9/15 Herman amps 292 +3 207 +5 122 +6 65 +7 70 +10 99 pmps 265 +2 349

Amy & Herman

Member Since 2022
Yesterday
Yellow start :cat:

I’m starting to have some trouble with the insulin shot. He’s yanking away and growling, he tenses and tightens his skin in anticipation. He’s gained a fair bit of weight back in last few months so it’s a different “feel” to inject and his winter coat is coming in so it’s hard to find “skin” through a break in the fur. I have been using the roll away technique but maybe now with his fur and weight where it is I should do the tent technique so ….I’ll be watching some videos and practising. Hope this doesn’t become a bigger issue.:banghead::oops:
 
Given our +2 I wasn't going to get a +3, but...he gave me that "look". Fed a very small amount of 15% mixed with his 2% fancy feast for his +3 snack. I was about to head out but will stick around and get a +4.
 
Whoa Nelly.. I mean Herman! :eek:
I know. :confused: And that's after gravy. Fed gravy again at +4.... I don't want to prevent nice healing greens but these steep dives worry me and then usually result in big bounces. We spend way too much time in bounces. I still find myself pondering if a lower dose would be more affective at getting him to bounce less. Or if the steep dives are because they are bounce clearing cycles, not what a normal cycle will be. I don't get to see a "normal" cycle very often so who knows!?!?! I will stay the course for now,...and cancel my plans. Again. He's lucky he's so cute. :confused::oops:
 
OHHHH Herman!!!

IMO the only thing that gets kitty to bounce less is TIME. Elise @tiffmaxee has said that some cats bounce all the way to OTJ.

You are doing everything right. You're feeding MC when the data shows its needed. The proof is how quickly Herman has been clearing the bounces.

Kyle @Hendrick Cuddleclaw said on someone's post, I can't recall who or when, but it stuck with me. He said (and I'm paraphrasing) that he would zoom out of the spreadsheet from time to time and notice the color changing trends. Lots of reds and pinks, then less. Lots of pinks and yellows and sporadic reds then less and so on and so on. The bounces become shorter and smaller...with time;)

PLUS, Herman has only been on Lantus for a little of 2 months. Here is where the phrase Patience Pants gets passed around. Patience! Designer Patience Pants. Maybe Prada or Dior :facepalm:
 
All of what Angela said is true. For some cats lantus stings but that’s usually in high dose kitties. Where do you shoot. Perhaps try a different location or shave a small patch somewhere and for awhile shoot there. Max never minded the shots so I was able to shoot on his flank and abdomen even though he was furry.
 
OHHHH Herman!!!

IMO the only thing that gets kitty to bounce less is TIME. Elise @tiffmaxee has said that some cats bounce all the way to OTJ.

You are doing everything right. You're feeding MC when the data shows its needed. The proof is how quickly Herman has been clearing the bounces.

Kyle @Hendrick Cuddleclaw said on someone's post, I can't recall who or when, but it stuck with me. He said (and I'm paraphrasing) that he would zoom out of the spreadsheet from time to time and notice the color changing trends. Lots of reds and pinks, then less. Lots of pinks and yellows and sporadic reds then less and so on and so on. The bounces become shorter and smaller...with time;)

PLUS, Herman has only been on Lantus for a little of 2 months. Here is where the phrase Patience Pants gets passed around. Patience! Designer Patience Pants. Maybe Prada or Dior :facepalm:
I need to print this off and refer to it often! Thanks, I do need these reminders!

So much of my "rushing" I think stems from what I refer to as the "wasted" first few months after diagnosis where I KNEW my vet was letting Herman down but was too afraid to leave her and do my own research until a few months had passed. She had been my vet for over 15 years so it was hard to "break up" and trust the internet over her and her staff. They insisted on NO home testing "cruel and Herman is WAY too difficult a cat to tolerate it" I was told, they wanted 1 unit increases, said curves must be done at the vet office and even then they could only get 2 tests throughout the WHOLE day (charged me over $500) and insisted I increase him from 2 to 3 units of Canninsulin based on those two numbers (which they would not tell me what they were even!). They wouldn't even return my calls when I started to question the insulin choice. Thank god I found this page and a new vet on the same page as us! Trying to make up for lost time and that never works. RANT OVER but boy it feels good to get it out.
I think my patience pants should be Burberry. Their trademark plaid matches Herman's colouring.
 
It doesn't matter what the dose is in terms of bounces. I've seen it at different doses. But Herman is clearing his bounces a lot quicker and that's great! His body is getting used to the better numbers and that's what you want.

I just read your last message. With feline diabetes, you have to live in the present. Now is what counts. It's never too late. :bighug:
 
All of what Angela said is true. For some cats lantus stings but that’s usually in high dose kitties. Where do you shoot. Perhaps try a different location or shave a small patch somewhere and for awhile shoot there. Max never minded the shots so I was able to shoot on his flank and abdomen even though he was furry.
Yes - I am thinking I might need to get a few patches shaved to help - which is a shame - his coat looks out of this world, actually the best it's looked in years. All the extra handling I have been doing with him has surprisingly made him more accepting of me grooming him all over, he used to only let me groom his face and neck. Now most of his body is fair game.....I can *almost* even groom his belly! Not quite, I have the wounds to prove it.
 
I am so glad you "broke up" with your first vet.

I felt mean at first when poking Chispa's ears, but now she may or may not give a little yelp -- then goes right back to purring. Learning to test was hard enough, even with the support of this group (which really got me through the first month). I don't know how I would have done it if my VET had suggested it was "cruel"!! And charging you $500 for a "curve" consisting of two tests?!? Oy vey.

You and Herman have definitely earned your matching Burberry Patience Pants! :D:cat:
 
Look at that GORGEOUS :D at exactly +6. Amazing
I'd enjoy it alot more if it hadn't come after such a drop. He is in outside explore adventure mode with his friend, Slipper. Thankfully he lets me test him "out in the wild" since I serve him picnic snacks. Will hope to find him for a +6.75! Catching him and dragging him inside when he is out doing "cat stuff" results in ANGRY herman who is impossible to test!
 
Well, I would have suggested the same. It's all about learning what to do and when.

Come up a teeny bit, Herman!
Such a balancing act. :oops: I want to keep him in greens without that scary lime which would be certainly be happening without the MC intervention. But again, as it's a bounce breaking cycle I don't want to have it affect the dose because he just wasn't seeing low enough numbers at 2.25units. Amazing what such a tiny difference in dose makes.
 
I bought some HC (25%) yesterday - have not yet used that high a carb yet....Just curious if that is preferable to use over Karo, should we get a lime this afternoon. Just trying to be prepared. And ETD - if I hit lime, should I give GRAVY ONLY? Or gravy with some of the flaked bits of meat? Currently I give him the gravy with bits of grilled meat in it but he mostly licks teh gravy and only eats a bit of the meat.
 
I bought some HC (25%) yesterday - have not yet used that high a carb yet....Just curious if that is preferable to use over Karo, should we get a lime this afternoon. Just trying to be prepared.
Either works. Some cats tolerate HC better than karo and vice versa. Some cats react better to one over another. You will have to experiment. ECID
 
Back
Top