9/17 Evey AMPS 250 +2 254 +5 230 +7 236 +9 238 PMPS 214

Evey

Active Member
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-1-evey-amps-142-5-139-9-157-pmps-142.293628/

Happy Tuesday~
I haven't been posting lately because of lacking too many data. But we have a 3-days holiday so I can test her more often. I increased her dose to 0.5 in the evening of 9/15 because her BG has been quite high. however, starting in the evening of 9/16, her BG has been above 200. did I OD her so she is bouncing or this is the somogyi effect? Can anyone take a look at her SS and give me some advice? Should I reduce her dose tonight? your help is always appreciated
 
Somogyi effect does not exist in cats on Lantus when following tight regulation.
It's possible you are seeing the end of New Dose Wonkiness. Glad to hear you can get some more testing in.

Should I keep giving her 0.5U tonight? The vet suggests to increase her dose to 1U because Type 2 Diabetes will change to Type 1 Diabetes over time and it seems this is what is happening to her.
 
Maybe wait another cycle or 2 to see what happens after these yellows. Hopefully you get back into the blues & greens again. Then if you decide to increase, you only go up to .75 not 1u.
 
Maybe wait another cycle or 2 to see what happens after these yellows. Hopefully you get back into the blues & greens again. Then if you decide to increase, you only go up to .75 not 1u.

i gave her the same dose. I hope she is just experiencing NDW and not changing completely from Type 2 to Type 1.
 
Type 2 diabetes will not turn into type 1. I don’t think your vet has a good understanding of fd. Evey has never even been on .75 so why would you double the dose? As Wendy suggested this could be NDW. If you do increase it would be to .75 but I would give .50 more time.

Maybe she meant insulin resistance? It would still be type 2 and you would follow TR until you break through the resistance.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top