? 9/16 Pudge AMPS 241/234 +2 229 +4 199 PMSP 152 +2.5 122 +4 82 +5 79 +7 87

kitten68

Member Since 2024
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-103-9-187-pmps-306-2-244-4-152-7-119.293914/

:Do_O:coffee:
coasted low 60s last night…….bouncing think.. (he did that in 70s too other day.. which i like more..) tho know its safe, ideal (?) range is ok.. but can’t say im too comfortable w it. to be fair i dont like it. too close to 50.. :bookworm: but he did so good.

also, once flat/getting same similar numbers, as like when going back up, can stop giving the snacks? (give snacks to help things along..) :coffee: thats what been doing..

and with custom dosing, when decrease/increase, would do it in .25 U increment?.. since 3.4 U would then be 3.15.. or just round down to 3.0? and if going up, would go 3.65.. or up 3.75? (For example, know going up more critical w amount w doses… yes..)

:bookworm::coffee:
 
You go by calipers and not by syringe readings. I think you were given a chart. Whatever .25 is on the caliper chart is what you use. Get as close to it as you can. A tiny amount more or less won’t matter.
 
You go by calipers and not by syringe readings. I think you were given a chart. Whatever .25 is on the caliper chart is what you use. Get as close to it as you can. A tiny amount more or less won’t matter.
right was giving measurement in units; so.. if using 4.5 mm (like we are..) .25 U is equal to .33 mm.. so would just subtract?? 4.5 - .33 (?) which would be 4.17.. can do proportion to then find it in units.. or am i totally lost? :woot::bookworm::coffee:
 
right was giving measurement in units; so.. if using 4.5 mm (like we are..) .25 U is equal to .33 mm.. so would just subtract?? 4.5 - .33 (?) which would be 4.17.. can do proportion to then find it in units.. or am i totally lost? :woot::bookworm::coffee:
Once you've done the addition or the subtraction, I would say just round. So if the math goes to 4.17, use 4.2 (the 7 would round up, changing the 1 to a 2). 5 and above rounds up, under 5 rounds down. That's how I've always worked it out when I need to round something.
 
Once you've done the addition or the subtraction, I would say just round. So if the math goes to 4.17, use 4.2 (the 7 would round up, changing the 1 to a 2). 5 and above rounds up, under 5 rounds down. That's how I've always worked it out when I need to round something.
thank yuu :bighug:
right! ok just round up.. which helps w my calipers haha cause theres no ones place.. :smuggrin::blackeye: thing is, am i doing math correctly?.. using around 4.5 mm, to go up or down, just add or subtract .33 mm then and go frm there? round up/down? :)

also.. im wondering if to just measure from right below where that ring that juts out starts.. on the barrel. that would be absolute zero i think. my caliper also doesnt have trouble sitting right on it to show the measurement since its below the arm, and can just rest flush on top.. :cat: but idk. wut think?.. (cuz where the plunger ends up being and how its shaped varies.. there is also sometimes a little space, where i think some medicine can still be shot up, but is it negligible?.. idk.) :cat::bookworm::coffee:
 
thank yuu :bighug:
right! ok just round up.. which helps w my calipers haha cause theres no ones place.. :smuggrin::blackeye: thing is, am i doing math correctly?.. using around 4.5 mm, to go up or down, just add or subtract .33 mm then and go frm there? round up/down? :)
You might be overthinking it - which is easy because I know there's a lot of different things to learn and retain.

Because you're using calipers that only read to the ones place, and doesn't have a tens place, you still stick with doses that are 0.25 unit changes, just whatever number corresponds with that unit, round the tens as needed. So instead of having a dosage of 3.4 units, your dosage units would always end in 0, .25, .5, or .75. Those are also the guidelines for the protocol that you are using. There might be others who do some more custom dosing, but you're early enough in the diagnosis that you should stick with changing by .25. This also helps when folks are trying to help with dosing. So if you increase, just increase to what you would use for 3.75. That is 4.95mm, which since 5 is right smack in the middle, you could go up to 5mm, or down to 4.9 (4.9 might be the better choice since you'd be starting from 3.4 units instead of 3.5).

Does that all make sense? Don't make the math harder than it needs to be. I literally wrote out the list on a sticky note, and the only time I math again is if I need to go higher to a number I don't have. And then I just add the .33mm to whatever the last highest dose I used.

Okay, so, adding to the list already created:

0.25 - 0.33
0.5 - 0.66
0.75 - 0.99
1 - 1.32
1.25 - 1.65
1.5 - 1.98
1.75 - 2.31
2 - 2.64
2.25 - 2.97
2.5 - 3.3
2.75 - 3.63
3 - 3.96
3.25 - 4.29
3.5 - 4.62
3.75 - 4.95
4 - 5.28
4.25 - 5.61
4.5 - 5.94

also.. im wondering if to just measure from right below where that ring that juts out starts.. on the barrel. that would be absolute zero i think. my caliper also doesnt have trouble sitting right on it to show the measurement since its below the arm, and can just rest flush on top.. :cat: but idk. wut think?.. (cuz where the plunger ends up being and how its shaped varies.. there is also sometimes a little space, where i think some medicine can still be shot up, but is it negligible?.. idk.) :cat::bookworm::coffee:
In regards to this - if that's the spot on the syringe you want to use, great! Use that as your starting point, and just make sure that's consistently what you're using.
 
You might be overthinking it - which is easy because I know there's a lot of different things to learn and retain.

Because you're using calipers that only read to the ones place, and doesn't have a tens place, you still stick with doses that are 0.25 unit changes, just whatever number corresponds with that unit, round the tens as needed. So instead of having a dosage of 3.4 units, your dosage units would always end in 0, .25, .5, or .75. Those are also the guidelines for the protocol that you are using. There might be others who do some more custom dosing, but you're early enough in the diagnosis that you should stick with changing by .25. This also helps when folks are trying to help with dosing. So if you increase, just increase to what you would use for 3.75. That is 4.95mm, which since 5 is right smack in the middle, you could go up to 5mm, or down to 4.9 (4.9 might be the better choice since you'd be starting from 3.4 units instead of 3.5).

Does that all make sense? Don't make the math harder than it needs to be. I literally wrote out the list on a sticky note, and the only time I math again is if I need to go higher to a number I don't have. And then I just add the .33mm to whatever the last highest dose I used.

Okay, so, adding to the list already created:

0.25 - 0.33
0.5 - 0.66
0.75 - 0.99
1 - 1.32
1.25 - 1.65
1.5 - 1.98
1.75 - 2.31
2 - 2.64
2.25 - 2.97
2.5 - 3.3
2.75 - 3.63
3 - 3.96
3.25 - 4.29
3.5 - 4.62
3.75 - 4.95
4 - 5.28
4.25 - 5.61
4.5 - 5.94


In regards to this - if that's the spot on the syringe you want to use, great! Use that as your starting point, and just make sure that's consistently what you're using.
tysm for the list and for guiding me w the tools we use.. :bighug: it took me a little while to get comfortable w the caliper….. figure that is the place for zero and good to hear is ok haha :woot:.. thanks again. big help.. might invest in a caliper that has a tens place.. but maybe isnt a big deal. but to be more exact i might.

haha certainly not trying to go for more complicated than needed.. :cat:
 
Back
Top