Stressedcatmom
Member Since 2017
...
Thank you so much for your advice. Your cat looks so sweeeeettttttt! I will try to have a better day! You have a good one as wellI need to pick up some miralax, just to have. Yoshi really is beautiful and I believe he will get better pretty soon. It's so hard when you don't see improvement quickly. If his lowest point doesn't go below 300, you could increase to 2 units in the morning, or to 1.75 if he goes below 300 (but above 200). That would be using TR, if you don't want to wait longer. As odd as it sounds, some cats (I've read and seen) wait until the 6th cycle to show much change. Right at the dosecrease threat time.
I hope you have a great day![]()
Ahhhhh, yes, you have a better day and hugs. Tina is a sweet one.Thank you so much for your advice. Your cat looks so sweeeeettttttt! I will try to have a better day! You have a good one as well

Too kind, Jan! You’re a sweetheart too! Thank you for your kind wordsAhhhhh, yes, you have a better day and hugs. Tina is a sweet one.
I've been sad for you and want you happy, as does Yoshi![]()

I’m going to have a talk with him at pmps. Syringe in hand.I agree...time to start the 'dose increase threat' - since tonight is the 6th cycle - maybe if he hears you say it out loud, he'll find his way down to some better numbers...it often happens that way...it's really stunning - I do think they hear us![]()
Thank you for tagging. I don’t know many of the experts on lantus.I've only been here 18 months so I do not give dose advice (not enough experience) BUT it sure looks to me like Yoshi needs more insulin. (how old is Yoshi?)
Maybe @Sienne and Gabby (GA) is available to advise you?
![]()
I am off Fri-Sunday and m/w I can get home to do a + 8 or 9. T/th I get home just in time for pmps.For SLGS you should hold the dose for a week, do a curve at the end of the week, and change dose based on the nadir. According to SLGS Yoshi isn’t due for an increase quite yet.
I know members have mentioned before that you test enough for TR and I think they’re right. Do you think you would consider trying it? No pressure, but The reason I ask is because I, like you have more of a TR dose change mentality, but you really can’t mix both methods, especially if you’re still getting used to how Yoshi reacts to Lantus.
If I could follow TR I would but my work schedule makes it impossible. If you can test during the day I think it actually might suit your dosing mentality better.
Of course, do what’s best for you and Yoshi... just my two cents
They are still pushing for the culture but I can’t afford it right nowHe still has a lot of bacteria and now blood in urine. I’m asking for a new antibiotic @MrWorfMen's Mom fyi I’m not doing the shot again.
Prescribed orbaxThey are still pushing for the culture but I can’t afford it right now
You read my mind. My next question was going to be if I should still increase tomo. I will hold. He just tested at 554 + 8. But it was shorty after we got home from the vet and he was panting in the car.It's highly likely that the high BGs you are currently seeing are from the infection. Orbax is a much better choice of antibiotic than the Convenia. Hopefully Yoshi will be feeling better very soon and start seeing some better numbers.
In the meantime, I would hold the 1.5u dose. BG may start dropping fairly soon after the antibiotic is started and you really need to give that dose a chance. It's also possible the dose may need to be reduced once the infection is dealt with.
THANK YOUI was just about to make the same point as Linda about the high BGs due to infection, and about being very vigilant now that a (hopefully) more effective AB has been prescribed. When that infection clears, his BG could drop a lot!
Hope Yoshi is feeling better very soon!

I don’t know many of the experts on lantus.
Oh man. Thank you for this. I have some decisions to make in a couple hours. I will see what his pmps looks like and go with my gut.Here is the link to your previous post, included for continuity http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...37-3-377-7-454-9-5-456-pmps-468-4-394.219290/
I am going to comment a few things said here, that’s the joy of a peer reviewed board.First, kitties coming back from remission can be harder to regulate. If you can, it’s good to be more aggressive in the beginning to get him back into good numbers sooner. Otherwise the chance of a second remission may be lower. However, it is still possible. Second, lingering in high numbers is likely leading to glucose toxicity, and frankly, Yoshi’s numbers are ugly. Note, so were Neko’s at first. The longer you wait to increase, the harder it will be to overcome glucose toxicity. Next, when kitties come back from remission, they often have to go back to their old highest dose, or even higher. Yoshi was on 2 units of Prozinc.
Antibiotics take a couple cycles to take effect. But we still don’t know it’s the right antibiotic to treat the possible infection. It’s the weekend when more monitoring can be done. If you were following TR, I would recommend an increase and frankly, you could even do it tonight. You could increase to help battle the high numbers of an infection, and let the numbers tell you if the antibiotic is working and the dose should be reduced.
Finally, some cats go lower at the vets, mine did.
It’s your decision which approach you want to do. I just wanted to balance the discussion with the safe but aggressive points.
How is the daily ketone testing going? Infection/inflammation plus insufficient insulin are not a good combo. How is his appetite?
That is totally a factor in what you do tonight. If you can’t monitor well, keep it status quo.I am completely exhausted
Thank you. Part of our conversation is, “no keytones, Yoshi. No mf keytones my love...”Great on negative ketones! Could you note that in the Remarks on the spreadsheet, or I and others will keep asking.
Constipation can also bump up the numbers a little. With those high numbers he is probably a bit dehydrated. Maybe some plain meat broth (no salt or onions) or tuna water might help him drink a bit more? I presume you are watering down his food.
That is totally a factor in what you do tonight. If you can’t monitor well, keep it status quo.
I hope Yoshi gets rid of the infection, he's such a cute boy, just look at him waiting to be testedI just went to check on him and he’s in our testing spot. I love him so much.