9/17 Cobb AMPS 102 +6 78 +8.5 100 PMPS 92

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile

Not sure what Cobb is going for today...but we're starting the morning off lower than I would like!!! I've asked Matt to come home early to monitor him, but Cobb will still be without any monitoring until about +5. I did leave out a little extra food. Depending on how today goes, perhaps I should invest in a higher carb, low carb for days like today?

It's fall break for the school district here, so it is a quiet week. I have been able to get ahead in some work. We're launching a superintendent's video message on our web site next month and will be updating them monthly, and we're shooting them a month ahead, so I was able to go ahead and get the script for the November message written. Today maybe I'll work on the December message. I will say I have had a crash course in Education 101 since getting here in July. I had NO idea teachers/administrators had to do so much outside of class. I had someone trying to make the case to me yesterday about teacher pay, working 10 months, having a ton of holidays, a short work day. Honestly, I just smiled and nodded. My mom was a teacher so I know it is more than an 8-3 job. But being on this side of it, and seeing all the extra stuff these employees do...wow!

Anyway...another 4:30am wakeup call this morning. :roll: I've got to get that stopped ASAP! This mama is drinking a Venti latte this morning...that's what? 3 shots of espresso? :shock:

I hope you all have a fantastic day!

~Suzanne
 
Re: 9/17 Cobb AMPS 102 +6 78 +8.5 100

Oh my! :shock: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Looking who's taking to this reduced dose just fine. Way to go Cobb. :thumbup

Isn't going down the dosing scale so much nicer. When I did the ride down, I tried to hold at least 4 doses in between reductions because of the depot effect, but sometimes Neko said otherwise. Looks like Cobb might be on the move again soon. :-D

You might want to invest in some regular high carb for the autofeeder for days like today if Matt can't get home early. I'd experiment with the higher carb LC on a day you can monitor first. The first time I tried some 8-9%, Neko's pancreas must have kicked in and she hit the 30's shortly after. Sometimes I'll spike breakfast with regular old HC if she's low and I can't test for a while. I also find that the +9 - +11 test is valuable because it tells me if Neko has already nadired and on her way up at PS, or still going down and might nadir after preshot. Did I mention that at this part of our journey I bought a flat of HC. :lol:
 
Re: 9/17 Cobb AMPS 102 +6 78 +8.5 100

Oy vey! This is a much nicer ride, but stressful in a different way! Hey, I'm not complaining though.

So you're saying invest in actual HC, not higher carb low carb? I have some 20% that I got this past weekend. I also have either 13 or 15%, I'll have to take a look back at Dr. Lisa's list because I was looking at a bunch of different choices.

Given how Matty is waking up these days, a +10 or +11 is totally doable. ~O) :shock: :roll:
 
Re: 9/17 Cobb AMPS 102 +6 78 +8.5 100

I'm saying you have to try and see what higher carb food works for Cobb. Experiment when you are home to see the results. HC is always a safe bet. What have you been giving him for HC to date?
 
Re: 9/17 Cobb AMPS 102 +6 78 +8.5 100

wow, Cobb! Look at this little guy work his juice! I'd say that the Lev is super-dee-dooper agreeing with him!

I looked for a "warrior princess" pic to post for you, suzanne, oh dragon-slayer-extraordinaire, but most of the pics were a little too hot for a family site. :lol: So i'll just tip my hat to your awesomeness! :-D

about the schools . . . i'm now teaching a 1st graders math class and i was up til almost midnight last night trying to figure out what i'm doing next. the amount of time outside of school is unreal. and because i'm hourly, i'm not supposed to take work home or work extra, but i can't get it done in the time allotted and i'm not keen on not being prepared.

and do you see how many special needs kids are in every class? i doubt we're unique. trying to meet everyone's needs is crazy.
 
Re: 9/17 Cobb AMPS 102 +6 78 +8.5 100

Eleven days since you last used R. :cool: :cool: :cool: Had to look after your comments on Toby's condo. Thanks for stepping in there today.

Our teachers have been on strike/lockout since end of last school year. Finally today there's a proposal they'll be voting on that means they'll be back on Monday. Class size and composition (number of special needs kids) were the two big issues, along with amount of class prep time.
 
Wendy, I've been giving Cobb 17% as HC before this past weekend but figured with whatever is happening I may need higher HC. Honestly, Julie, I don't think I've done much. I think it's the insulin switch. Cobb seems to respond to Lev so much better!

I have to say, I've been shocked by the number of special needs kids. Oddly enough, the number of diabetics shocked me as well!!

Wendy, that sounds like a PR nightmare. I'm glad I'm not the communications director for that District!!!
 
VERY nice PMPS. :mrgreen: I've noticed with Neko that on Lev she doesn't seem to need quite as much HC or she responds better to the carbs in Cowboy Cookout than she did to Gravy Lovers, but Cobb is in a different phase now.

It was the entire province of teachers out on strike. Not the governments most shining moment. :roll:
 
i'll bet that would aggravate the parents. everyone wants their little darlings to go off to school when September rolls around.

we have kids all over the place - i don't even know what all the issues are. Certainly lots of autism - apparently Oregon has the highest rate of autism in the country. i have no idea why. Must be revenge for all the organic push around here! perhaps we need more chemicals in our food? ;-) but we also have lots of children with emotional/mental health issues. the school i'm at is run like a very tight ship - it's orderly and controlled, but you couldn't ask for more loving adults to work with your children. It's tight, but warm and caring, if that makes sense. The kids needs come first. People are very good at handling kids' meltdowns, but oh we have so many. A few kids have them multiple times a day. it can really be disruptive, but the staff tries to minimize things.

well, the lev is working well for him. whatever is going on - the iaa breaking or just the lev - look at this boy go. He's down from 31u to 19 and in better control. you must be pretty danged excited!
 
shera.jpg


I don't believe she is technically a warrior princess, but heck, it is She-Ra and She-Rocks! :-D


Nice job today Cobb! So awesome to see him doing so well! Glad the switch to Lev seems to be working wonders for him!
 
MollynSkooter said:
shera.jpg


I don't believe she is technically a warrior princess, but heck, it is She-Ra and She-Rocks! :-D
OMG. I love this!! I was a HUGE She-R a fan as a child. At one time I changed my name to Suzanne Marie She-Ra Princess of Power. And I made my sister call me the Princess of Power :lol: I was cool like that
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top