Hi Jan, are you following SLGS or TR? Could you mention that in both your signature and SS please?
Also, if you could share the link of your previous post in the current one, it would be easier for us to toggle through all your posts to see history.
Hi Jan, were you posting on the Main Health Forum before coming here to the Lantus Forum?
It's difficult to discuss your issues without a couple of things:
1)Please edit your title to look like this:
? 9/14 Squeky AMPS 377 - New member, help with SS, or something along those lines....(use the question mark to draw attention to your post), if you have a question.
This will help everyone realize that you're new (I think)..and that it's today...it's very difficult to figure out who's on first without some semblance of organization. When you have a moment please read this stickie -so you can understand why we ask:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-26-psa-please-read.231511/
Then this one:
HOW TO HELP US HELP YOU! https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/
I'm not sure what the question is about 'anything to say about the SS' at this point...you're new, it's early and there's no dosing method chosen, that matters as far as when to change doses, etc. I'm also not sure who you might call to discuss...your vet isn't going to know anything about those dosing methods.
We'd love to help you...but really need for you to update your post/condo/thread for today and then we can go from there![]()
Hi Jan, were you posting on the Main Health Forum before coming here to the Lantus Forum?
It's difficult to discuss your issues without a couple of things:
1)Please edit your title to look like this:
? 9/14 Squeky AMPS 377 - New member, help with SS, or something along those lines....(use the question mark to draw attention to your post), if you have a question.
This will help everyone realize that you're new (I think)..and that it's today...it's very difficult to figure out who's on first without some semblance of organization. When you have a moment please read this stickie -so you can understand why we ask:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-26-psa-please-read.231511/
Then this one:
HOW TO HELP US HELP YOU! https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/
I'm not sure what the question is about 'anything to say about the SS' at this point...you're new, it's early and there's no dosing method chosen, that matters as far as when to change doses, etc. I'm also not sure who you might call to discuss...your vet isn't going to know anything about those dosing methods.
We'd love to help you...but really need for you to update your post/condo/thread for today and then we can go from there![]()
Thank you, Luci, I am studying and slowly coming to understand bits and pieces of this. What is a condo?


I suggest you follow SLGS at least to start. You dint test nearly enough for TR. On 9/12 you got a PMPS under 100 and had to skip. Then her numbers shot up as expected. Since Lantus dosing is based on how low it takes your cat, about 7 days after the skipped shot do a curve testing every 2 hours for a full cycle or every 3 hours for 18 hours. Then her next dose can be determined. If she ever us under 200 at preshot, post for help and don’t feed. Write stalling, need help in the subject. If you get a test under 90 at any time you will decrease to .75 and that will be the new dose. Does this make sense?
Hi Jan, this is Sue btw, Luci is still learning to type...but has a long way to go...she mostly types a lot of zzzzzzzzzzz's when she lays on the keyboard LOL!
This post that you started today is referred to as a 'condo'....don't worry about all the verbiage we use here...it takes a little time to catch on to what the slang means. There's a slang dictionary around here somewhere...I'll see if I can find it for you...
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-basaglar-levemir-isg-slang-dictionary.1903/
Enjoy reading that...I thought it was very enlightening...especially when people were talking about being in the lagoon, swimming with the sharks or cats on the beach!For what it's worth, I often refer to Luci as being in the lemon tree - if you look at her SS and see all the yellow - you'll see why I say that - lemons = yellow...Luci loves her lemons
![]()
What I said was you need to hold the 1 unit unless she drops under 90.
The two posts have been merged into one.Can you merge her condos. I don’t know how many there are.
When you say 7 day rule have you decided to follow SLGS ? With TR you could increase after 3 days but you did get a blue preshot last night I believe.
The two posts have been merged into one.
A "condo" is your post or the thread that you post daily. It is called a condo, cause kitties hang out in condos.What is a condo? Seems I have messed something up?
You don't need to test every two hours to follow TR, you need to test 4 times per day. Two preshots, plus two others.
A "condo" is your post or the thread that you post daily. It is called a condo, cause kitties hang out in condos.It was named that way before I started.
