9/16 Chester's amps 559

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jaye and Chester

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=25078

After finally reaching the blues yesterday Chester just kept going until he was stuck in the green. I probably over compensated with low carb, followed by high carb fancy feast gravy when the low carb didn't get us where we needed to go. Left him with some baby food and finally went to bed. This morning, of course, he's bounced high and I'm not sure what to dose him.

I'm leaning toward a dose reduction to 2.25, even though I know he'll be high again...just like before. *sigh* But I'm afraid of what might happen when I'm not home all day.

I have a autofeeder to use if necessary.

I also use an AlphaTrak meter.
 
Re: DOSE ADVICE Chester's +11 is at 409

Good morning Jaye

As Sienne suggested last nite:


If you want to take the reduction in the morning, that's fine. Keeping the dose for one last cycle is an option in case there's a crazy high bounce.

I would decide on what to leave in the feeder based on where the numbers are in the AM. It's hard to know what Chester is going to do -- sometimes he bounces and sometimes not. Are you able to get any tests after your AMPS? That may help you to know whether to leave LC or MC in the feeder...

See what the AMPS is, if he is still high, hold the dose one last cycle - due to the bounce...if he has dropped a bit, take the reduction earned from last nite.
Also if you can, and are still home after AMPS around +1, try to squeeze in what we call "an out the door test", leave plenty of food out for him.

Hope that helps, have a good day!
 
Re: DOSE ADVICE Chester's amps 559 YIKES!

Thanks! His amps is 559! Holy cow! I'll definitely give him his 2.5 and not reduce this morning. Plus I'll leave him isolated with his autofeeder with low carb. Any ideas on what times I should set it for? I have two compartments in it.

Definitely need to check for ketones this morning. He's eating fine, but seems to feel kind of crappy...not surprising, though, with a bounce this high.

Diabetes is NOT for sissies!
 
Re: DOSE ADVICE Chester's amps 559 YIKES!

My guess is, (looking at his spreadsheet), feed him a good breakfast, and set the feeder for +3 and +5.
Others with more expert eyes, may have other thoughts.

Come on down, nice and easy, Chester.
 
Re: DOSE ADVICE Chester's amps 559 YIKES!

Thanks...

I'm kind of a basket case this morning. My diabetic dog got into the cat food, my diabetic cat isn't feeling so hot and is bouncing like a Globetrotter... And all indications are that I might be late for work!
 
Re: DOSE ADVICE Chester's amps 559 YIKES!

I'm VERY worried about post-meal spike with his already high numbers. Should I give him one unit of NPH to bring him down a little quicker? I hate to do that, it screws everything up, but if he has ketones (still need to check...running around like a crazy person) there's absolutely nothing I can do about it because I'm alone today and have to leave for work in 30 minutes.

Just tested him again at +.75 and he dropped to 442. This is familiar territory so I'm feeling a little better.
 
Re: DOSE ADVICE Chester's amps 559 YIKES!

moving this from your other condo so everything stays together:

Jaye and Chester said:
Well, after our SCARY bounce up to the mid 500's this morning, I think I'm ready to try that dose reduction for Chester. His pmps isn't as high as I expected it and I'm told he earned it from last night's low.

Any opinions? I'm giving him his shot in about 20 minutes.

Yes, I would go ahead and reduce. It's ok to hold the old dose for one cycle if the cat is bouncing, but you don't want to hold it for more than one cycle unless you know your cat is one who will bounce for a couple of days.
 
Re: DOSE ADVICE Chester's amps 559 YIKES!

Well, he's a bouncer, that's for sure, but I don't want to go through another worrisome night like last night's low if we can help it. Plus, after being on such a high dose for so long (including the months we were on Lantus) I'm super excited about the idea of earning a decrease! I just shaved off .25 from his 2.5 and hoping his liver is in a good mood.
 
Re: DOSE ADVICE Chester's amps 559 YIKES!

Hi Jaye

could you update your subject line by removing the "help" since you are ok for the day now?

Will you be able to get a couple of checks in tonight? Or at least a before bedtime check ok?
Good luck with the new dose!
 
Re: Chester's amps 559

Got it, thanks!

Yes, I'm going to get one in a few minutes (+2) and then will be home through Sunday night, so poor Chester is going to be a pin cushion for the weekend.
 
Re: Chester's amps 559

Thanks Jaye


quick question, when he was diagnosed with diabetes, did the vet mention ketones to you?
Does Chester have any history of ketones/DKA?

Do you check for ketones at home?
 
Re: Chester's amps 559

Yes, we've discussed ketones (just this morning...6:00 a.m. to be precise!) Chester does not have a history with them, thank goodness. I catch him with his pee on a ketodiastix when he lets me. Otherwise, if I'm worried and he's not in the mood to pee, I purchased a Precision Xtra meter that uses ghastly expensive strips (10 for around $40) and check his ketones that way. That's reserved for what I would consider really scary times...like this morning...because of the price.

He just peed for me about an hour ago. Ketones were negative. Luckily, the litterbox that he prefers is right by my office desk and I keep my strips right on the desk.

From your avatar, your Luna looks quite a bit like my Chester.
 
Re: Chester's amps 559

Thanks for checking back in Jaye.
Glad to hear no ketones kicking around.

Yea, our kitties look similar don't they? I luv my tuxedo kitty :razz:
Chester is so cute!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top