? 9/16/25 Watson DOSING QUESTION AMPS 267L/191M; +1-254; +2-215; +3-206; +4-125; +5-94L/+5.75 54L/67M; +6-52L;+6.25-49L/51M; +7-61

Rosie Lass

Active Member
Yesterday I reduced Watson's dosage .25 down to 3.5. Today has been a challenge, hitting 67 and 51 on the meter and having a hard time getting him to eat his gravy unless it was dosed with Fortaflora or dried catnip. Had to rub the gravy on his lips and also some honey and crunchy treats. I'm assuming I need to drop to 3.25 tonight. Scary because I will be gone most of tomorrow.
I feel like a failure that I can't get him more regulated. The vet seems to think that the 200's might be good enough for him. HELP!

? - 9/14/25. WATSON AMPS 313L/305M; +1-289; +2-246; +3-178; +4-124; +5-68L/70M; +5.25-54L; +6-65
 
Yesterday I reduced Watson's dosage .25 down to 3.5. Today has been a challenge, hitting 67 and 51 on the meter and having a hard time getting him to eat his gravy unless it was dosed with Fortaflora or dried catnip. Had to rub the gravy on his lips and also some honey and crunchy treats. I'm assuming I need to drop to 3.25 tonight. Scary because I will be gone most of tomorrow.
I feel like a failure that I can't get him more regulated. The vet seems to think that the 200's might be good enough for him. HELP!

? - 9/14/25. WATSON AMPS 313L/305M; +1-289; +2-246; +3-178; +4-124; +5-68L/70M; +5.25-54L; +6-65
Hi Rosie, since you are following SLGS anytime they drop below 90 you need to reduce their dose by .25 units (I know you know that). And since you are lucky to be able to test him with an ear prick and your regular meter you are able to verify his actual numbers when he is low.
So since he hit the 50s today, you should reduce. It’s probably the larger Depot still in action.
Maybe what you want to do is lower your reduction point down to say 75 or 70, that way if he happens to hit those numbers, you wouldn’t have to reduce his dose.
Of course that doesn’t apply to today since he went into the 50s.
That would be my thoughts, but I am not a trained dosing advisor.
I’ll be curious to see if anyone else has any other thoughts.
And please don’t beat yourself up, you’re doing a great job with Watson and your other kitties.
There are probably ways to tweak your dosing so you don’t have to take as many reductions if he doesn’t go quite so low.

I know Mary mentioned switching to TR, but you noted that he is eating some dry kibble even though it is the young again.
Sending you and Watson lots of good luck tonight and I hope he calms down and doesn’t bounce too high 🥰❤️‍🩹😻
 
Hi Rosie, since you are following SLGS anytime they drop below 90 you need to reduce their dose by .25 units (I know you know that). And since you are lucky to be able to test him with an ear prick and your regular meter you are able to verify his actual numbers when he is low.
So since he hit the 50s today, you should reduce. It’s probably the larger Depot still in action.
Maybe what you want to do is lower your reduction point down to say 75 or 70, that way if he happens to hit those numbers, you wouldn’t have to reduce his dose.
Of course that doesn’t apply to today since he went into the 50s.
That would be my thoughts, but I am not a trained dosing advisor.
I’ll be curious to see if anyone else has any other thoughts.
And please don’t beat yourself up, you’re doing a great job with Watson and your other kitties.
There are probably ways to tweak your dosing so you don’t have to take as many reductions if he doesn’t go quite so low.

I know Mary mentioned switching to TR, but you noted that he is eating some dry kibble even though it is the young again.
Sending you and Watson lots of good luck tonight and I hope he calms down and doesn’t bounce too high 🥰❤️‍🩹😻
Thanks @Staci & Ivy. He’s currently hanging in there in the high 70’s low 80’s. He definitely scared me this time hitting the 50’s.
 
I feel like a failure that I can't get him more regulated. The vet seems to think that the 200's might be good enough for him. HELP!
How much kibble do you feed him?
Also, please try not to feel like a failure regarding regulation. You are doing your best. Watson is so fortunate to have someone who cares so much for him. Some cats just are more inclined to regulation than others.
 
They get 1/3 cup for lunch & 1/3 cup overnight for 3 cats to share.

I have no idea what to do tonight he is due to have dinner and a half an hour and shots shortly after and he is still only at 107
 
Since you skipped a couple nights ago, draining the depot, and he still hit the 50's today you definitely want to reduce again as per SLGS.

Can you stall, wait 20 minutes without feeding, and see what he does?
@Wendy&Neko I did wait 20 minutes. Libra said 86, Meter said 80. I plan to skip tonight. Edited to add: he is not eating much of his dinner tonight either so maybe he’s not feeling up to par today
 
Back
Top