We do ask that you start just one post per day. There are enough cats there, that it's hard to keep track of the latest action if there multiple posts going per day per cat.
You don't need to test every two hours to follow TR, you need to test 4 times per day. Two preshots, plus two others.
A "condo" is your post or the thread that you post daily. It is called a condo, cause kitties hang out in condos.It was named that way before I started.
We do ask that you start just one post per day. There are enough cats there, that it's hard to keep track of the latest action if there multiple posts going per day per cat.
Wow, four shots per day.
Just to clarify....it's 4 tests per day, not shots!
Two tests are the AMPS and PMPS....If you want to follow Tight Regulation (TR), you also need to get at least 1 mid-cycle on the AM cycle (like 5-7 hours after the morning shot) and then at least 1 "before bed" test on the PM cycle (at least 2-3 hours after the evening shot)
You also have to understand and be willing to test more often if necessary (like if he's dropping fast or getting too low) as well as losing some sleep occasionally if he's dropping at night.
Jan, it looks like you have several different posts today. It’s asked that you post ine cido a day. Change the title if you have questions.
@Wendy&Neko Can you merge her condos. I don’t know how many there are.
Lantus takes a certain number of cycles to stabilize. You have to give the same dose at least six cycles in a row to see what the dose can do. The only way you can increase even after six cycles is if you are following TR and have two tests each cycle so you know how low the dose is taking the cat. We do know that 1 unit did take Squeaky to under 200, which even under TR would have you hold the dose even longer.
I think I can probably test him 4 times a day, for how long does this need to happen? Always or just for a while?
As long as he requires insulin.
Have you made a testing routine? Same place every time? And a special treat whether you get blood or not? Most kitties really do catch on pretty quick that anytime mom's near the "testing spot" and getting the supplies out, there's a yummy treat on the way and they come running.
As long as he requires insulin.
Have you made a testing routine? Same place every time? And a special treat whether you get blood or not? Most kitties really do catch on pretty quick that anytime mom's near the "testing spot" and getting the supplies out, there's a yummy treat on the way and they come running.
Four times a day forever? I'm not sure we can do that on an ongoing basis.
It's testing 4x a day until you have a better idea of patterns, your cats onset and nadir, how to handle lower preshot numbers, how you cat responds to dose changes and different carb amounts...you want to keep them safe.
You can also do SLGS - which requires 2 test per day and a BG curve once a week to evaluate dose changes ( A BG curve is testing every 2 hours for 12 hours or every 3 hours for 16).
Don't think of it as a life sentence- think of it as maintenance to gather enough information to work towards better regulation...
As long as he requires insulin.
Have you made a testing routine? Same place every time? And a special treat whether you get blood or not? Most kitties really do catch on pretty quick that anytime mom's near the "testing spot" and getting the supplies out, there's a yummy treat on the way and they come running.
Thanks Ari. I don't think of it as a life sentence.
Well, I just feel very discouraged at the moment. Squeaky is having a bad day. He went and hid in the closet two times today, and he is there now, which is a bad sign. He's feeling crummy, and when he feels crummy I feel crummy. We've been at this 12 days already, and so far there's no real sign of improvement. Also he didn't eat much tonight, which has me worried. He only ate a small amount after his BG and before his insulin. His numbers are not coming down. He hates the ear prick, he hates the shot. I do everything I can to make them fun or interesting, but he also has so many food allergies that we're limited, plus he is not eating treats any more. He stopped. More fun, gone. The only real thing he likes these days is sitting outside on the grass. He's not even feeling well enough most of the time to purr, and that used to be one of his favorites.
I am trying desperately to get some help through this, and I'm getting some help with the diabetes through this message board. But my life is a mess now. 10 days of not getting anything done. I'm so tired. I need more help with my life. Sorry for the rant. Squeaky is feeling lousy yet again. We've been three years like this, not with diabetes, but with the IBD. We're so tired of this type of thing. I just wish he felt better.
I hear ya.
It's especially hard to try and see through all the numbers when your baby just isn't feeling well either...it took us about 3.5 months before I noticed my cat actually looked better and wasn't showing obvious symptoms anymore.
It'll get better, but it takes annoying amount of time.