9/15 Ozy AMPS-84,+3.5-47,PMPS-186,+2-255,+6-170

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/14 Ozy AMPS-84

Good morning Donaleen,
Sorry Ozy isn't feeling well this morning. I hope his swelling and legs feel better soon :YMHUG:
He does have a beautiful AMPS tho :mrgreen:
Have a great day!
 
Re: 9/14 Ozy AMPS-84

Great shooting! Glad we waited for the bounce to clear.

I hope he's better today. It's not a day to give him fluids is it? I'd be cautious about giving fluids if he could be retaining bodily fluids.

Have you had his heart checked?
 
Re: 9/14 Ozy AMPS-84

I set the alarm to get up and test but I set it for 2am instead of +2 hours... a little egg on my face. So, here we are at +6 and I missed +4 and he is at 78. What happened in the last two hours that I missed?

Hi Donaleen,
I copied that from the end of last night's condo.
I'm not sure I understand the question. My guess would be that the drop slowed, and the +4 was somewhere in the middle of the 128 at +2 and the 78 at +6 though. Then it looks like he just surfed in the greens all night long and gave you a beautiful AMPS.:-)
 
Re: 9/14 Ozy AMPS-84

Thanks Pam. Me, too.

Marje, he was at the vet just a few days ago. They listened to his heart but I bet you mean something more than that. We did discuss his stiffness and she is aware that I've said he swells up like this.

Carl, there isn't really a question. Just admitting my mistake of not getting up to test at +4 like I meant to. I thought to myself, "get up in 2 hours" and set the alarm for 2am, instead of midnight, like I meant to. So I don't know what happened between +2 and +6. I just feel a little irresponsible. I hope he did exactly what you said.
 
Re: 9/14 Ozy AMPS-84

donaleen

Please don't feel irresponsible. It has happened to every single one of us. I agree he probably flattened out, surfed, came up a bit. He might be on his way to the next bounce. ;-) anti jinx!
 
Re: 9/14 Ozy AMPS-84

Irresponsible?
I'm pretty sure sleep is allowed. :-D
Obviously, nothing "bad" happened while you were in dreamland. ;-)
 
Re: 9/14 Ozy AMPS-84

I get the impression you're super-responsible and thoughtful, and that's why Ozy's BGs are better.
 
Re: 9/14 Ozy AMPS-84

Nice start this morning, Ozy. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: You're doing a super job, donaleen. FD is a tough disease. Give yourself a ton of credit for taking it on. :-D
Liz
 
Re: 9/14 Ozy AMPS-84

What a kind thing to say Anne. Then EVERYONE here gets the same credit. We are all trying. I think for Halloween, I'll be a pancreas.
 
Re: 9/14 Ozy AMPS-84,+2-77,+3.5-47

Ooh... 47 at +3.5...fed him his food with a little maple syrup. And here I was thinking of a nap. Looks like another reduction is on our horizon.

Thanks for stopping in Carla and thanks for the kind words.
 
Re: 9/14 Ozy AMPS-84,+2-77,+3.5-47

I was just reading the advice on your condo last night cuz now we are in the same place.. time to test.

As to Halloween, maybe I'll just be a prick.

Ooh, Marje is here. I see her.
 
Re: 9/15 Ozy AMPS-84,+2-77,+3.5-47,+4-52 And another reducti

bump... anyone there? Might need a few reminders.

Ooh, Sienne is here. And Chris and Wendy and Carla ....nice to know you are about.
 
Re: 9/15 Ozy AMPS-84,+2-77,+3.5-47,+4-52,+4.66-71

Hi Donaleen, We're low over here too, so I'll be around for awhile. How are you doing?
 
Re: 9/15 Ozy AMPS-84,+2-77,+3.5-47,+4-52,+4.66-71

Okay, he seems high enough now for long long enough that I think the protocol says I can wait an hour before testing/feeding again. Please advise if you disagree.
 
Re: 9/15 Ozy AMPS-84,+2-77,+3.5-47,+4-52,+4.66-71

I think he's high enough you could probably wait until +5, but I am also a little new to handling the low numbers too. You fed at +4 and +4.5 right?
 
Re: 9/15 Ozy AMPS-84,+2-77,+3.5-47,+4-52,+4.66-71

Melissa

I fed at 3.5,4,4.5... small amounts with maple syrup drops. May have overdone it.

I will look for you now.
 
Re: 9/15 Ozy AMPS-84,+2-77,+3.5-47,+4-52,+4.66-71

donaleen and Ozy said:
I fed at 3.5,4,4.5... small amounts with maple syrup drops. May have overdone it.
That sounds about right to me, as long as it wasn't globs of syrup. I think with all that food on board, you're probably fine to wait an hour since the last test, but you could always grab another one if you're worried. I'll probably give Ebby an hour since her last test, but she tends to rise pretty rapidly, so I'm not too worried. I was hoping for a nap too, but I'll just have to get the coffee out.
 
