9/17, Corduroy, AMPS=189, +4=109, PMBG=70, +2=169, +3=183

Status
Not open for further replies.

blove7

Member Since 2013
Hi all,

Corduroy is feeling pretty frisky again this morning, jumping up on the table again as I'm doling out his and his brother's food! Good sign! I gave him .10 and will stick with that dosage for awhile. I have to say, I'm sleep-deprived, but it's all worth it, especially if he can go OTJ.

I feel like I haven't had much time or energy to look at your kitties' spreadsheets and condos. I think I've been stressed out just trying to get Corduroy back on track. However, as I was looking at their pictures on here, I have to say, they are some of the cutest kitties ever! Punkin reminds me of my cat when I was little. His name was Whiskers:)

Well, I hope everyone has a great day and that their kitties are in the greens dancing_cat

Yesterday's condo

 
Re: 9/17, Corduroy, AMPS=189, +2=156, Gave .10

Yay for Corduroy feeling good! :-D :-D Let's see some lagoon action, Mr. C, but no diving. Have a great day, Brigitte!
Liz
 
Re: 9/17, Corduroy, AMPS=189, +2=156, +4=109, Gave .10

Great job with Corduroy last night Brigitte!! Looks like he's not bouncing very high either and is clearing that quickly too!

I think it won't be long before you'll be doing your OTJ trial.

YEAH for a frisky kitty!! Sounds like he's feeling better!

I can't help but be amazed at your spreadsheet and how far you've come since your first post. You're a great example of what Lantus can do if it's given correctly and on a consistent schedule.
 
Re: 9/17, Corduroy, AMPS=189, +2=156, +4=109, Gave .10

Hi all,
This is Brigitte's husband, Brandon. I just checked Cord's and his PMBG is 70. Should I be giving him .10 unit at this reading? Thanks for any advice.

Brandon
 
Re: 9/17, Corduroy, AMPS=189, +2=156, +4=109, PMBG=70, what

Hi Brandon. Since you don't have experience shooting the low numbers, one suggestion is to wait 20-30 minutes, without feeding him, test again then, and see if Cord is on the rise. Since there were no tests since that 109, you don't know if he's on the way down, or back up again.

If you shoot a lower number, will you be around tonight? Do you have plenty of test strips and some high carb food around, just in case?
 
Re: 9/17, Corduroy, AMPS=189, +2=156, +4=109, PMBG=70, what

I am in no way, an expert. Have only been on this site for a few months. I would be very scared to shoot a 70, or anything under 100. But that is just me... You could always stall and check his BG in an hour to see if it's going up.
 
Re: 9/17, Corduroy, AMPS=189, +4=109, PMBG=70, +.5=63, what

Thanks for the quick replies! I just checked him again at +.5 and he's 63, so heading down at the moment. I guess I'm going to hold off for another half hour to see. Brigitte should be home by then too. We are supplied for shooting low but you're right, not very experienced at all and I really do hesitate to shoot under 100 too, especially the way his numbers have been the past few days.
 
Re: 9/17, Corduroy, AMPS=189, +4=109, PMBG=70, +.5=63, what

Good plan on waiting a bit more. If he continues to drop, you might have to skip tonight. His depot from that .25 dose might need to drain a bit more.
 
Re: 9/17, Corduroy, AMPS=189, +4=109, PMBG=70, +.5=63, +1=87

Did you go ahead and decide to skip tonight? Nobody would fault you if you did, but if you didn't feed Corduroy yet, his numbers are coming up now so you might want to go ahead and shoot the .1 unit as long as you can move your schedule back tomorrow and have everything you need if he drops low again tonight.

There's also a "some" insulin amount that's even less than .1
You push the plunger in hard and just let it come back on it's own..you don't actually pull anymore
someinsulin-1.jpg
 
Re: 9/17, Corduroy, AMPS=189, +4=109, PMBG=70, +2=169, +3=18

Hi there, it's Brigitte again. Thanks to all of you who replied to my husband earlier:) We decided to skip tonight because it was kind of "iffy" when I got home from work, with his numbers going up and down. Now, he's going up, unfortunately, and I'm afraid of what it will be in the morning. Does this completely negate everything we've accomplished if I allow his BG levels to go up for one night? I was thinking about giving him .10 at around 11:00, but am worried of what might happen while I'm asleep. In all honesty, I desperately need a whole night's worth of uninterrupted sleep. How do you all do it and actually get to work without veering off the road? ;-)
 
Re: 9/17, Corduroy, AMPS=189, +4=109, PMBG=70, +2=169, +3=18

Looks like you could have given Cord his shot tonight, as soon as he started heading back up at +1. Before a kitty goes OTJ, we like to see cycles all in normal numbers. The only way to get there is to shoot those lower numbers. It is scary to do the first time, but with help of the people here, we can walk you through it. Often cats that start in green or even up to 120 will have very flat cycles.

Take your needed rest tonight, and maybe Cord will give you a chance to try shooting the low numbers tomorrow night. He will get back on track - even if it takes a couple of cycles to do so. Since you skipped tonight, you can choose a new PS time if you wish to.

People who work here try to get a +2 in to see what the cycle will look like, and depending on the numbers, may leave high or medium carb food out for the cat to eat to stay safe.
 
Re: 9/17, Corduroy, AMPS=189, +4=109, PMBG=70, +2=169, +3=18

Hi Wendy,

I guess I never know if it's going to go back up or down, and that's why I'm afraid of shooting low numbers. For instance, last night, I wasn't sure if it was up because I fed him. I thought that maybe it would go back down too far once the food wore off in the middle of the night. Ugh, I'm a stress ball! ;-)

Would you shoot if it's 50 or above (going up of course)? What is the cut-off line? I'm assuming 50 due to the sticky regarding handling low numbers, but I could always be wrong. I guess I'm asking because tonight I'll more than likely be faced with the same situation. Should I have my husband check on his BG at +10 AND +11 tonight so that we will know what to do? In other words, if it's going up, even if it's say in the 70s, should I still shoot?

And, yes, leaving the food out would be a good plan if I thought he would actually eat it and not just go to sleep (he's kind of a sleepy little guy anyway), so I'm afraid to do that. nailbite_smile

BTW, Neko is one of the cutest little cats I've seen! Her black and white coat is so striking!
 
Re: 9/17, Corduroy, AMPS=189, +4=109, PMBG=70, +2=169, +3=18

HI Brigitte!

I'm sure you'll hear from others today too, but basically, yes, you would want to shoot once the numbers start going up. That's why we tell you to not feed when you're stalling..so you can see if the numbers are coming up on their own without food to cloud the picture...and yes, as long as they're above 50 and the number is rising, (and you have plenty of supplies in case of hypo) you'd want to try to keep on schedule and shoot.

If you look at China's spreadsheet, you'll see that this morning, she was at 56 at her "usual" AMPS time...so I stalled. I didn't feed her, and checked her again an hour later. (I SHOULD have retested in 30 minutes but circumstances kept me from being able to) After an hour, she was up to 74 so I shot. Since I didn't feed her, I knew that the numbers were headed up and not continuing down.

Since she DID go under 50 last night (35 actually) I reduced her shot this morning down from 1 unit to .75. Since Cord didn't go under 50, you would continue on the .1 unit dose.

Corduroy is bouncing now, so it's important that we know it's a bounce...we never want to increase insulin while they're bouncing because once the bounce clears, we'd be overdosing them, so just hold that .1 unit dose and we'll see how he does! Hopefully you'll get some more sleep tonight!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top