9/17 Bella AMPS 151, +3 105, +5 115, PMPS 115

cecile & bella

Member Since 2021
last post about hospitalization
We are back home and hopefully on the way to back to normal after 2 days of scare.

She is very dazed. She came home around 6 pm yesterday evening, peed in her carrier so she was all wet, poor Bella. She went straight to her plate and sat there. She ate well yesterday evening, she went down from 220 at PMPS to 92 at +3, but I did not test her after that because she was protesting, so I let her alone. She was eating well so she had several snacks through the night and I checked on her multiple times. She did not move, stayed curled on a rug except for eating. I saw her run to the feeder at 2 am and that made me feel better.
I gave her the Buprenorphine at 8 pm and 5 am. They said every 8 to 12 hours, I did 9 and will adjust as we go.

This morning she jumped on a high chair in the kitchen to get butter (she licks the spreader every morning, she jumps there when I put my bread slices in the toaster and waits). She was trotting yesterday evening, and this morning she followed me to the basement. She went upstairs to sleep when we came back yesterday but not during the night.
I don't think she is in pain but it is hard to tell. She does not limp anymore, or barely, but her legs look weak. Not sure if it's from the clot or the meds.

The ultrasound showed that her small intestine was thickened in places:
"Some hyperechoic mucosal speckling is appreciated in the small bowel.
The small bowel is diffusely thickened with especially prominent muscularis layer and no overt loss of wall layering." They conclude by saying
"Concern for at least gastroenteritis although underlying infiltrate, such as round cell or IBD possible. No evidence of foreign material or mechanical obstruction."
Everything else is normal, no cause for the clot has been found, but I wonder what to do with that. @Wendy&Neko @Bron and Sheba (GA) do you have experience with that?

The vet who called me at the end asked me about her diabetes, she was curious to know how I did to have her regulated and was very interested. She offered a Libre but I refused, I said I feel that I test her enough to have a good idea. She said she rarely sees diabetic cats with such good numbers, that was nice to hear and have a positive feedback from a vet, too. She said that most diabetic cats are kept around 200, with no shot if they are around 150 or below.

@Karen and Chispa thank you for your words yesterday!
 
105 @+3
She is not as good today than she was yesterday evening. She stays curled under a chair (not an unusual place for her). her foot feels cold. She was limping a little but not as bad as before. She was not eating at first but then she did. Yesterday she stood up on her back legs as she does usually when I feed her (I call her little mongoose, she loves to stand on her legs), but not today. I am not sure if she is just sleepy because of the Bupe or in pain.
They stopped the heparin and she is only on Plavix, the vet told me to call if it looked like she was worse, maybe I will if she does not show signs of improvement today.
 
HI Cecile and Bella, sending you lots of love and support. I hope Bella gets back to her usual curious self (bug hunter and butter thief) quickly.
Hoping she's just worn out after her time recovering at the hospital. Sending best wishes and warm hugs to both of you:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I’m hoping she’s just exhausted but I would not hesitate to call the vet if your intuition feels things are not right. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I think you are right. She just slept in the sun, very relaxed, for over an hour, and then I was petting her and she kept puring and extending her paws like she does usually. Every time I checked on her last night, she was awake and curled up. So she probably needs time to rest and recover.
Her foot is still noticeably colder than the other 3, but the pads are pink, and it's not extremely cold either. I'll keep checking. She does not limp now.
Thank you for all the thoughts.
I was reading the notes from the ER vet, and loved that she said Bella was marked as 'caution, agressive" by her previous vet, but that they found her to be "very sweet and adorable". i bet she licked their hands. She does that and people usually melt, starting with me ;)
 
Last edited:
This morning she jumped on a high chair in the kitchen to get butter (she licks the spreader every morning, she jumps there when I put my bread slices in the toaster and waits).
I love these little glimpses of Life With Bella. What a character she is -- with mongoose dancing (such talent!) alongside her butter routine and frequent self-serve bug snacks. I'm sorry to read that she's feeling a little droopy today, though I can't help thinking, as others have said, that she may just be worn out from yesterday's events. Hopefully a day of rest will help. It's great that she's eating.

