9-17-17-Jones AMPS 179, +4 79 - Questions & Update

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracey&Jones (GA)

Member Since 2016
Previous Condos 1 & 2.

Civvie Libby just had her asthma check up and she is doing great. Still working on the puffer but things are getting easier each time.

For Jones, it isn't that he isn't doing bad per se, eating well, IBD under control for the most part. It is his curve numbers. The prednisolone is bumping up numbers around a bit. I try to give him the meds right at shot time. It is the big drops he gets in that first half of the cycle. Sometimes it gives him a mini-bounce and sometimes not.

So now I am questioning on whether I should drop his dose to reduce that big drop in the early part of the cycle or will that just push his numbers up overall?

Another thought...the vet is pushing Prozinc. Says it would be better, could get lower doses in, etc. So, coming here looking for input.

He is scheduled for a check-up visit on the 30th, so wanted to get my thoughts together.
 
the vet is pushing Prozinc. Says it would be better, could get lower doses in,
Huh? How would you get lower doses than you are doing now? If you were seriously thinking about switching insulins, I would try Levemir. Kitties are often flatter, which would reduce the swings and have Jones spend more time in good numbers. Besides which, I think Prozinc costs more. So far what the vet says hasn't convinced me. "better" isn't an argument. And we have lots of members here who made the switch from Prozinc to Lantus (or Lev) and glad they made the switch.

As long as you are following SLGS, I think you have pretty much optimized his numbers. You are doing a great job Tracey. Lowering his dose probably would bring up all the numbers, and maybe even make worse drops. The higher they are to start, the more they drop.
 
If you were seriously thinking about switching insulins, I would try Levemir. Kitties are often flatter, which would reduce the swings and have Jones spend more time in good numbers.
.

I actually wasn't thinking about switching, only if it would help. I will think about that some more.

I think you have pretty much optimized his numbers

I was thinking the same thing as he has been so consistent lately, you know how it is..wanting to make sure you are doing everything to make them feel good.

Anti-jinx*** That things continue going well with his IBD. Never know, maybe we can drop the Pred dose some day. Wishing thinking on my part but...
 
I actually wasn't thinking about switching, only if it would help. I will think about that some more.
I don't think you need to switch, but I would really press the vet on why they think Prozinc is the answer. Might just be familiarity on their part.

You are on a pretty small pred dose now. I do hope that some day you can make it even smaller. I so didn't want to rock that boat.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top