cecile & bella
Very Active Member
last post about hospitalization
We are back home and hopefully on the way to back to normal after 2 days of scare.
She is very dazed. She came home around 6 pm yesterday evening, peed in her carrier so she was all wet, poor Bella. She went straight to her plate and sat there. She ate well yesterday evening, she went down from 220 at PMPS to 92 at +3, but I did not test her after that because she was protesting, so I let her alone. She was eating well so she had several snacks through the night and I checked on her multiple times. She did not move, stayed curled on a rug except for eating. I saw her run to the feeder at 2 am and that made me feel better.
I gave her the Buprenorphine at 8 pm and 5 am. They said every 8 to 12 hours, I did 9 and will adjust as we go.
This morning she jumped on a high chair in the kitchen to get butter (she licks the spreader every morning, she jumps there when I put my bread slices in the toaster and waits). She was trotting yesterday evening, and this morning she followed me to the basement. She went upstairs to sleep when we came back yesterday but not during the night.
I don't think she is in pain but it is hard to tell. She does not limp anymore, or barely, but her legs look weak. Not sure if it's from the clot or the meds.
The ultrasound showed that her small intestine was thickened in places:
"Some hyperechoic mucosal speckling is appreciated in the small bowel.
The small bowel is diffusely thickened with especially prominent muscularis layer and no overt loss of wall layering." They conclude by saying
"Concern for at least gastroenteritis although underlying infiltrate, such as round cell or IBD possible. No evidence of foreign material or mechanical obstruction."
Everything else is normal, no cause for the clot has been found, but I wonder what to do with that. @Wendy&Neko @Bron and Sheba (GA) do you have experience with that?
The vet who called me at the end asked me about her diabetes, she was curious to know how I did to have her regulated and was very interested. She offered a Libre but I refused, I said I feel that I test her enough to have a good idea. She said she rarely sees diabetic cats with such good numbers, that was nice to hear and have a positive feedback from a vet, too. She said that most diabetic cats are kept around 200, with no shot if they are around 150 or below.
@Karen and Chispa thank you for your words yesterday!
We are back home and hopefully on the way to back to normal after 2 days of scare.
She is very dazed. She came home around 6 pm yesterday evening, peed in her carrier so she was all wet, poor Bella. She went straight to her plate and sat there. She ate well yesterday evening, she went down from 220 at PMPS to 92 at +3, but I did not test her after that because she was protesting, so I let her alone. She was eating well so she had several snacks through the night and I checked on her multiple times. She did not move, stayed curled on a rug except for eating. I saw her run to the feeder at 2 am and that made me feel better.
I gave her the Buprenorphine at 8 pm and 5 am. They said every 8 to 12 hours, I did 9 and will adjust as we go.
This morning she jumped on a high chair in the kitchen to get butter (she licks the spreader every morning, she jumps there when I put my bread slices in the toaster and waits). She was trotting yesterday evening, and this morning she followed me to the basement. She went upstairs to sleep when we came back yesterday but not during the night.
I don't think she is in pain but it is hard to tell. She does not limp anymore, or barely, but her legs look weak. Not sure if it's from the clot or the meds.
The ultrasound showed that her small intestine was thickened in places:
"Some hyperechoic mucosal speckling is appreciated in the small bowel.
The small bowel is diffusely thickened with especially prominent muscularis layer and no overt loss of wall layering." They conclude by saying
"Concern for at least gastroenteritis although underlying infiltrate, such as round cell or IBD possible. No evidence of foreign material or mechanical obstruction."
Everything else is normal, no cause for the clot has been found, but I wonder what to do with that. @Wendy&Neko @Bron and Sheba (GA) do you have experience with that?
The vet who called me at the end asked me about her diabetes, she was curious to know how I did to have her regulated and was very interested. She offered a Libre but I refused, I said I feel that I test her enough to have a good idea. She said she rarely sees diabetic cats with such good numbers, that was nice to hear and have a positive feedback from a vet, too. She said that most diabetic cats are kept around 200, with no shot if they are around 150 or below.
@Karen and Chispa thank you for your words yesterday!