9/16 Jean Luc +11.5 462 THOUGHTS

Status
Not open for further replies.

snorton

Member Since 2012
Jean Luc Yesterday

Yesterday in rearview. Jean Luc is 176 this am. Gave him food which he promptly eat. Pre-shot up to 276. Gave 1.75U. We will see how it goes.

Thank you for everyone help and support yesterday.

ShannAn
 
Re: 9/16 Jean Luc AMPS 176/276

snorton said:
Jean Luc is 176 this am. Gave him food which he promptly eat. Pre-shot up to 276. Gave 1.75U. We will see how it goes.
FYI, this is another good little bit of data for next time you see a low preshot number. It's not the first time he has shot up that fast at +1 after eating, which means either last cycle's insulin has petered out, or he is a heck of a food spiker, or both. That means if you shoot, for example, a 70, and feed, then he will very likely be much higher before the insulin kicks in. Good to know. :smile:

Now come on down, JL! Let's get that depot refilled so we can see some more of that pretty green.
 
Re: 9/16 Jean Luc AMPS 176/276 PMPS 242

After an afternoon of red, he decided to visit the land of yellow. He has almost eaten the entire 3oz can of ff. Now... will he start to play again?
 
Re: 9/16 Jean Luc PMPS 242 +3 39 +3.5 44

I think JL has earned a reduction. He is doing fine, preening, purring. Gave him spoonful of HC at +3 after his surprise greeny #. He then ate his normal snack of 1/4 can (.75oz) ff at +3.5. At +3.5 he is at 44.
 
Re: 9/16 Jean Luc PMPS 242 +3 39 +3.5 44 THOUGHTS

Wow.
That's quite the leap off the cliff.
Let's see if we can't get attention for you by bumping you up to the top....
 
Re: 9/16 Jean Luc PMPS 242 +3 39 +3.5 44 THOUGHTS

Shannan,
Great job catching that 39! It could be an interesting night. The HC at that number was exactly the right thing to do. Can you test again at +4 to check if the HC and LC have bumped him a little more? Ideally, over 50 and just hanging out and surfing there is what you're after. Depending on what you get at the next test, you can go with more LC or something a bit more sugary at that point. I'll be around for a while if you need eyes.
And yes, he's just told you he's getting a reduction!
Carl
 
Re: 9/16 Jean Luc PMPS 242 +3 39 +3.5 44 THOUGHTS

Holding at 44. Gave him another 1/4 can FF turkey. He is eating it.
 
Re: 9/16 Jean Luc PMPS 242 +3 39 +3.5 44 THOUGHTS

Good! You got plenty of strips if you need them? He tolerating the extra attention okay?

Carl
 
Re: 9/16 Jean Luc PMPS 242 +3 39 +3.5 44 THOUGHTS

Holding at 44. Gave him another 1/4 can FF turkey. He is eating it.
 
Re: 9/16 Jean Luc PMPS 242 +3 39 +3.5 44 THOUGHTS

Remember, you want to test every 20 - 30 min. and give JL a teaspoon or 2 of HC to bump his numbers into the 50s or 60s.
 
Re: 9/16 Jean Luc PMPS 242 +3 39 +3.5 44 +4 44 +4.5 46 THOUG

Good job, Jean Luc! It ain't easy being green! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/16 Jean Luc PMPS 242 +3 39 +3.5 44 +4 44 +4.5 46 THOUG

Carl- he is quite the guitarist's. Now to get that in my alien named JL.
 
Re: 9/16 Jean Luc PMPS 242 +3 39 +3.5 44 +4 44 +4.5 46 THOUG

Recap
PMPS 242
+3 39 Fed TSP HC
+3.5 44 Fed TSP LC
+4 44 Fed 1/4 can FF LC
+4.5 46 Fed TSP HC

I think that's right?

Carl
 
Re: 9/16 Jean Luc +3.5 44 +4 44 +4.5 46 +5 59 THOUGHTS

We took the step up. +5 = 59.
Now what should i do in the am. 1.5 or 1.25. It is a work day and I cannot be here to watch him.
 
