9/17 Zener PMPS 118;2 94;3.5 125;4.5 102;5.5 126;6.5 146 AT

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Zener's Condo 9/16/11

Zener had a really nice cycle yesterday in the AM and started off well in the PM. Then he jumped on the trampoline and bouncy, bouncy. flip_cat

Yesterday
9/16/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 236, 10th cycle @ 1.25u
+1.5 197
+3 93
+3.5 89,
+4 83
+4.5 95
+5 104
+6 106
+8 113
+10 162
PMPS 164, 11th cycle @ 1.25u
+1 233
+3 185
+6 320

Today
9/17/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 403, 12th cycle @ 1.25u, 1.1oz 11%
+2.75 318, 0.5oz 11%

Despite the high start in the numbers that shall not be named, he has come down in dramatic fashion to numbers that are much better. Eating well and guarding his backyard. We had to plug in the kitty heating pads in the favorite sleeping spaces yesterday as our temps are in the low 40s at night and mid 60s during the day and Zener has already been on the one in the front window. We had no kitties in the bed last night - heating pads are very popular!

We are going to take advantage of the bounce for a little poke break for the big guy and get a mid-cycle check. He loves to surprise us! Happy Caturday all in LL!
cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 9/17 Zener AMPS 403;~3 318

ZENER!!!

none of this...

images
 
Re: 9/17 Zener AMPS 403;~3 318;~6 237

Zener decided he was gonna drop from those reds and pinks! :-D

Today
9/17/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 403, 12th cycle @ 1.25u, 1.1oz 11%
+2.75 318, 0.5oz 11%
+6 227, 0.3oz 11%

Zener has one ear that is much easier to poke. We try to use both ears, but aren't always successful. Using neosporin pain relief is such an ear saver! We have all enjoyed a little break from yesterday's poke fest. :thumbup
 
Re: 9/17 Zener AMPS 403;~3 318;~6 237;~10 149

Oh that's cold in the 40's, and I'm putting the heater on here when it's in the high 50's! Zener's coming down the end of the cycle. Mags does the same. Maybe it's our meters.
 
Re: 9/17 Zener AMPS 403;~3 318;~6 237;~10 149

Black kitties alike! Jetta's the same with her ears. I try to give the "good ear" a break but the other one is like getting water in the desert! Hope you guys have a great night!
 
Re: 9/17 Zener AMPS 403;~3 318;~6 237;~10 149

Ann & Maggie11 said:
Oh that's cold in the 40's, and I'm putting the heater on here when it's in the high 50's! Zener's coming down the end of the cycle. Mags does the same. Maybe it's our meters.

The kitties love the cooler weather because the heating pads come out! As long as they have some sun during the day to lounge in the backyard they are fine with the weather. They do not like rain or snow!

Zener often slides down through an entire cycle when coming off a bounce. And I wonder about the meter sometimes too. We have a backup relion and would like to switch because it is cheaper but we are quite used to our Alpha Trak and that is what our vet uses. So, it is easier to share our spreadsheets with our vet using the same meter. We keep thinking we will one day be able to test less and use fewer strips. :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 9/17 Zener AMPS 403;~3 318;~6 237;~10 149

Jacspets said:
Black kitties alike! Jetta's the same with her ears. I try to give the "good ear" a break but the other one is like getting water in the desert! Hope you guys have a great night!

Gosh, I wonder about that with black kitties. I understand completely about getting water in the desert! Also, we struggled at first with giving his shot because he was so dark we couldn't be sure we were injecting under the skin and not giving a fur shot. Thank goodness with practice we are better (and lots of better lighting). ;-)
 
Re: 9/17 Zener AMPS 403;~3 318;~6 237;~10 149; ~11 105 help

Well, well, it's been quite an interesting end to Zener's cycle. We just checked him about 20 minutes before shot time and he has continued his drop all day. We can wait another 20 minutes and test again, but we don't have too much leeway to stall and shoot because of our work schedules. And we aren't sure exactly what to shoot if we decide to give a reduced or token dose. Any advice is appreciated!

