depot action we get with the Ls.

I know you didn't ask for my opinion but I just saw Autumns numbers and thought I'd just offer some other thoughts.

You know I wish you the best with her in whatever you decide.
 
Thanks Marje for the input, you've pretty much covered everything I've been thinking as possible options on our next steps to this dance.

Luckily Autumn is NOT ketone prone and definitely not DKA prone. In 2 1/2 years she's been with me the only ketones she's ever shown was when she was vetted for transport out here. Then she was showing moderate. Still never went into DKA.

I'm pretty sure what started the wild swings. This is the first time since I got her that her mouth doesn't smell like a garbage pile. Finally after two dentals and the latest emergency surgery to remove a broken fang we've whipped the teeth issue and accompanying infection. So that may have been what's been keeping her insulin dependent.

Nice to get confirmation that someone else is seeing what I also think I'm seeing in her numbers.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Hi Mel

Sorry....I thought I read somewhere that she had thrown some ketones but I'm very glad she has not because that means the option of stopping insulin, if necessary, is not as bad an idea.

I'm glad she's had all the dental work done and I'm hoping that you'll see her just dance right off the insulin :-D :-D :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top