9/16 Zeus AMPS 198, +4/258, +6/252, +8/279, +10/305 PMPS 353

Status
Not open for further replies.

knolet

Member Since 2012
Happy Sunday! Today is the 5th day at 2U BID, I have conflicting dosing advice. One vet says to hold another week, one wants to increase by .50 to 2.5u BID. I am inclined to go up .25. I am questioning whether appropriate or not though because I decreased Zeus' dose for three days while I was out of town. I still don't really understand the whole shed thing, how long does it take to stabilize an increase or decrease? Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Kathie and Zeus
 
Re: 9/16 Zeus AMPS 198, +4/258, +6/252, +8/279, +10/305 PMPS

Beyond the first week, it takes 3 days/6 cycles for the insulin depot to stabilize. Any change in dose, a skipped/missed shot, a reduced dose, or basically anything that breaks the run of consecutive doses takes a 3-day period to stabilize the depot. This is a post that Jill put together on counting cycles. You've been back to your 2.0u dose long enough that you are fine to change the dose.

Based on the Tight Regulation Protocol, if your nadir is less than 200, you would increase the dose by 0.25u. So, your thoughts on the amount to increase are on target.
  • If you hold a dose overly long, your risk glucose toxicity developing. This makes it harder for the insulin to do it's job.
  • If you increase by too much (e.g., by 0.5u), you could miss what would be a good dose for Zeus.
The TR Protocol is geared to bring numbers down quickly and safely in a systematic manner. I've attached a copy of the journal article describing the research that is behind the protocol. You may want to share this with your vets.
 

Attachments

Re: 9/16 Zeus AMPS 198, +4/258, +6/252, +8/279, +10/305 PMPS

Wow, that is a lot of really good info. I don't think I have seen this before, so thanks for sharing. I appreciate it.

Kathie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top