Today
9/17/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 403, 12th cycle @ 1.25u, 1.1oz 11%
+2.75 318, 0.5oz 11%
+6 227, 0.3oz 11%
+8 0.7oz 11% & 1 piece FDCK
+10 149
+11 1 piece FDCK
+11.7 105 no food, testing again in 20 minutes

Zener loves to surprise us!
 
Re: 9/17 Zener PMBG 94 dose help AT

It's another one of THOSE cycles :shock:

Today
9/17/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 403, 12th cycle @ 1.25u, 1.1oz 11%
+2.75 318, 0.5oz 11%
+6 227, 0.3oz 11%
+8 0.7oz 11% & 1 piece FDCK
+10 149
+11 1 piece FDCK
+11.7 105 no food, testing again in 20 minutes
PMBG (+12) 94, no food, testing again in 20 minutes

We can stall for a little while longer but not too long. Any advice on dosing is appreciated!
 
Re: 9/17 Zener PMBG 94 dose help AT

I'm wondering how hard you were working yesterday to that 83 up? If it was taking work, you might want to shave your dose.

I would stall a bit to see what's going on this evening. I wouldn't shoot a 94 unless you know this number is rising.
 
Re: 9/17 Zener PMBG 94 @+12.5 118 Lowest shot ever! AT

OK, he is 118 at 12.5 and so we are going with a skinny 1.25u! That's the lowest we have ever shot! nailbite_smile Thank you, Sienne!
Liz
 
Re: 9/17 Zener PMBG 94 @+12.5 118 Lowest shot ever! AT

I would get at least a +1 (maybe even re-test in 30 min.). You'll definitely want to monitor closely so you know which way numbers are heading.
 
Re: 9/17 Zener PMBG 94 @+12.5 PMPS 118 Lowest shot ever! AT

Okey dokey, we'll get another test in 30 minutes, then +1, +2 and +3 and more in between if needed. We fed him his usual 11% food and can bring out the higher carbs depending on the numbers. We have plenty of food, strips and black tea (for the beans, we're not coffee drinkers). nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile

Today
9/17/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 403, 12th cycle @ 1.25u, 1.1oz 11%
+2.75 318, 0.5oz 11%
+6 227, 0.3oz 11%
+8 0.7oz 11% & 1 piece FDCK
+10 149
+11 1 piece FDCK
+11.7 105 no food, testing again in 20 minutes
PMBG (+12) 94, no food, testing again in 20 minutes
+12.5 118
PMPS 118, 1st cycle @ sk 1.25, 0.7oz 11% carbs, will test again in 30 minutes. nailbite_smile

Zener gulped down his food and ran outside after his shot because Tillie was already in the backyard and there is big action at the woodpile. The chipmunks must be in residence tonight.
 
Re: 9/17 Zener PMBG 94 @+12.5 PMPS 118 Lowest shot ever! AT

Zener often slides down through an entire cycle when coming off a bounce. And I wonder about the meter sometimes too. We have a backup relion and would like to switch because it is cheaper but we are quite used to our Alpha Trak and that is what our vet uses. So, it is easier to share our spreadsheets with our vet using the same meter. We keep thinking we will one day be able to test less and use fewer strips.

Hi Anne, that is exactly why I stick to the ATrak, as I send my Vet Maggie's weekly ss, and he also uses the ATrak, or it is the closest to their meter. I would love to switch to the Relion Micro as it would be much cheaper, but I'm so used to this meter and the numbers. I was also hoping I would be able to test less, but hard to break old habits. Awesome day today for Zener, and hope it isn't an all nighter for you.
 
