9/17 Miss Kitty AMPS 80 PMPS 272

Status
Not open for further replies.

april925

Member Since 2011
yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=52306

Here we go again. This one is pretty low. I think 1/2 hour is the longest I can wait to shoot. If she is not up a bit more by then, I guess no shot this morning? I am home today to watch her however. Suggestions??
 
Re: 9/17 Miss Kitty AMPS 57 To give or Not to give???

Checked in 1/2 an hour and she was at 80, so I gave her about a 0.75 dose. Ay yi yi nailbite_smile
 
Re: 9/17 Miss Kitty AMPS 57 To give or Not to give???

Good Morning: Please get a +1 and see where she is headed. Happy Caturday.
 
Re: 9/17 Miss Kitty AMPS 57 To give or Not to give???

Oh my, at +1.5 she is at 50. I think I made a big mistake. I thought when I saw the 80, it would be ok. I'm going to give her some gravy food.
 
Re: 9/17 Miss Kitty AMPS 57 To give or Not to give???

That sounds fine on the gravy.

Also, if you shot on the 80, that is your AMPS. The 57 would be your +12.
 
Re: 9/17 Miss Kitty AMPS 57 To give or Not to give???

+2 at 47. Darn. Should I give some dry food? I think I still have some.
 
Re: 9/17 Miss Kitty AMPS 57 To give or Not to give???

You're around to monitor and steer the numbers. You're in good shape.

easy on the food, it's early in the cycle. just a few bites at a time between tests.
 
Re: 9/17 Miss Kitty AMPS 57 +2 47 ???

For your reference this cycle-

If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of food with high carb (HC) gravy or HC food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using syrup plus LC food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.

I'd avoid dry. It's slow to act and when it does the effect is slow to go away. Follow the method above.
 
Re: 9/17 Miss Kitty AMPS 57 +2 47 ???

I have FF gravy food. Is that ok? I'm sending husband out for more, about out of the classic too. I still have some of the Hills WD wet food, would that work too?
 
Re: 9/17 Miss Kitty AMPS 57 +2 47 ???

The following FF varieties are 18%

Grilled Beef Feast
Grilled Chicken Feast
Grilled Turkey Feast

If you just have classic, you can try adding a few drops of karo to a tsp of that

ETA - Hills prescription MD is 14%
what FF gravy food flavors do you have? I'll see if they are on the list
 
Re: 9/17 Miss Kitty AMPS 57 +2 47 ???

Thank the Lord, at +2.5, she's at 71. I'll check again in about 20 minutes.
 
Re: 9/17 Miss Kitty AMPS 57 +2 47 ???

I think the dry food would take longer to register (someone with more experience, please correct me if I'm wrong), whereas the HC gravy would be better. You're catching her very nicely. :-D Good job! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/17 Miss Kitty AMPS 57 +2 47 ???

Angela is correct -- dry takes longer to work and takes a lot longer to be metabolized and get out of the system. Gravy or Karo (honey, etc.) is in and out far more quickly.

Good job with steering the numbers. Congrats on Miss Kitty earning a dose reduction! Given that HC is out of the system quickly, you still need to be testing every 30 min. The HC can wear off and numbers can drop again.
 
Re: 9/17 Miss Kitty AMPS 57 +2 47 ???

Thanks, I found 2 more cans of gravy food in the pantry, Friskies. At +3, she is 69.
 
Re: 9/17 Miss Kitty AMPS 80 +1 66 +1.5 60 +2 47 +2.5 71 +3 6

+3.5 at 77. Am I almost out of the woods now?
 
Re: 9/17 Miss Kitty AMPS 80 +1 66 +1.5 60 +2 47 +2.5 71 +3 6

WOOHOO!!! nicely done!

i can only speak for Binks' responses...but if it were him...I'd keep checking every hour until you see a more substantial rise in numbers.

You're doing a great job here...and congratulations on the reduction!
Just remember...you are monitoring and in control here...

celi & binks
 
Re: 9/17 Miss Kitty AMPS 80 +1 66 +1.5 60 +2 47 +2.5 71 +3 6

Oh that's right, she got another reduction. Hope it sticks this time. Gotta remember that for this evening.
 
Re: 9/17 Miss Kitty AMPS 80 +1 66 +1.5 60 +2 47 +2.5 71 +3 6

So far s o good! Good job! :-D

From the sticky:
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

+3 is still early.
 
Re: 9/17 Miss Kitty AMPS 80 +1 66 +1.5 60 +2 47 +2.5 71 +3 6

Way to go Miss Kitty! Hugs MamaBean - I KNOW how scary it is......you've done WONDERFUL!
 
Re: 9/17 Miss Kitty AMPS 80 +1 66 +1.5 60 +2 47 +2.5 71 +3 6

If she bounces into the stratosphere, you can hold this dose for one more cycle.

(BTW, if you want input on the numbers, you either need to keep them recapped in this thread or you need to keep your SS up to date.) And I agree with Celi, please keep testing. See the "Shooting and Handling Low Numbers" sticky for guidelines.
 
Re: 9/17 Miss Kitty AMPS 80 +1 66 +1.5 60 +2 47 +2.5 71 +3 6

Ok, I'm going to update the ss right now. Thanks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top