9/17 Diego AMPS 497, Nadir 379

JennC & Diago

Member Since 2018
I'm so frustrated right now. We've been on Lantus only since 9/4 and I understand this does take time but I cannot get my cat out of the high numbers. I know being high is better than being low but to see high numbers EVERY day since we've started is disheartening. I'd love some input on his spreadsheet. The vet increased us to 2u last Saturday so we're almost 7 days in at this dose. I plan to do a curve tomorrow but based on the checks I've been doing it seems 2u isn't enough. I'm know I'm not the only one going through this but I sure would love to get him regulated.
 
It's too bad he's still eating dry food. That means sticking to SLGS and 7 days between increases. However, if your curve doesn't show anything below 300 tomorrow, I think you'd be safe to increase to 2.5 units.

By the way, my cat took months to get out of high numbers. Or she'd have one tantalizing half decent number then zoom up and stay pink and above for days. It took months for her to see green, and that was on TR. I can feel your pain. :bighug:

The link to your last post here, which we like you to include for continuity: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-10-amps-hi.235055/
 
Thank you so much Wendy! Since we were only on insulin such a short time in 2018 I just don't really know what to expect and the Lantus insulin is new for us too. I hate seeing these high numbers. Have you by chance seen any IBD kitties have off and on diarrhea from Lantus? Since we've switched he's had a few bouts and that's been our only change. I feel like I'm running a steep hill with him most days. :(
 
No, I haven't seen Lantus cause diarrhea. Often there is a food change that goes with people starting insulin, and I've seen that be the cause. Cats that are in high numbers are often dehydrated from peeing so much. Dehydration means the opposite problem.
 
@Wendy&Neko Can I get your thoughts on if we should have held the 0.5u dose for 7-10 days before we increased? I know based on the 1.5u of novolin getting him into the blues I think your thought was no we should have increased? Given we are so new to Lantus I just don't want to mess this up. I know every kitty is different but I wasn't sure if I messed this up from the start.

I started him at 0.5u for a few reasons, one based on the sticky's and two I wanted to make sure his little body and all of his issues could handle the stronger insulin. I also wanted to start with TR but realized after a few discussions he can't for now so I slowed once we got to 2u. Today is day 7 on 2u.

I know the higher dose is giving us slightly lower pre-shot numbers but the nadir values aren't too much different than when he was on 0.5u. I'm sorry if these are dumb questions I just want to make sure I'm doing this right. It's so hard when he's constantly drinking, peeing 18+ times in a 24 hour period, and still running high. We're working on a curve today and based on this I know the vet will ask us to increase but she doesn't have experience with Lantus. I'm not sure if she has any experience with any other depot insulins.
 
It's a new day, please start a new post. Making the Most of Your Lantus, Basaglar, & Levemir ISG Experience

No, you didn't need to hold the initial Lantus dose. It does take 5-7 days to build the Lantus depot, but it was OK to increase sooner for two reason. One, 0.5 was too low a starting dose, you were up to 1.5 units of Novolin. Lantus is not a stronger insulin, it is a gentler but much longer lasting insulin. Second reason for OK to increase is that his numbers are so high, we have provisions to increase sooner if he's really high.
 
I'll start a new post. His numbers today are just ridiculous. I'll post a new thread shortly and reference this one.
 
Back
Top