9/17 Michael amps 323 +5.5 315 pmps 330 +2.25 266 +4 224

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/17 Michael amps 323

He is really stuck in pink :!: Maybe that "stinky" pink smells like catnip to him. I hope not. I'm worried. He has been in the "stinky" pinks to long. I'm getting low on Lantus, I have been using it for 5mos. Could it not be as potent :?: I will get a new vial next week. I'm afraid to try the pen because I am use to working with the vial.
I need more info on the pens. ex. how long will it keep in the frig. and how do you know when the pen is
empty :?: I'm afraid of using wrong.
Another question: Is new insulin more potent :?:
Paula :smile:
ps Enjoy your visit with Tommy. I know he will be glad to see you. Charlie looks good in blue :!:
 
Re: 9/17 Michael amps 323

The pen has a rubber stopper just like the vial, and it is clear so you can see the insulin. I've never used the vial, I believe someone posted that their vial fizzled out after 4 months. If you are going to take the pen route there are discount coupons for single pens. Not all pharmacy's will honor it due to being for a cat. A box of 5 pens at Costco was the cheapest price(309/April) out of Walmart, Target, and CVS.
Hopefully others that have experience with how long the vials can last, or signs that it is losing its potancy.
 
Re: 9/17 Michael amps 323 +5.5 315

Could you look at M' SS and tell me what the nadir #'s are in the last few cycles? I know maybe there is not enough data, but my understanding is to post a minimum of 4x a day. I'm thinking I need to raise the dose, and if it is based on the nadir, it is hard for me to determine, as I am not very experienced in reading SS's.
Thanks a bunch.
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 9/17 Michael amps 323 +5.5 315

Hi Paula - we've had people here use their vials for 5 or 6 months and still be fine. However, we've also had some people get new insulin and noticed a difference. Does the insulin still look clear, no floaties? It's probably fine if so but it wouldn't hurt to get a new vial. Or pens if you want to go that way.

As for dose, I think he needs an increase but I'm not completely sure. On the 15th, you didn't get any night tests after preshot. We ask for at least two tests per cycle. On the 15th Michael's numbers were coming down all day, so he might have been breaking a bounce and that would have been a really good night to get that second test in.

To get more opinions on dose, go to your first post and add Dose? to the first subject line.
 
Re: 9/17 Michael amps 323 +5.5 315

Cats generally nadir between +5 and +7, so any days you could get consecutive test between +5 and +7 we could pinpoint when he nadirs. Then at that point your midcycle test would be at that hour. The test have to be consecutive in the same cycle so that we can see if he is going up or down during those hours. Does this make sense?
 
Re: 9/17 Michael amps 323 +5.5 315 Dose?

Wendy,
When asking for a least 2 tests per cycle does that include the preshot test?
Darin,
How is Tommy?
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 9/17 Michael amps 323 +5.5 315 Dose?

Yes, the two tests include the preshot. So the preshot and one other test later in the cycle to tell us what the cycle looks like.
 
Re: 9/17 Michael amps 323 +5.5 315 Dose?

Hi paula,

Here's a link with information on taking care of your insulin - including both vials and pens. Lantus & Lev: Info, Proper Handling & Storage.

Also on that page is a video i did a few years ago on how to draw up a dose from both of them. It might be easiest to just watch the video:
[youtube]u4KtK_skpmQ[/youtube]

I'm kinda doubting there are any hidden low numbers in the past 4 days. You've got 8 cycles on this dose and it looks like the lowest are probably over 200. I think you're safe going up 0.25u if you want.
 
Re: 9/17 Michael amps 323 +5.5 315 Dose?

But more test may be required depending on when and what the test number is.
Example
amps 340
+2 270 this would require more testing like a +4 and possibly a 5 or 6 in cycle.
Example
Amps 340
+4 150 this would require 5 and 6
Example when more test would not be required
Amps 340
+3 335
 
Great job on getting a +2 and a +4 See how the drop from pmps to +2.25 was 64 pt drop that's a good sign for an active cycle and by getting a follow up at +4 the insulin is in motion but not to fast, only 42pts in 2 hrs(21 an hour average), he is dropping at a safe rate to where his numbers are. I hope this makes sense to you.
 
Hi there :cool:

This would be the perfect cycle to set your alarm and grab a PM +10 or PM+12. . . .and see where Mr. Michael goes during the wee hours. . . .
could be telling :cool:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top