How nice to have a vet confirm that you're doing an amazing job of managing her FD. Bella obviously has a great life and consequently, a strong desire to stick around. Sending hugs to both of you :bighug::bighug::cat::bighug::bighug:
 
What is the buprenorphine dose they said to give? It is dosed by weight and in a range. Sometimes vets will overdose. That happened to one of my cats - I didn't notice in time the ER vet had given me bupe that was more concentrated than I was used to. He was like a little drunken sailor until the bupe wore off. And slept a lot.

Concern for at least gastroenteritis although underlying infiltrate, such as round cell or IBD possible. No evidence of foreign material or mechanical obstruction."
Everything else is normal, no cause for the clot has been found, but I wonder what to do with that. do you have experience with that?
Too much experience. Any chance there are measurements of the wall thickness of the various parts of the small bowel from the ultrasound report? Does she show any clinical signs like periodic vomiting or diarrhea? How is her weight - steady, going up or down? One of the possibilities is a food allergy (IBD) but there are others as they listed. Gastroenteritis can be new food, medications, parasites, bacteria. Does she go outside at all? Round cell = small cell lymphoma. Don't let that phrase alarm you - I am on my third cat with that and she's been in remission for over 6 years.
 
I think you are right. She just slept in the sun, very relaxed, for over an hour, and then I was petting her and she kept puring and extending her paws like she does usually. Every time I checked on her last night, she was awake and curled up. So she probably needs time to rest and recover.
Her foot is still noticeably colder than the other 3, but the pads are pink, and it's not extremely cold either. I'll keep checking. She does not limp now.
Thank you for all the thoughts.
I was reading the notes from the ER vet, and loved that she said Bella was marked as 'caution, agressive" by her previous vet, but that they found her to be "very sweet and adorable". i bet she licked their hands. She does that and people usually melt, starting with me ;)
Missed this update while typing. Great news!!! And no doubt that she is very sweet and adorable :cat:
 
What is the buprenorphine dose they said to give? It is dosed by weight and in a range. Sometimes vets will overdose. That happened to one of my cats - I didn't notice in time the ER vet had given me bupe that was more concentrated than I was used to. He was like a little drunken sailor until the bupe wore off. And slept a lot.


Too much experience. Any chance there are measurements of the wall thickness of the various parts of the small bowel from the ultrasound report? Does she show any clinical signs like periodic vomiting or diarrhea? How is her weight - steady, going up or down? One of the possibilities is a food allergy (IBD) but there are others as they listed. Gastroenteritis can be new food, medications, parasites, bacteria. Does she go outside at all? Round cell = small cell lymphoma. Don't let that phrase alarm you - I am on my third cat with that and she's been in remission for over 6 years.

No, I don't have the actual measurements, but she does not have symptoms: she does vomit some times, but it is usually hairballs or after she ate very fast. No diarrhea, other than very rarely (like when she stole butter or sourdough starter...). she lost weight but that was completely expected and the result of 2 years of dieting. She did have food allergies, probably to fish, so I do not feed her fish but there is sometimes fish oil in her food, whcih should be Ok, I guess, no protein in oil.

She has 0.3 ml of a solution at 0.3mg/ml, they gave me pre-filled syringes. So that's 0.09mg, if I count correctly. She weights 4.4kg.

She is now sleeping again, she ate and slept, but she looks relaxed. I might wait a little longer before giving her the Bupe, they said every 8 to 12 hours. It was 9 hours yesterday evening and again this morning, I gave it to her at 8pm then 5am, if I do 9 hours again that's in about one hour.

@Karen and Chispa that's an old photo but here she is for you :-) She tried yesterday evening and balanced herself on the cabinet. Did not try today.
IMG_9437.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • IMG_9437.jpeg
    IMG_9437.jpeg
    65.6 KB · Views: 125
Bupe dose sounds fine. Just watch to see if she gets a little wobbly for a few hours after dosing, and if so you can dial it down a bit. (your signature has a higher weight)

Thickened bowels doesn't mean much without knowing how much thick. They'll let you know if there is a concern. A cat should only have very rare hairballs. None of my GI condition cats had diarrhea - vomits was their symptom of choice. :rolleyes: Slow weight loss if dieting is OK, just keep an eye on anything faster than expected.
 