Re: 9/17 Zener PMBG 94 @+12.5 PMPS 118 Lowest shot ever! AT

Thanks Ann. We send our SS each week to our vet too and using the same meter is less complicated. We are so grateful we both have good jobs with good benefits to afford our vet and bean vet care! We've been using alot of both recently! ;-)
 
Re: 9/17 Zener PMPS 118;+0.5 135 Lowest shot ever! AT

We retested in 30 minutes and numbers going up. We'll test again shortly @ +1.

Today
9/17/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 403, 12th cycle @ 1.25u, 1.1oz 11%
+2.75 318, 0.5oz 11%
+6 227, 0.3oz 11%
+8 0.7oz 11% & 1 piece FDCK
+10 149
+11 1 piece FDCK
+11.7 105 no food, testing again in 20 minutes
PMBG (+12) 94, no food, testing again in 20 minutes
+12.5 118
PMPS 118, 1st cycle @ sk 1.25, 0.7oz 11% carbs, will test again in 30 minutes.
+0.5 135

It could be an action packed night. ohmygod_smile We are so glad it is Saturday night and not a work night!
 
Re: 9/17 Zener PMPS 118;+0.5 135 Lowest shot ever! AT

Wow wow wow.....this look so much like a Gracie lantus cycle. Great job tonight, Anne and Liz. I know you were a little nervous about it. I'm glad to see him getting a little food spike early on.

YOu are becoming old pros at this!!! Have a good surf tonight, Z-man.
 
Re: 9/17 Zener PMPS 118;+0.5 135 Lowest shot ever! AT

Great job Zener! Wow on the PMPS. It scared the carp out of me the first time I shot that low. Congratulations on the shave! Zener is determined to not have poke free days. We have the same issue with Tarragon's ears. I have been really trying harder on the other ear since we have had to poke so much lately.

A trick CD taught me on shooting is to pull the fur up, not the skin. Tarragon, being black, is harder to see. If you pull up on the fur instead of the skin, you can see the skin a lot easier. It makes more sense once you do it. It was one of those ah ha moments for us and we haven't had a fur shot since.

Hope you get some rest tonight!!
 
Re: 9/17 Zener PMPS 118;+0.5 135;+1 101 Lowest shot ever! AT

Oh my! ohmygod_smile

PMBG (+12) 94, no food, testing again in 20 minutes
+12.5 118
PMPS 118, 1st cycle @ sk 1.25, 0.7oz 11% carbs, will test again in 30 minutes.
+0.5 135
+1 101, 0.6oz 17% :shock:

Okay, we're getting out the high carbs now. Looks like that was a food spike at +0.5, not something we see too much with the 11%. We're getting really nervous since the PM insulin hasn't even kicked in yet. nailbite_smile

Should we keep testing every 30 minutes for a while?
 
Re: 9/17 Zener PMPS 118;+0.5 135 Lowest shot ever! AT

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Wow wow wow.....this look so much like a Gracie lantus cycle. Great job tonight, Anne and Liz. I know you were a little nervous about it. I'm glad to see him getting a little food spike early on.
Thanks Marje, we are still more than a little nervous based on his +1 numbers. We've brought out some higher carbs.

Marjorie and Gracie said:
YOu are becoming old pros at this!!! Have a good surf tonight, Z-man.
I wish we could share your confidence in us! Zener at the moment is more interested in sliding down instead of surfing. :roll:
 
Re: 9/17 Zener PMPS 118;+0.5 135 Lowest shot ever! AT

Melissa & Tarragon said:
Great job Zener! Wow on the PMPS. It scared the carp out of me the first time I shot that low. Congratulations on the shave! Zener is determined to not have poke free days. We have the same issue with Tarragon's ears. I have been really trying harder on the other ear since we have had to poke so much lately.
Looks like it will be a long night of poking for the big guy. We officially have the crap scared out of us at this moment, especially since his numbers dropped at +1.