Re: 9/16 Jean Luc +3.5 44 +4 44 +4.5 46 +5 59 THOUGHTS

Carl- your recap is correct. That little Santana is cool..
 
Re: 9/16 Jean Luc +3.5 44 +4 44 +4.5 46 +5 59 THOUGHTS

Recap
PMPS 242
+3 39 Fed TSP HC
+3.5 44 Fed TSP LC
+4 44 Fed 1/4 can FF LC
+4.5 46 Fed TSP HC
+5 59

The protocol says you should reduce to 1.5 in the morning... You could also see a bounce at AMPS. Can you get a +11 or +11.5 before AMPS to see which direction his numbers are going, and then ask for help if needed?

Carl
 
Re: 9/16 Jean Luc +3.5 44 +4 44 +4.5 46 +5 59 THOUGHTS

Did you give more food at the 59? Just want to make sure the recap is correct in case someone pops in

Carl
 
Re: 9/16 Jean Luc +3.5 44 +4 44 +4.5 46 +5 59 THOUGHTS

+11.5 can be done. I am usually up at that time. Not sure who will be around though. Ms. Jane helped with my Saturday drama. I had the ability to stall then. JL seems to want to play his own game.

How much more testing do you think tonight? I do need some winks..
 
Re: 9/16 Jean Luc +3.5 44 +4 44 +4.5 46 +5 59 THOUGHTS

Nice work, Shannan, on bringing him up. Please stay vigilant until you have two rising, non food influenced numbers. You gave him HC and he can certainly turn around on you quickly tonight.

Carl is correct....you need to reduce his dose in the morning to 1.5u. Keep in mind that, even with the skipped shot and the reduction in the morning, his depot from the 1.75u dose can still affect several
subsequent cycles.

You definitely need to post a +11 to ask for some help if he has not bounced.

One thing that I highly encourage you to do no matter how high his PS is, is to get a +2. You can see how high he started tonight and how fast he came down. A +2 would have told you much earlier on that he was going
to come screaming down and you could have fed a little earlier to try and slow it down and flatten him out some.
 
Re: 9/16 Jean Luc +3.5 44 +4 44 +4.5 46 +5 59 THOUGHTS

No more food at +5. He is now sleeping happily on his post.
 
Re: 9/16 Jean Luc +3.5 44 +4 44 +4.5 46 +5 59 THOUGHTS

Usually you want to see two consecutive tests (30 minutes apart) with a rising number with no food added. Then you know he's coming up without food.

Carl
 
Re: 9/16 Jean Luc +3.5 44 +4 44 +4.5 46 +5 59 THOUGHTS

Carl is correct regarding dose and his suggestion regarding posting in the AM is a good one. Please get another test.
 
Re: 9/16 Jean Luc +3.5 44 +4 44 +4.5 46 +5 59 THOUGHTS

I can stay awake another 30 - 40 min.

Edit- he does have a snack at +7 available every day if he gets hungry.
 
Re: 9/16 Jean Luc +3.5 44 +4 44 +4.5 46 +5 59 THOUGHTS

OK, good, that will get you to +6 tonight. If he's up a little and he'll have food available, I think you'll be okay till morning?

So in the AM, shot time is at 5am or so? I'm thinking Jane will be just finishing her 2nd or 3rd cup of coffee by then :-D

Carl
 
Re: 9/16 Jean Luc +3.5 44 +4 44 +4.5 46 +5 59 THOUGHTS

Shannan

I'll be looking for your +6 and then we can decide how long you can sleep and then get up and test again. If he's surfing, I'm not going to feel comfortable with no more tests.

I'll let Dyana know to watch for you in the morning. She is usually up really early.
 
Re: 9/16 Jean Luc +4 44 +4.5 46 +5 59+5.5 60 THOUGHTS

+5.5 = 60
Shot time is at 5am EST. I usually test @ 4:30am. Feed him and then shoot.
I will start doing +2.5 rather than +3 in the evenings. I cannot do it during the week due to work.
 
