9/14 Skippy AMPS 218 Dental 7 extractions

Status
Not open for further replies.

skippy and birten

Member Since 2009
Well hello LL, we made it today after our second attempt to the dentist. Skippy's first dental. AMPS was good for anesthesia and numbers for the past two weeks were where the specialist wanted them to be. Of course I was a wreck. Anyone living in NJ I highly recommend this doctor who only does dental work and was the best vet I have ever been to (and I am picky). He had 7 extractions 4 which were severe and 3 which she said were poor and should be pulled in the next 6 months if I do not clean his teeth. Being that he is 10 yrs old and never had his teeth cleaned by his bean I felt it was best to get all 7 done so we do not have to put him under with the hopes that the others will be fine down the road. At first was shocked at 7 but realizing that a cat has 33 teeth -7 did not look bad and considering they were not his eating teeth. He is now sleeping. I was instructed not to feed him until 8 pm EST.
Medications as follows:
8pm pain med (Buprene) 1 syringe in the mouth every 6-8 hours, wait 15-20 minutes, then food (got baby food and A/D) followed by insulin and followed by antibotic (antirobe aquadrops liguid) ones in the morning and and in the evening. If he eats tonight full dose of insulin and if he eats a little half a dose of insuline

Tomorrow start FortiFlora mixed in the food but given 2 hours apart from the antibotic.
Continue all this for 2 weeks and then go back for checkup in 3 weeks.
Currently his BG is +10 is 265
In the end mama bean spilled an entire tray of food on her lap at Manhattan Bagel, picked all her nail polish off 10 fingures and squirted soap on her shirt at the vets. Need a drink please now :razz: In the end excellent vet and a great 4-legged patient who I love so much!
 
Know what you are going through--Moonie had 9 extractions in 2 yrs & my 14 yr old civvie is having dental Monday & just started ab's today
Moonie really bounced back after her 5 extractions 2 yrs ago, second time she had bupe for few days--
I Know He will be much better in a few days--Know what you are feeling!! HUGS to you both!
 
((((Birten and Skippy)))) what a day! I bet Skippy will feel much better with his toofies all taken care of.

I would be inclined to shoot 1/2 dose of insulin tonight even if he eats fine. We've seen cats drop after anesthesia even well into the night. Better safe than sorry. It would be hard to be stuck with dropping numbers if he doesn't want gravy and you don't want to mess with his mouth to syringe it in. If he is lower at +12 than +10, definitely be careful.
 
He is so hungry and it is 2.5 hrs away from feeding him according to the vets instructions. Can I not give him a small amount or should he just wait it out? Yes I am inclined to go with 1/2 dose considering all the drugs are with syringe and I am already nervous to open his mouth and squirt...
 
What a day you had! I'm glad Skippy is doing ok and I like the fact that he's hungry. Good boy! I hope he can be a little more patient and will wait a bit for his dinner. It sounds like a good sign to me that he is interested in eating even after 7 extractions.

My civvie's first simple dental with no extractions was a couple of weeks ago and she didn't want to eat for 5 days. I had to force feed her. So to me Skippy sounds like he's in better shape.

Best of luck with the medications. And don't forget to get a new manicure. :lol:
 
+12 is 291
I gave in and feed him a teaspoon one hour earlier than instructed. Did the buprenex first with syringe in mouth. It was difficult a couple drops got swished around but I think most got in. Waiting to feed him in small amounts. Gave him some A/D Hills brand very soupy food but good for the mouth. Will wait a bit before I give his insulin.
 
How about calling the vet and see if you can give the bupe by injection? It's a subcutaneous injection just like insulin and I think your U100 syringes may be fine to use. The less you have to mess with Skippy's mouth, the better. Also, just watch to make sure Skippy doesn't become agitated with the bupe -- it can have the opposite effect (i.e., more agitation and less sedation) with some cats. If he's restless and pacing (vs. sleepy) you may want to contact the vet.
 
Gabby I asked for the injection and she said no. He is very sleepy so I think so far it is working but I will keep it in my mind if he feels agitated. Thanks for the heads up. Now I have to give him 1.5 of the antibiotic in the mouth. Luvely :?
 
The hardest part of the dental in my opinion is administering oral meds for several days afterwards. Not sure what they're thinking there.

Glad Skippy is recovering well. Sounds like you had the worse end of things. : )
 
You got that one righ Nina~the logic for oral meds when you have extractions.....some went outside but I am sure I got the most in. I will be a pro by the end. He is sleeping right now and I gave him 1.25 of insulin rather than his usual 2.5. I think he is on the right track :-D
 
i bet you're glad skippy's dental is over. hope he heals quickly!
like libby mentioned, the anesthesia can cause his numbers to drop tonight. keep an eye on him...
 
((((Birten)))) (((Skippy)))

What a day!

When all of Tizon's teeth came out earlier this year.... :cry: I was given codeine to rub on his ears.... if you can't have that, I also think the injectable Bupe would be better.

Also... if I learned anything from the dental is that any food is good and rules are out the window. Tizon couldn' resist black forest shaved ham (that I was serving at 2AM), and the shaved deli turkey i was serving the next day.

Sending feel better soon vines!
 
Glad dental day is over!

My regular vet has me give the bup as an injection but the dental specialist wanted it given by mouth after Talbot's dental. Interesting how the vets differ. I know you just have to get it on the gums as that is how it's absorbed.

Give Skippy a hug from us. :-D
 
I am so sorry I missed your condo today! I know you have the best of attention here -- and a great dental vet -- so I'll just add hugs. I know you're glad it's over.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top