Melissa & Tarragon said:
A trick CD taught me on shooting is to pull the fur up, not the skin. Tarragon, being black, is harder to see. If you pull up on the fur instead of the skin, you can see the skin a lot easier. It makes more sense once you do it. It was one of those ah ha moments for us and we haven't had a fur shot since.
Liz knows that trick too. Zener's fur is so thin, this pulling up on the fur trick makes it much easier to see his skin. We haven't had fur shots either using this technique, thank goodness!

Melissa & Tarragon said:
Hope you get some rest tonight!!
I'm not counting on much sleep tonight. I have plenty of work for school and quite a few things recorded on our DVR, so I should be able to entertain myself between pokes. Liz has early morning duty and I'm the night shift.
 
Re: 9/17 Zener PMPS 118;+0.5 135;+1 101 Lowest shot ever! AT

Looks like we have quite the PJ party going here in Lantus Land tonight!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Congrats on shooting your lowest number to date!! It gets easier!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/17 Zener PMPS 118;+0.5 135;+1 101 Lowest shot ever! AT

Thanks Christie, we are so glad we are not up for a poke fest by ourselves! I am still not convinced this will get easier! :lol:
 
Re: 9/17 Zener PMPS 118;+0.5 135;+1 101;+1.5 106 Lowest ever

I feel far too old for an all-nighter! ;-)

PMBG (+12) 94, no food, testing again in 20 minutes
+12.5 118
PMPS 118, 1st cycle @ sk 1.25, 0.7oz 11% carbs, will test again in 30 minutes.
+0.5 135
+1 101, 0.6oz 17%
+1.5 106, 0.6oz 17%

Zener just hopped up into the chair in Liz's office from the floor! He didn't use his boxes we made into steps for him to walk up to the chair. He hasn't done that since pre-diagnosis. :-D

Since it is so early in his cycle, should we continue to test every 30 minutes? When do we follow the "if there are two tests stable or rising, you can test every hour"?
 
Re: 9/17 Zener PMPS 118;+0.5 135;+1 101;+1.5 106 Lowest ever

Awww girls!!! What makes YOU comfortable? If you are nervous...test every 30 mins. He probably hasn't onset yet so you might want to test every 30 until he does and you can see how low he is moving. I think that would make you feel better. Put on the ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O)

Welllll......I think the two rising numbers typically comes later in the cycle unless he decides to bounce again. Your other option is, once he's past his onset and not continuing to drop, sleep/test and test every hour or so. until you get two pretty good rising numbers....unless you give karo. If you ever do that, they can turn around. If you can get him up just with HC, once he starts up over 150 or so, two rising tests should be fine.
 
Re: 9/17 Zener PMPS 118;+0.5 135;+1 101;+1.5 106 Lowest ever

Sorry to contradict Marje but there's really no difference between carbs from Karo and carbs from gravy. Either way, numbers can wobble. You want to be sure that numbers have stabilized before you stop testing. I would give Zener some of his regular food to keep the surf going.
 
Re: 9/17 Zener PMPS 118;+0.5 135;+1 101;+1.5 106 Lowest ever

:lol: :lol: :lol: these kitties like to keep us up!
 
Re: 9/17 Zener PMPS 118;+0.5 135;+1 101;+1.5 106 Lowest ever

Thanks Marje! Jug is on for tea. ~O) ~O) ~O)

We are testing every 30-40 minutes until onset, which is sometimes early for him and other times around +3. He is consistently inconsistent. We are using 70% high carb fancy feast turkey and gravy, which he loves. Our secret weapon is semi-soft treats with chondroitin that one of our previous vets told us give to him for arthritis. Turns out the little buggers are full of honey, so we use those rather than karo. They are a little like small morsels of food with honey added. We usually only need 1 or 2 to stop a drop, and our old vet had us giving him 5 every day, plus diet Wellness kibble. No wonder the poor guy developed FD!

I'll be doing the sleep test business tonight. I'm the night shift girl! fll_moon
 
Re: 9/17 Zener PMPS 118;+0.5 135;+1 101;+1.5 106 Lowest ever

Sorry to contradict Marje but there's really no difference between carbs from Karo and carbs from gravy.

