9/17 Ramsey AMPS 392

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sharon & Ramsey

Member Since 2010
Spreadsheet corrected to change all the am+11's to PMPS; I had the numbers in the wrong columns. Didn't shoot at 5pm yesterday because his numbers were so low. Staring so high today, I hope when I get home from work and test him at 5pm that he's in the blues.
 
There are other options than skipping a shot. If Ramsey is low, please post and we can help you sort through the alternatives so you don't keep depleting Ramsey's shed.
 
Good morning Sharon & Ramsey.... That high number is most likely due to the effect of not having the shot last night....You are doing a good job and that is much better now that you corrected the PMPS numbers...good work!

Next time, you can post the number you get for preshot time and discuss your options with us. As Sienne said, there are other choices besides just skipping the shot altogether. Sound good? :thumbup

Each morning we link the previous day's condo to the first post of the day. That way, we can easily click on it to see what transpired the day before...make sense? here is the link to your condo from yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=25168

There is much to learn in the beginning of this sugar dance....have you read the starred stickies at the top of the page?
Do you have any questions about the material at all?
Don't worry if it is hard to understand at first...working along each day will help clear u a lot of what it all means. Just stick with it and post each and every day and it will all fall into place.

Most importantly, can you refer to the links that Ronnie posted to you yesterday?
Please print these two links out and have a hypo tool kit.

Jojo's Hypo Tool Kit viewtopic.php?f=14&t=2354

How To Treat Hypo viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1122

Please have on hand some canned High Carb food with gravy. It is very important to always have a supply of HC gravy and karo syrup.

If you will be able to do frequent tests on your days off this weekend, it will help fill in the data for Ramsey. You can test every 3 hours and then the following day, test on the alternating hours, okay? At night tonight, get at least a before bedtime check.
Along with the AMPS/PMPS, a night time check is important each and every day...
Looking forward to seeing the numbers you get for Ramsey...
A treat is sometimes a good motivator at test time...a piece of boiled chicken is an excellent treat...
 
Thanks all! How do I do the link to the previous day's entry?

Yes, I've read all the stickies - have printed them all out and have them in a binder. The hypo instructions are on the fridge and I now have some high carb food at the ready. I'll do a curve for Ramsey on the weekend. The thing I'm having trouble understanding is how the shed works...something about it just doesn't seem logical. If the shed is kept full and only the "leftovers" get into the cat's blood, how come Ramsey's numbers dive every so often? Shouldn't the shed help keep things stable?
 
hi - I just thought i'd pop in and say hello, and welcome aboard. I'm not the best explainer, so will let the others answer your questions. They do such a good job of it. It will be good that you can do a curve over the weekend - it's difficult to know what is happening with Ramsey without more data. Good luck!
 
Good Morning Sharon - I haven't been here much longer than you and I'll agree - it's a lot to absorb and I felt overwhelmed. And when I read thru the posts, it seemed like everyone else had it down cold and I didn't know how to get Shadow and I to that point. So I started asking questions. And more questions. And I realized I didn't have to do this on my own. There are people here who will hold my hand and walk me every step of the way when I need help. There is tremendous comfort in that. So ask questions. Keep a daily condo and gradually things begin to make sense. You don't have to carry this solely on your shoulders. You are prolly at work by now and will read this later on. I hope you are having a good day.
 
Hello!
I just wanted to say hello and welcome to Lantus land.
It is very important that you learn to test Ramsey. This protocol and this forum is somewhat testing intensive... but every test strip is totally worth it! No need to test every minute, but 3 times per day is really the minimum expected
You are lucky that Ramsey is reacting well to insulin already... I hope you can try to make this work.
 
Re: 9/17 Ramsey AMPS 392 PMPS 115

I'm wondering if I should be dropping to .25 dosage as .50 in the morning seems to push him to a number that I'm not comfy shooting at in the afternoon. At .25, I should be able to shoot bid??
 
Re: 9/17 Ramsey AMPS 392 PMPS 115

Sharon & Ramsey said:
I'm wondering if I should be dropping to .25 dosage as .50 in the morning seems to push him to a number that I'm not comfy shooting at in the afternoon. At .25, I should be able to shoot bid??

If you can get some nadir checks, then that will make the dosing decisions obvious. It does look like 0.5 might be too high to shoot BID, because you have said that Ramsey is possibly having hypo symptoms and the one time you did get a PM spot check it was too low for that early in the cycle. So I would reduce, but then get more tests so we'll know if that is too much/too little/just right. I can't recommend a specific dose without more data, but you might as well try a reduction.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top