9/16 Jetson PMPS 179 reduced dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michelle & Jetson

Member Since 2011
Good afternoon LL!

Today is my "Caturday" :-D and Jetson is having a fine day so far.

Was away for a few days - out of town meeting - and have just caught up Jetson's ss.
DH actually did tests :o while I was away, but eyesight isn't so good, so the dose was shaved quite a bit ohmygod_smile and Jetson headed back to the yellow floor for a while.

Today we're feeling green :mrgreen:

If anyone visits here today who can offer advice on questions for the vet, I would greatly appreciate it. This will be the 2nd curve at home, both in the green for a few hours, but only one test under 50. So, if I understand the protocol correctly, there should be several days with at least one number under 50 and all under 100 (or really close to it) before discussing a dose decrease - right? He's been under 200 consistently, and I don't see anything about changing the dose in the range he's been surfing. Have I missed something, or hold the current dose (3.5u)? I'll be calling the vet with curve results this afternoon and want to make sure I get good/useful info from her, but don't want her to think I'm nuts either :lol:
It's a beautiful sunny day and all the fur babies are napping in the breeze - so cute :smile:

Hope everyone's having a great day! :-D
 
Re: 9/16 Jetson AMPS 124, +3 45, +3.5 66, +5 80

i THINK YOU MIGHT WANT TO ADD "QUESTION" TO YOU SUBJECT LINE...
I'm not familiar with Jetson yet
and I certainly am not qualified to give advice...but unless he's long term diabetic, the 45 should earn him a decrease.

probably a good thing to get some knowledgeable eyes on his SS :-D
 
Re: 9/16 Jetson AMPS 124,+3 45,+3.5 66,+5 80,+7 184 QUESTION

Hi Celi (right?)

Thanks for the advice on the header - I've updated it.

This is week 4 for us, so still super-new and still trying to figure things out.
I've stalked Binks' condo a few times - love your sense of humor! And hope he'll be back OTJ soon :smile:

Thank you.
 
Re: 9/16 Jetson AMPS 124, +3 45, +3.5 66, +5 80

jetson did "earn" a reduction to 3.25 units BID.
if it's possible to get more mid-cycle spot checks you could try shaving the dose rather than taking a 0.25u reduction. i only mention this because jetson couldn't hold the reduction from 3.5u the last time it was attempted. however, if you're not able to get more mid-cycle spot checks, the safest route to take is a reduction to 3.25 units.

just my thoughts...
 
Re: 9/16 Jetson AMPS 124,+3 45,+3.5 66,+5 80,+7 184 QUESTION

congratulations on the reducie!!!

celi, or cuddles, or punky beanster (depending on the day)
 
Re: 9/16 Jetson AMPS 124,+3 45,+3.5 66,+5 80,+7 184 QUESTION

To answer your question about dose reductions,
Tight Regulation sticky said:
Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

There are alternatives to dose reductions other than a drop below 50. The Tight Regulation with Lantus or Levemir for Diabetic Cats notes the following.
When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately!

So there are three ways to earn a dose reduction:
  • In a cat within the first year of diagnosis, BG levels need to drop below 50. In this scenario, you can reduce by 0.25u or shave the dose. A drop below 40 is an automatic dose reduction for all kitties.
  • If a cat stays in green numbers for a week, the dose can be reduced.
  • You can allow your cat to drop below 50 on three separate occasions in order to earn a dose reduction.

Congrats on the reduction!!
 
Sienne and Jill, thanks for your wisdom and advice.
I read, re-read the stickies and wasn't sure and the vet was off today.

I emailed her the link to Jetson's ss, so I'm hoping she'll concur with dropping the dose.
I shaved the dose tonight by a hair ( had to use the magnifier :lol: )

Celi, thanks for the support :-D

Happy Weekend!
 
Don't be surprised if your vet freaks at the greens, let alone the 45. Most vets don't have caregivers who home test, let alone home test the way we do in these parts. As a result, they tend to be very, very conservative and will tell people to keep their cats above 150 or 200. You vet may recommend a much bigger reduction than the protocol we use would dictate. If you've not already done so, yo may want to share the protocol with your vet. This is the article describing the study (and the results) that was published in one of the top vet journals.
 

Attachments

Sienne is right. I took Gracie's SS to an internal medicine specialist and she told me I was killing Gracie with her numbers around100-150 and she needed to come off insulin immediately.

Be strong...Jetson is doing great.
 
Thanks Sienne & Marj :-D

I'm hoping she's open-minded. The stack of papers she gave me on dx day contained the link/web address for felinediabetes.com and she mentioned the possibility of remission using Lantus and proper diet.

We're very lucky to have been recommended to this practice that supports informed caretakers and has vets that will work with you - of course it IS an hour drive away :roll: but for our babies, it's worth it.

Time to test and then some I-) gotta be at work at 6am tomorrow :shock: I'm SO not a morning girl!
Fingers crossed for a sleepable number :smile:

G'Nite!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top