9/16 Doodle AMPS = 201

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michelle and Doodle

Member Since 2009
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=25034

Jill & Alex said:
hi michelle! i see you've somehow managed to reduce the dose. let's wait to see how doodle handles the reduction before going to plan B, k?
the abs/infection could be messing with him, too.
if you wouldn't mind opening up a condo when you can over the next couple of days, we can keep an eye on him and do a little brainstorming together.
hope you feel better soon!

Yes Jill, I was able to reduce it - I wasn't sure I could measure anything less that 0.05 consistently... but I think I've got it. I'm calling it 0.025 and it is an empty syringe - it's whatever is in the needle that has to be pushed out by keeping the plunger compressed. Does that make sense? And how crazy is that!!?

I'll keep a condo daily for a while and keep his SS up to date.
Thanks for looking in on us!!

He's been throwing up about an hour after getting his clavamox for the last few doses - I'm not sure how much they can be helping him at this point.
I have a call in to the vet to see what she suggests.
I'll update later this evening.
 
DOODLE!
FWIW, I wasn't able to get the micro-drop in the U-100 syringes, so I tried it in the old U-40s I still had, and it worked really well. Just thought I'd mention it in case you're having issues. Poor Donny went several cycles with no insulin because nothing was coming out of the U-100s. Probably also has something to do with the syringe brand and how "springy" the plunger is.

MJ&Donovan
 
I'm impressed that you can measure that dose. I'm even more impressed that it seems to make a difference for Doodle. He's something else. :mrgreen:

Do you think the higher numbers might be bounces from lows? Or do you think they're just higher numbers? And how much longer on the Clavamox? It will be interesting to see what happens when he's done with that.
 
I use Relion 1/2 unit syringes when measuring KB's R, as it's usually less than .5. It IS tough to see. Sara's Jan sent me a magnifier that fits on a vial which helps - it's called a BD Magni-Guide.

I hope some of the AB is helping, poor Doodle, I want him to feel better.
 
Libby and Lucy said:
Do you think the higher numbers might be bounces from lows? Or do you think they're just higher numbers? And how much longer on the Clavamox?
lol! libby asked the same questions i have!
those high numbers do look like they could be bounces.

what did the vet say about the abs? were you able to get something else?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top