It's ok!!! I should have put ECID. For Gracie, there is a difference.....she wobbles with karo because it wears off her sooner but not with HC food/gravy. Zener could do exactly as Sienne states.

That's cool on the treats!!! What a find.
 
Re: 9/17 Zener PMPS 118;+0.5 135;+1 101;+1.5 106 Lowest ever

Sienne and Gabby said:
Sorry to contradict Marje but there's really no difference between carbs from Karo and carbs from gravy. Either way, numbers can wobble. You want to be sure that numbers have stabilized before you stop testing. I would give Zener some of his regular food to keep the surf going.

Often people contradict each other and when I read that I always remember ECID! ;-) We've had pretty good luck so far with using semi soft treats with honey. I've used karo once a long time ago and haven't had the opportunity to use it recently. We tried to give Zener some of his regular food a few minutes ago. Once he's had a taste of the gravy, he looks at his regular food like we are trying to poison him. ;-)
 
Re: 9/17 Zener PMPS 118;+0.5 135;+1 101;+1.5 106 Lowest ever

mybuddybinks said:
:lol: :lol: :lol: these kitties like to keep us up!
Gosh, that is so true! Thank goodness it's Saturday night and not a school night!
 
Re: 9/17 Zener PMPS 118;0.5 135;1 101;1.5 106;2 94;2.7 98 AT

Here's the latest numbers. He's in the greens! @-)

9/17/11 Zener Alpha Trak
PMBG (+12) 94, no food, testing again in 20 minutes
+12.5 118
PMPS 118, 1st cycle @ sk 1.25, 0.7oz 11% carbs, will test again in 30 minutes.
+0.5 135
+1 101, 0.6oz 17%
+1.5 106, 0.6oz 17%
+2 94, 0.3oz 17% & 1 semi soft treat with honey :mrgreen:
+2.7 98, 0.4oz 17% (tried to get him to eat his regular 11%, nose up) :mrgreen:

Not sure yet if onset has started. Sometimes Zener will show it early and other times it is around +3 with a mid-cycle nadir. He is consistently inconsistent. ;-)
 
Re: 9/17 Zener PMPS 118;0.5 135;1 101;1.5 106;2 94;2.7 98 AT

Hi - I just wanted to pop on in and say - WOW! and way to go Zener! Very nice numbers, very nice pmps. scary to shoot low, but so nice to see. Good luck tonight - you've done very well with Zener!
 
Re: 9/17 Zener PMPS 118;0.5 135;1 101;1.5 106;2 94;2.7 98 AT

Thanks Michelle, we are still shakin' in our boots. Zener is having a great night and unphased by the poke fest and slightly hysterical beans. :-D
 
Re: 9/17 Zener PMPS 118;0.5 135;1 101;1.5 106;2 94;2.7 98 AT

Oops, I made a boo boo... who wouldn't love 70% carbs?

"We are using 70% high carb fancy feast turkey and gravy, which he loves" :oops:

I meant 17% carbs - hurry, bring the bean more caffeine!
 
Re: 9/17 Zener PMPS 118;0.5 135;1 101;1.5 106;2 94;2.7 98 AT

Whoa! Some fancy shootin' going on in this condo tonight!

I see the Z man has been keeping you busy
 
Re: 9/17 Zener PMPS 118;0.5 135;1 101;1.5 106;2 94;2.7 98 AT

Yes Sandy, it's a wild Saturday night of fancy shootin' in the wild, wild west! Liz and I are shakin' in our boots. :shock: Zener is feeling frisky and having a great night. dancing_cat
 
Re: 9/17 Zener PMPS 118;0.5 135;1 101;1.5 106;2 94;2.7 98 AT

Latest report from our night of lowest shooting ever.

