9/16 Jack +10 185 +11:45 168 AMPS 165

Status
Not open for further replies.

JacksDads

Member Since 2010
Last night (detailed #s are on the Sept 15 Tab) Jack got down to 38 on 4u. For the most part not symptomatic, though noticeably lethargic and Diarrhea after eating wet food (could have been because he's been eating raw the past few days). It seems that his #s are now going down since his +10, and I'm very hesitant to send him down into the 30s again so soon. I also know that it's important to keep the dose constant as much as possible to get good #s. The protocol says take him down to 3.5u because he went below 50. Is going down to 3u too much of a dramatic shift? I'm going to take another BG right before the shot, it seems that if the number is still going down it would be safer to give a lower dose?

Yesterday's Condo

edit: just tested again and at 161 (+12)
 
Re: 9/16 Jack +10 185 +11:45 168 eyes please

the protocol is based on the assumption that the dose was worked up to according to protocol, so we know our dose is safe. You don't really have that luxury, since you didn't work up to the dose gradually. I was going to suggest 3.5u, but if 3u is more comfortable for you then that is understandable. We'll watch Jack's numbers, and if the reduction doesn't stick we can go right back up.
 
Re: 9/16 Jack +10 185 +11:45 168 eyes please

Jack decidedly earned a dose reduction.

Definitely get an AMPS reading. There is a very good chance that Jack's numbers will start to go up -- he'll bounce off of that 38. Also keep in mind that the 185 and the 168 are virtually the same number. There's approximately a 10 - 20% meter variance inherent in the numbers.

If you're not comfortable shooting the usual dose, you can always give what we call a BCS (bit chicken sh*t) dose.

Let me also suggest that you keep all of the numbers on the same tab of your SS as well as breaking them out for yourself. If you look at Gabby's SS, you'll see how I handle the numbers. You need to manually adjust the colors of the cells. For those of us that open everyone's SS, it's much easier to not have to remember where all of the detailed info is and that 38 is important to see.

My guys also had loose stools during the switch over to raw. Just be attentive that it doesn't persist overly long. You can always add FortiFlora to their food -- it's a probiotic and may help to get Jack's GI system back to normal.
 
Re: 9/16 Jack +10 185 +11:45 168 eyes please

Sienne & Gaby said:
Also keep in mind that the 185 and the 168 are virtually the same number. There's approximately a 10 - 20% meter variance inherent in the numbers.

that is very good to know, helps explain some other numbers that were looking a bit wonky. Does that mean that lower numbers are more likely to be accurate?
 
Re: 9/16 Jack +10 185 +11:45 168 eyes please

Ok, I think I'm going to feed Jack his breakfast (he's not demanding food which is unusual and I really don't want to shoot him and then have him not eat) and then give him a skinny 3.5u (that means just a hair less than 3.5, right?)
 
Re: 9/16 Jack +10 185 +11:45 168 eyes please

What's your AMPS?

It's not that they are more accurate, it's the same 10 to 20% -- it's just that it's a smaller range. There are some meter-to-meter comparisons that have been done. Some meters are, in fact, less accurate at the upper and/or lower ranges and better in the middle. The bottom line is to stick with one meter or you'll make yourself a little nutty if you go back and forth between meters. Also, don't get completely wed to looking at each and every number since if you were to poke a second time, you might get a number that's a little higher or a little lower due to the variance (or more accurately, standard error of measurement).
 
Re: 9/16 Jack +10 185 +11:45 168 eyes please

he was at 161 at official AMPS time, he's still eating, will likely end up shooting at +0:30 and will take a reading then.
 
Re: 9/16 Jack +10 185 +11:45 168 eyes please

For the future, if you get a low number at +11 or even at pre-shot, we monitor in roughly 15 - 30 min. increments without feeding. It's a lot of testing but it will allow you to see in which direction the numbers are heading. Another alternative is to shoot a BCS dose as close to on time as possible.

I think you need to figure out if you want to treat this as a BCS dose and shoot 3.25u tonight or stick with the 3.0u dose.
 
Re: 9/16 Jack +10 185 +11:45 168 eyes please

Sienne and Gabby said:
For the future, if you get a low number at +11 or even at pre-shot, we monitor in roughly 15 - 30 min. increments without feeding. It's a lot of testing but it will allow you to see in which direction the numbers are heading. Another alternative is to shoot a BCS dose as close to on time as possible.

I think you need to figure out if you want to treat this as a BCS dose and shoot 3.25u tonight or stick with the 3.0u dose.

Great, thanks.
 
Hey guys, just checking in..how has the rest of your day gone? I think you said Weds is the worst day as Jack is home alone. So today, someone is around? Y'all are doing great. You've picked this up so fast. I haven't been here much longer than y'all and a lot of this was a struggle for me. Keep us posted.
 
Thanks for checking in. I was able to get home around 6pm and check him--no evidence of anything out of the ordinary. I think he's doing alright. Spot check at 6 had him right in the 160s. He's on the lethargic side of normal, but he's always been a floppy layabout type of guy, so I don't think its anything unusual for him, per se. Also, the city was doing very loud street repairs right outside the house today which was making ME nuts all morning, I am sure it wore the kitties out as well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top