Re: 9/15 Ozy AMPS-84,+2-77,+3.5-47,+4-52,+4.66-71

Oh, and Marje told me this last night: "We typically suggest you have two, non food influenced rising numbers before you totally call it a night."
 
Re: 9/15 Ozy AMPS-84,+2-77,+3.5-47,+4-52,+4.66-71

Hi Donaleen,
It looks like you are keeping Ozy safe really well.
But I'll be around for a while for some mental support! ;-)
I think 2 consecutive rising numbers are important if you want to go to bed or go out, but if you are going to stick around with Ozy, I think it's OK to give him an hour.

As for the Halloween, I think I'll be a karo.
 
Re: 9/15 Ozy AMPS-84,+2-77,+3.5-47,+4-52,+4.66-71

Congrats on that reduction! Let's stay up in those numbers for a while Ozy. You are probably OK for waiting until 5.5. That was 2 hours since his first syrup so may or may not see the numbers go down then.

ETA: I might try a couple tsp of LC to see if he will surf there.
 
Re: 9/15 Ozy AMPS-84,+2-77,+3.5-47,+4.66-71,5.75-98

Well I went for a little half hour walk, that was lovely and needed. Thanks for the tips Mariko and Wendy and Melissa. I didn't catch that he was supposed be rising without food; I put that under my rock, too. But it looks like I was lucky and he DID rise without food. Whew.

Wendy, do you think I need to feed him now at +6 with his normal low carb food? If so, how much. Trying not to overfeed him.
 
Re: 9/15 Ozy AMPS-84,+2-77,+3.5-47,+4.66-71,5.75-98

Good to get out every once in a while and clear the mind. Given how much he's gone up, I think you are OK with not giving food. If he had come down some, then a tsp or two might have been good.
 
Re: 9/15 Ozy AMPS-84,+2-77,+3.5-47,+4.66-71,5.75-98

Thanks, everybody for the help.

I wonder if he is going to bounce?

Should I shoot once more at this dose before reducing?
 
Re: 9/15 Ozy AMPS-84,+2-77,+3.5-47,+4.66-71,5.75-98

Glad you got a walk in! :smile: I should try and do the same. Have a good day!
 
Re: 9/15 Ozy AMPS-84,+2-77,+3.5-47,+4.66-71,5.75-98

donaleen

I'm sorry....I just popped on to grab a PM that i needed and I didn't check condos. You did an awesome job.

Let me look at Ozy's SS and I'll brb to answer your question.
 
Re: 9/15 Ozy AMPS-84,+2-77,+3.5-47,+4.66-71,5.75-98

Let's see where he is. If he bounces, yes, you can shoot through the bounce with the 3.5u dose and take the reduction in the morning.

Just one point: sometimes if the depot is really full, even if you reduce, if you shoot through the bounce, you might see lower numbers tonight. But if he really shoots up, it would probably be a good idea to shoot through the bounce.
 
Re: 9/15 Ozy AMPS-84,+2-77,+3.5-47,+4.66-71,5.75-98

Thanks, Marje. I think I get the balls again.

I didn't do it quite right. I got his numbers up, but I think I probably overfed. I gave him a tablespoon of his food with two to three drops of maple syrup at +3.5. Then 2 tsp food with a few drops of maple syrup at +4 and again 20 minutes later. Isn't that a bit too much, especially if weight loss is a goal?

It wasn't as bad as the 31 when we shot a fair amount of Karo syrup right down his throat...
 
Re: 9/15 Ozy AMPS-84,+2-77,+3.5-47,+4.66-71,5.75-98

Marje and Gracie said:
Let's see where he is. If he bounces, yes, you can shoot through the bounce with the 3.5u dose and take the reduction in the morning.

Just one point: sometimes if the depot is really full, even if you reduce, if you shoot through the bounce, you might see lower numbers tonight. But if he really shoots up, it would probably be a good idea to shoot through the bounce.

And I am putting that under my rock, too.
 
Re: 9/15 Ozy AMPS-84,+3.5-47,PMPS-186 Reduce Tonight or Tomo

Ozy earned a reduction today. The question is reduce tonight or wait till tomorrow morning to reduce?

thanks
donaleen
 
Re: 9/15 Ozy AMPS-84,+3.5-47,PMPS-186 Reduce Tonight or Tomo

I'd reduce tonight - not enough of a bounce for my tastes. Congrats on the reduction.
 
Re: 9/15 Ozy AMPS-84,+3.5-47,PMPS-186 Reduce Tonight or Tomo

Thank you. That is what I was thinking. Sometimes his bounces are late but that doesn't help tonight.

donaleen
 
Re: 9/15 Ozy AMPS-84,+3.5-47,PMPS-186

Good choice to take the reduction tonight. What a lovely cycle!

I probably wouldn't have given him any more syrup after he had come up the first time from 47 to 66. And it usually takes a good 30 minutes to see the effect on the BG so if you test in less than that, you will likely over carb.

When Gracie has gone into the 20s on me :roll: , I have given her karo and tested in 20 mins just to be sure she stopped but generally, it's 30 minutes....a long wait.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top