9/17 Titan AMPS 184, PMPS 181, +3 95, +4 91 Reducie, Desmopressin and blood work

MyTitan (GA)

Member Since 2017
9/11.
Good morning land of L&L :coffee:. Titan has had a busy week and most of it was good! We visited Dr Becky on 9/12 for blood work and urine sample. He still showing slight anemia but no sign of the parasite so I think we have successfully beat back the little bugger. No UTI which is good, that's two tests in a row, but his urine is still very diluted as he drinks and pees constantly. We are starting on Desmopressin this afternoon to see if that helps and if it truly is diabetic insipidus also affecting him. I opted to go with the drops in the nose because I'm very well versed in administering that technique with civie Howad who get nose drops twice a day. If Titan really throws a wobbler, the drops can also be applied in the eye. We shall see :nailbiting:. It would be nice to cut down on puppy pad usage although he is batting (piddling ?) about 50/50 wether he hits the LB or pads. Two nights ago 9/15, he surprised us with a visit to the lagoon and went after a few of the Sharks lingering in the shallows. I reduced him another 1/2 unit and hopefully he stays on the beach/lagoon. That's about all for now from sweltering Wiscony, been high 80's low 90's with high humidity the last few days :woot: but the leaves are falling and we know what's coming...... Peace to all and scritches for the kitties. Ed
 
Well a sight delay in starting Desmopressin, the delivery system I got from the pharmacy is a nasal mister used for humans. Will not work at all for dispensing drops into the nose. I'll check with pharmacy tomorrow to see about options. :blackeye:
 
Yes his neurosurgeon said he should be on it about 1-2 weeks after surgery, and Shmee is 19 days post surgery and still on it :( His urine looked "very well concentrated" according to my vet at home about 10 days after surgery, so my doctor in NY where he had his surgery said he could go off it. Well that night he was drinking excessively so he went back on it. How long ago did Titan have surgery?
 
@Amanda & Shmee Ed's Titan didn't have surgery, but rather the possible DI is from the pituitary tumour. The pituitary sends out ADH which tells the kidneys to concentrate urine. The tumour may be impacting the ADH production. Removing the pituitary may have the same impact.
 
How long ago did Titan have surgery?
Ditto from Wendy. Titan has been a big drinker since his PU surgery years ago. Just since his DX with acro has he been having LB issues. Going to try Desmopressin to see if we can slow down the number of pees a day and concentrate the urine. He's had UTI issues due to the diluted urine.
 
Ditto from Wendy. Titan has been a big drinker since his PU surgery years ago. Just since his DX with acro has he been having LB issues. Going to try Desmopressin to see if we can slow down the number of pees a day and concentrate the urine. He's had UTI issues due to the diluted urine.
Gotcha, sorry I have been so caught up in Shmee and my two jobs, I wish I had more the board like I used to :(

Surf safely Titan!!!
 
the delivery system I got from the pharmacy is a nasal mister used for humans
The delivery system we got (in the UK) is bizarre. It's a bottle with a kind of dropper on top, and a 6 inch plastic tube with markings on it. According to the packet, the idea is that the human will fill the tube from the dropper to the correct dose, stick one end of the tube in the humans mouth, the other end in the humans nose, and BLOW the desmopressin into the nose !!! We just use the kind of dropper as a dropper, and put one drop into alternating eyes, three times a day. He is still peeing and drinking a lot.
Your Titan has lovely ears!!
 
Back
Top