I just weighted her using my scale, her weight is the same, 10.2lbs. The 4.4kg was on their scale.
She usually has hairballs over the summer only. And she tends to vomit a lot more when we are away and she sees our sitter twice a day and eats from the feeder the rest of the time: she runs to it and eats like it's going away. So she probably gobbles it all way too fast and ends up throwing up more often.
 
Hi Cecile.
I'm catching up with you and Bella and sorry to read she was unwell. That must have been a scare for you both.
Sounds like she was treated well. I'm happy that she's at home now and beginning to play some of her famous kitchen tricks. She's such a big personality.
Hospitalisation is very scary for cats. All the noise and people not to mention the tests and pain. Sounds like she's recovering quite quickly. Another day or two or rest will probably get her back on her feet.
I send you both much love and wishes for a quick recovery :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
No, I don't have the actual measurements, but she does not have symptoms: she does vomit some times, but it is usually hairballs or after she ate very fast. No diarrhea, other than very rarely (like when she stole butter or sourdough starter...). she lost weight but that was completely expected and the result of 2 years of dieting. She did have food allergies, probably to fish, so I do not feed her fish but there is sometimes fish oil in her food, whcih should be Ok, I guess, no protein in oil.

She has 0.3 ml of a solution at 0.3mg/ml, they gave me pre-filled syringes. So that's 0.09mg, if I count correctly. She weights 4.4kg.

She is now sleeping again, she ate and slept, but she looks relaxed. I might wait a little longer before giving her the Bupe, they said every 8 to 12 hours. It was 9 hours yesterday evening and again this morning, I gave it to her at 8pm then 5am, if I do 9 hours again that's in about one hour.

@Karen and Chispa that's an old photo but here she is for you :) She tried yesterday evening and balanced herself on the cabinet. Did not try today. View attachment 71011
This is ADORABLE!!! Thanks so much for the photo. I love her little white feet! Such a pretty girl. I hope she will be dancing again very soon. :kiss::cat::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I hope so as well! She is still sleeping, she did not eat her snack, which is weird for her. I gave her her Bupe and will try again later.
 
No, I don't have the actual measurements, but she does not have symptoms: she does vomit some times, but it is usually hairballs or after she ate very fast. No diarrhea, other than very rarely (like when she stole butter or sourdough starter...). she lost weight but that was completely expected and the result of 2 years of dieting. She did have food allergies, probably to fish, so I do not feed her fish but there is sometimes fish oil in her food, whcih should be Ok, I guess, no protein in oil.

She has 0.3 ml of a solution at 0.3mg/ml, they gave me pre-filled syringes. So that's 0.09mg, if I count correctly. She weights 4.4kg.

She is now sleeping again, she ate and slept, but she looks relaxed. I might wait a little longer before giving her the Bupe, they said every 8 to 12 hours. It was 9 hours yesterday evening and again this morning, I gave it to her at 8pm then 5am, if I do 9 hours again that's in about one hour.

@Karen and Chispa that's an old photo but here she is for you :) She tried yesterday evening and balanced herself on the cabinet. Did not try today. View attachment 71011
Omg look at the groundhog! Those little white mittens :bighug:
 
115 @PMPS.
She's a little bit more awake tonight, she was interested by cheese while we were eating dinner, more like her normal self.
I gave her another sponge bath, she stinks (peed in her carrier as we were driving home yesterday, she was soaked). She still did not groom herself, she usually does it a lot so that's weird and I hope she does it soon. She used her litter box (I put her in there), she peed once yesterday evening and pooped tonight, I'll try again to see if she pees again, I am afraid she would have an accident if not! She ate normally tonight and had her snack later in the afternoon.
 
Back
Top