9/17/11 Zener Alpha Trak
PMBG (+12) 94, no food, testing again in 20 minutes
+12.5 118
PMPS 118, 1st cycle @ sk 1.25, 0.7oz 11% carbs, will test again in 30 minutes.
+0.5 135
+1 101, 0.6oz 17%
+1.5 106, 0.6oz 17%
+2 94, 0.3oz 17% & 1 semi soft treat with honey :mrgreen:
+2.7 98, 0.4oz 17% (tried to get him to eat his regular 11%, nose up) :mrgreen:
+3.5 125, 0.5 oz 11%

Liz just walked in and said "was it just this morning when he was 403"? :dizcat
 
Re: 9/17 Zener PMPS 118;1 101;2 94;~3 98; 3.5 125;4.5 102 AT

We are visiting Wobbleville right now. Jug is on, tea is steeping, Zener is sleeping.

9/17/11 Zener Alpha Trak
PMBG (+12) 94, no food, testing again in 20 minutes
+12.5 118 - PMPS 118, 1st cycle @ sk 1.25, 0.7oz 11% carbs, will test again in 30 minutes.
+0.5 135
+1 101, 0.6oz 17% - green on the AT meter
+1.5 106, 0.6oz 17% - green on the AT meter
+2 94, 0.3oz 17% & 1 semi soft treat with honey :mrgreen:
+2.7 98, 0.4oz 17% (tried to get him to eat his regular 11%, nose up) :mrgreen:
+3.5 125, 0.5 oz 11% - green on the AT meter
+4.5 102, 0.7oz 17% - green on the AT meter

I can stay awake for one more test in an hour, then will try sleep-test mode until we get some rising numbers.
 
Re: 9/17 Zener PMPS 118;2 94;~3 98; 3.5 125;4.5 102;5.5 126

It's a wild Saturday night pokefest after shooting our lowest BG ever! :o
We may be leaving Wobbleville, numbers on the way up now at +5.5. A mostly green-blue surf and we worked hard to stay on the wave. :mrgreen:

9/17/11 Zener Alpha Trak
PMBG (+12) 94, no food, testing again in 20 minutes
+12.5 118 - PMPS 118, 1st cycle @ sk 1.25, 0.7oz 11% carbs, will test again in 30 minutes.
+0.5 135
+1 101, 0.6oz 17% - green on the AT meter
+1.5 106, 0.6oz 17% - green on the AT meter
+2 94, 0.3oz 17% & 1 semi soft treat with honey :mrgreen:
+2.7 98, 0.4oz 17% (tried to get him to eat his regular 11%, nose up) :mrgreen:
+3.5 125, 0.5 oz 11% - green on the AT meter
+4.5 102, 0.7oz 17% - green on the AT meter
+5.5 126, 0.2oz 11% + 1t. 17% (had to add a little bit of HC to get him going on his regular fuds)
 
Re: 9/17 Zener PMPS 118;2 94;3.5 125;4.5 102;5.5 126;6.5 146

Numbers still on the way up at +6.5 so I think we have passed our nadir this cycle and it's safe to get some sleep. I-)

9/17/11 Zener Alpha Trak
PMBG (+12) 94, no food, testing again in 20 minutes
+12.5 118 - PMPS 118, 1st cycle @ sk 1.25, 0.7oz 11% carbs, will test again in 30 minutes.
+0.5 135
+1 101, 0.6oz 17% - green on the AT meter
+1.5 106, 0.6oz 17% - green on the AT meter
+2 94, 0.3oz 17% & 1 semi soft treat with honey :mrgreen:
+2.7 98, 0.4oz 17% (tried to get him to eat his regular 11%, nose up) :mrgreen:
+3.5 125, 0.5 oz 11% - green on the AT meter
+4.5 102, 0.7oz 17% - green on the AT meter
+5.5 126, 0.2oz 11% + 1t. 17% (had to add a little bit of HC to get him going on his regular fuds)
+6.5 146, 0.1oz 11%

Zener has been a trooper with the poke fest and we have stuffed him with high and medium carb food tonight. His appetite is definitely on the upswing. :razz:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top