Re: 9/16 Jean Luc +4 44 +4.5 46 +5 59+5.5 60 THOUGHTS

Can you do a +2 in the evenings instead of a +2.5? That would be better because if they are headed down by +2, they can already be much lower by +2.5.

Hmmm....not sure exactly what time Dyana gets on. I sent her a message. If she isn't around, Jane probably will be.

Glad to see he's surfing. I'd really like to see one more test in 30 mins before you go into sleep/test mode. Is that possible, please? I know you are exhausted but you are doing great. I just want to
be sure he's not going to turn around on you....he's not quite a mid cycle yet.
 
Re: 9/16 Jean Luc +4 44 +4.5 46 +5 59+5.5 60 THOUGHTS

Recap
PMPS 242
+3 39 Fed TSP HC
+3.5 44 Fed TSP LC
+4 44 Fed 1/4 can FF LC
+4.5 46 Fed TSP HC
+5 59 no fuds
+5.5 60 no fuds
 
Re: 9/16 Jean Luc +4.5 46 +5 59+5.5 60 +6 74 THOUGHTS

+6 = 74, Think he might be starting his climb?
 
Re: 9/16 Jean Luc +4.5 46 +5 59+5.5 60 +6 74 THOUGHTS

Looks like it. Want to sleep for an hour or so and then get one more test....after that one, he might be on the way up.m I'm certain he will bounce from the dive and the low numbers,
 
Re: 9/16 Jean Luc +4.5 46 +5 59+5.5 60 +6 74 THOUGHTS

Shannan

I know you are thinking about sleeping but I want to leave you a post and hope you will read it in the morning.

This is a perfect learning opportunity! :-D :-D you've been doing great at collecting data...so how do you use it?

You remarked that he was in yellow at PMPS after being in red all day. When you see a dropping number like that, that's a clue that he's likely starting to clear a bounce and you are going to see a busy cycle. Quite often when kitties drop that much as they clear a bounce, they come down really fast.

Next time you see him do that, you will know it could be busy and you can test earlier...even at +1 just to see how fast he's dropping.

Summary: the previous cycle can often be a clue as to the next one :-D
 
Re: 9/16 Jean Luc +4.5 46 +5 59+5.5 60 +6 74 +6.5 94 THOUGHT

Meeting in the middle. +6.5 = 94. Hope kitties behave nicely as it has been an active night for many.

Good night all.
 
Re: 9/16 Jean Luc +4.5 46 +5 59+5.5 60 +6 74 +6.5 94 THOUGHT

Meeting in the middle. +6.5 = 94. Hope kitties behave nicely as it has been an active night for many.

Good night all.
 
Re: 9/16 Jean Luc +4.5 46 +5 59+5.5 60 +6 74 THOUGHTS

Please make sure you've updated your SS by the morning.

I just want to make an observation. As Libby noted, JL ended up bouncing into the 400s for several hours in the AM cycle. His numbers were back down to the 200s at shot time. You shot a rapidly dropping number. What you saw by mid-cycle tonight was the combination of the bounce breaking + the effect of your shot. The result was low numbers. To a large extent, these numbers were predictable.
 
Re: 9/16 Jean Luc +5.5 60 +6 74 +6.5 94 +9.5 300 THOUGHTS



What a ride for Jean Luc today and for you. Hope you are able to sleep now.
 

Attachments

  • trampolinecat.jpg
    trampolinecat.jpg
    30.9 KB · Views: 685
Hi Shannan

From the (+9) to the (+11.5), you can clearly see JL's bounciness at work. I would shoot the reduced dose he just earned (1.5u). If at all possible, you should try to get follow-up tests, at (+1) and/or (+2), so that you will know whether he's dropping again and if so, how quickly, and can then try to slow the drop with food, ok?

Jane
 
Cannot do +2. Work away prevails.

He did eat probably 1/2 the ff classic. I have snack of 1.4 can (.75oz) ff at +3.5 and +7. Should I add some higher carb food just in case. If yes, to which? He is eating more of his FF now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top