9/16- Tucker Relapse scare. Question....

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris & Tucker

Member Since 2012
Tucker gave me a scare the last 2 days. His unusual behavior of sleeping within 6" of Sophie made me wonder, so I tested... nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
Sat.15th: AM+5- 220
+6- 142
+7- 110
+11-149
PM+11- 128
Sun.16th: AM+2- 138
+3- 143
+8- 169
+11-170
PMBG-127
+3- 74
+6- 85
I've learned not to panic 100% with just a few numbers, but it did make me review what's been going on here.
Friday late afternoon, Tucker ate about 1/4 small tub of Meow Mix Pate Tuppers (Stolen from Sophies bedroom, while I answered the doorbell. I think he was in kahoots with the FedEx guy!)
20hrs later, the 220 popped up. I thought it was a bit long for the food to make his numbers still high.
I've been feeding both aliens Whiskas pates' for the last 2 days. Ingredients don't show any carb source, and they love it!
I guess that should have been a clue!
When I saw the 169 and 170 today, :shock: panic was knocking at my door! After a long 1 hour, the PMBG was 127... :?
That made me think. Maybe it was the food? They seemed to like it too much! So, I gave both aliens FF Chicken Pate' at +1 just to see. Tucker ate almost a whole can. +3 = 74 and +6=85. :smile:
Do you guys think it might have been food related? The tub shows nothing with carbs. Tomorrow it's back to work, but I can't wait to see how the BG levels are. Going to feed only the chicken FF for the next day or 2.
All evening he was acting 100% normal again, even thumping Sophie in the head as she walked by!
All your opinions will be gladly accepted..... it's been a crazy # day for many kitties! Thanks....
 
I do thinkit can be food. As Sienne remarked on another condo...tucker is a diet controlled diabetic. If he gets the wrong diet...too many carbs, his numbers may very well rise. Best to feed him a documented LC food that you know doesn't cause him food spikes.
 
Those undocumented foods are too iffy, I think.

I have seen several new ones but noticed just because they say grain free , they still have some iffy ingredients and I'm not willing
to find out the hard way.
 
I'm glad to see Tucker in better numbers. While there's no way to know for sure if the blip was due to the food, it's a very tempting conclusion. IMHO, I wouldn't use the ingredients as the basis for what you feed. For example, if you look at the ingredients in Wellness Salmon, Whitefish & Herrring, you'd assume that it's fine to feed. It's actually 13% carb.
 
I wouldn't use the ingredients as the basis for what you feed. For example, if you look at the ingredients in Wellness Salmon, Whitefish & Herrring, you'd assume that it's fine to feed. It's actually 13% carb.
Sienne. I'm now warned. I read every can I buy, and use the ingredients list to eliminate varieties. I guess I will just stay with the "proven" choices.
So far today AM+3 is 90. +5 105. His appy is great. Attacked his kitty grass. So far today "normal" for an alien!
have you ever considered trying to feed Tucker raw food?
Jane. I'm not ready for making my raw food yet..... for cats. Plus it would get mixed up with my raw foods.... Kibbie (sp?), etc.... which I love!
I have a tough time eating pate' already .
I have seen several new ones but noticed just because they say grain free , they still have some iffy ingredients
Rhiannon. I am amazed these "grain free" labeled foods have lots of other carb sources included. It's a marketing ploy!

Again, so far so good today. I will do a few more BG tests during the day, just to be sure.
I'll stick to the proven foods for sure! Wish they were required to list their carb content. I guess without tight regulation, their "batches" of food can have anything in them. Who knows if they even clean the equipment between different variety batches. There probably is a lot of ingredient cross contamination.
Fingers crossed that this episode was food related. So far I think so......
 
Chris:

Dr. Lisa made an observation on her feline nutrition website that even though brands like Wellness contain higher carb ingredients like sweet potato and blueberries, they make very little contribution to the carb count given that some varieties (e.g., turkey or chicken) are very low in carbs. I can't remember who it was that was feeding one brand/variety of food that contained wild rice. Until I looked up the %carb, I would have been convinced the food was HC. I think if you know there are LC foods that Tucker likes, I'd stick with those. FWIW, some cats will also have a spike in numbers if you change their food. It doesn't matter if you switch to something with the same amount or lower carbs. It seems like the change has a temporary effect.
 
Sat.15th: AM+5- 220
+6- 142
+7- 110
+11-149
PM+11- 128

Sun.16th: AM+2- 138
+3- 143
+8- 169
+11-170
PMBG-127
+3- 74
+6- 85
Mon.17th: AM+3- 90
+5- 105
+9- 86
PM+1- 118
+2- 101
+5- 61 !
So far so good today. Will keep checking numbers and hope it was a food related screw up! Tucker is getting a bit tired of just FF Chicken Pate' ! He looks up at me at feeding time with a "aaagaiiiiiinnnnn ???"
 
Who is it that has been working to update the food list?
Maybe I can spend some time helping with that effort although the older I get, the more math challenged I feel.
I could help write to companies to ask for the information for all our new unknown foods. I know it takes a while and some
of them are already done so I would need to find out who hasn't given us any info to work on that company in particular.
 
Hi. It was Suze and Pumbaa in Relaxed, who was trying to get an updated list done -- something called Hobo's Guide is involved somehow -- it was very time consuming, and some of the companies were not cooperating.

However, Suze has some of this stuff memorized. She gives her cat different carb % food every few hours to try to control bounces. I'm sure she would share with you her own private list of what she uses everyday. You could also search her posts.

Here's something I copied from one of her posts:

Cat foods – carb count

5% - fancy feast CLASSICS chicken feast - stay away from any that are not classics
5 % - Friskies flaked with tuna and egg

5% - Merrick Cowboy cookout
3% - Merrick Surf n Turf
4% -Merrick Southern delight - this one has crawfish in it. My cat likes it occasionally. usually have to switch back
and forth with other cans before finishing this one off.
4% - Wellness chicken
4% - Wellness turkey
5% - Wellness turkey and salmon

0% - Natura Evo chicken and turkey
4% Natura Evo 95% duck
2% Natura Evo 95% venison - haven't tried this one yet
 
Thanks Dale. I will print that out as a reference.
Thanks Sienne, I will reread all that info. I saw it when Tucker first was diagnosed, but you know how that goes!
We always want a yummie selection of food for our kitties. I guess we should just stick to the tried and true!
 
hmm.
That list is from one of my posts. :lol:
That's my shopping list for Shadow and it's the foods that seem to be true in the binky list. ( no contradicting info so far)
I quote myself a lot with that list , sharing it with others who are new because it gives them a starting reference shopping list and
it is too too easy to pick up the wrong can and get home and find it is the wrong can.
I just did it myself on saturday, bought a wellness turkey but it's chunky and not one of the good low carb wellness foods.


all those darn cans look alike without a magifying glass to me...... :cool:
 
all those darn cans look alike without a magifying glass to me......
Rhiannon. I need by reading specs and a magnifying glass sometimes to read the ingredients!
I never understood why meds have such tiny print on them Usually, older people are the ones who need them, and need to read it!
 
Rhiannon, Sorry, I get a little CORN-fused sometimes! That's your list!?! :? :oops: Okay, so ahem,

Here's a lovely list from RHIANNON . . . . brought to you by the makers of the most recently senile member of the FDMB. :lol: :lol: :lol: Maybe I need insulin!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top