9 /15 Marnie AMPS 155 +4 76 PMPS 97 +40 mins 112 gave shot

Lynda & Marnie

Member Since 2021
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/should-i-give-her-shot.252184/

Hi , I need some advice if I should shoot or not please
It is my understanding when you get a low pre shot number to hold.d off food and re test in 30 mins.
My problem is I caught Marnie having a bit to eat 45 mins before her shot was due (it would have only been a couple of mouthfulls) so I tested her blood after 20 mins hoping to get a more accurate reading before the food influences it . Her reading was the lowest it has ever been pre -shot so now I dont know what to do ,if I read it again 30 mins after will it be food influenced and give a false reading ?
EDIT I have just re tested 40 mins later it is now 112
 
Last edited:
Hi Lynda, I only just saw this. Marnie's numbers are looking good. I would have got a test after that +4 this morning to see if she dipped any lower.

Yes, if you get a lower pre-shot, you stall without feeding and test after 20 mins to see if the numbers are rising without food. And you want to ensure they do not eat 2 hours before their shot so that you don't get a food influenced test.

My problem is I caught Marnie having a bit to eat 45 mins before her shot was due (it would have only been a couple of mouthfulls) so I tested her blood after 20 mins hoping to get a more accurate reading before the food influences it . Her reading was the lowest it has ever been pre -shot so now I dont know what to do ,if I read it again 30 mins after will it be food influenced and give a false reading ?
I didn't understand this. Marnie got into food 45 mins before her shot was due and you waited 20 mins after that to test? So the 97 was 65 mins after food and the 112 was 105 mins after food?

Please get tests at +1 and +2?

Btw, did you decide which dosing protocol you want to follow?
 
Hi Bhooma, Marnie was due for her shot at 5.45 and got into a tiny bit of food at 5 I tested her at 5.20 and she was 97. I then tested her at 6 and it was 112 . I fed her at 6.15 she ate nearly a whole can of fancy feast and gave her shot
I will test now
 
I think I would like to follow the TR protocol but have had a bit of difficulty understanding what I need to be doing
 
I think I would like to follow the TR protocol but have had a bit of difficulty understanding what I need to be doing
With her history of ketones, TR would be a good protocol because it will allow you to stay at a dose she sees normal numbers in i.e. 2.8 to 5.5 on a human meter.

You need to get at least 1 test every cycle with TR and feed only low carb wet food (no dry food).

If she drops below 2.8 you will need to reduce her dose by 0.25U. Do you have syringes to be able to do that?
 
Yes , I have syringes but I havent used them yet I am still using the pen needles. The syringes scare me a bit
As long as you are giving whole units, you can use the pen needles. But if she needs less or more insulin, you will need to switch to syringes since there is no dose in between 0 and 1 with pens. With syringes you can reduce to 0.75U.
 
As long as you are giving whole units, you can use the pen needles. But if she needs less or more insulin, you will need to switch to syringes since there is no dose in between 0 and 1 with pens. With syringes you can reduce to 0.75U.
So for now I keep going as I am and only reduce dosage to .75 if I get a number below 2.8 ?
 
Back
Top