9/14 KT AMBG 95 +14-118 SHOT +1.5-113 +3-135 +6-280 WHAT?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squeaky and KT (GA)

Member Since 2011
Good Morning LLand! Yesterday's climb and dive

KT'S AMbf (PS) = 95!!!! I did it twice to assure it wasn't a bad strip - got 104 the second time!!! I'm NOT shooting that low of a number but this is sure gonna screw up my schedule terribly.

Where do I go here? I'll test again now. What should I see before I shoot?
 
Re: 9/14 KT AMPS 95!!!! NOT SHOOTIN' A 95! HELP PLEASE

Hang in there- I can't give dosing advice but I'm sure someone will be along soon! Breathe...
 
Re: 9/14 KT AMPS 95!!!! NOT SHOOTIN' A 95! HELP PLEASE

Hi .....exciting number isn't it?!!!!

You would want to see a rising number before you shoot.....and you don't want to feed kitty, becuase that would falsely elevate the number.

Have you read the stickey Shooting Low?
 
Re: 9/14 KT AMPS 95!!!! NOT SHOOTIN' A 95! HELP PLEASE

Here is some more info from the sticky....

The short answer is that most kitties can be shot at +12, almost regardless of the number, once you are data ready to do so. The exception is that shooting 30s or 40s is not recommended for most cats, so if the cat is less than 50 then usually the best option is to wait until they are above 50 to shoot. While you’re waiting, the shed is draining, so you want to get the insulin in as soon as it makes sense to shoot.

If it is your first time shooting green, then we will likely suggest that you stall the first time, even if the number is 80-100. That will let you collect data on what your cat will do when you stall. One thing you can do if you are having a low cycle is to get a +10 and +11. Those will give you a good idea of how quickly the cat’s numbers are rising (or not) when preshot time arrives.

and

Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.

Perhaps the most important guideline in shooting low is that any time you shoot your lowest ever number, you should get a +1 and +2 to give you an idea of how the cycle will go. If the +1 is not higher than PS, or if +2 is much lower than PS, that means “pay attention” over the next few hours. Those tests will also help you become even more data ready for the next time you are presented with a low preshot reading.

Using the overlap by shooting low is a great way to take advantage of Lantus/Levemir’s long, flat cycles, once you have learned to do so safely

It is scary to see such a low number (however that is a great number to see !) I was so scared the first time I shot a green number....but then Zoe didn't do much...she just hung out in the greens all day, which id=s beautiful to see. "Shoot Low to Stay Low"

It comes down, to YOU have to be comfortable with whatever decision you make....OK?

:YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/14 KT AMPS 95!!!! NOT SHOOTIN' A 95! HELP PLEASE

+12 - 95
+13 - 108

Thanks Sherry! I've read it several times but I never thought it would apply to US this quickly! Those low numbers are actually scary!!! I'm really afraid to shoot this number with a full dose.
 
Re: 9/14 KT AMPS 95!!!! NOT SHOOTIN' A 95! HELP PLEASE

how long ago was the 95? Keep testing every 15 to 10 minutes and look for 2 rising numbers. You know then the old insulin is wearing off and /KT is ready for his next dose.
 
Re: 9/14 KT AMBG 95!!!! NOT SHOOTIN' 95! +13=108 HELP

I agree with Ann & Tess.....get another test in 15 minutes, if rising then you would be good to shoot. Are you home during the day, to monitor and check KT?

Remember...these are the numbers you want to see! You are doing great!!
 
Re: 9/14 KT AMBG 95!!!! NOT SHOOTIN' 95! +13=108 HELP

Just saw your last post. How critical is your timing? Work? We usually stall or BCS, not a combo. Since you have stalled an hour already, it will act as a reduction. Test again w/ less time in between and shoot if you see a rising number. Your next shot needs to be 12 hours after you shoot now.
 
Re: 9/14 KT AMBG 95!!!! NOT SHOOTIN' 95! +13=108 HELP

:oops: Ooops. in my first post it should have been "every 15 to 20 minutes", typo, No ~O) ~O) ~O) yet.
 
Re: 9/14 KT AMBG 95!!!! NOT SHOOTIN' 95! +13=108 HELP

+13.5 = 103 NOT rising...still not shooting.

I'll be here all day to watch him - I'm here basically 24/7 as have hubby with illness that requires constant care to stay alive. My body requires 9 hours of sleep to work correctly or I lose weight which I can't afford to do. I don't do well at anything after 10:30pm and before 7am. Since I'm primary caregiver for hubby, KT, Snow with asthma, Chloe's IBS and the other upteen fur persons around here, I must keep myself healthy.
 
Re: 9/14 KT AMBG 95! NOT SHOOTIN' 95! +13-108 +13.5-103 HE

Get another test at +13.75 or +14, that would be 2 hours after normal shot time and we try to avoid shooting later than that. if still no rise you may wish to skip the shop. Then shoot at your regular time tonight.
 
Re: 9/14 KT AMBG 95! NOT SHOOTIN' 95! +13-108 +13.5-103 HE

I agree with Ann....today might just need to be a skipped shot......you don't want to stall more than 2 hours as that will really throw off your schedule. Get one more test and then decide.
 
Re: 9/14 KT AMBG 95! NOT SHOOTIN' 95! +13-108 +13.5-103 HE

@+14, we're up to 118 so he's on the rise...I went ahead and shot his current dose. I'll watch him closer today but I'm running low on strips and have to use them very judiciously. I'm awaiting an order to arrive.

sorta wished I'd just skipped it instead.............
 
Re: 9/14 KT AMBG 95! +13-108 +13.5-103 +14-118 SHOT

:YMHUG: It always seems that these things happen when we are low on strips. We do what we can and it always works out. You certainly have a lot on your plate.

KT got his shot 2 hours late today. To get him back on schedule you can move the time back 15 minutes per cycle or half an hour per day. so tonight you can shoot 15 minutes less than the 12 hours and do that for the next several days.

You are doing great!
 
Re: 9/14 KT AMBG 95! +13-108 +13.5-103 +14-118 SHOT

You did great!!!! :YMHUG: The first time that happened with Smokey I skipped the shot, then reduced for a day because I was so freaked out. I had to pull out the big girl pants for sure that day! Good job!
 
Re: 9/14 KT AMBG 95! +13-108 +13.5-103 +14-118 SHOT

Ann & Tess said:
:YMHUG: It always seems that these things happen when we are low on strips. We do what we can and it always works out. You certainly have a lot on your plate.

KT got his shot 2 hours late today. To get him back on schedule you can move the time back 15 minutes per cycle or half an hour per day. so tonight you can shoot 15 minutes less than the 12 hours and do that for the next several days.

You are doing great!

So, if I understand this correctly, tonight, at 9:45pm, I give regular dose. Tomorrow AM, I give it at 9:30, tomorrow pm, give it at 9:15, etc until I get back to my 8:30am time?
 
Re: 9/14 KT AMBG 95! +14-118 SHOT +1.5-113

This is SCARY! I was wondering how I'd handle it when we got near normal - I'm a total WRECK! His poor ears....he threw up a few minutes ago but I think he's working on a hairball. He HATES any hairball meds. I fed him FFeast ckn/beef again so he'd have something in his stomach. He hasn't eaten as much today as he usually does by this time. He's acting OK..... nailbite_smile
 
Re: 9/14 KT AMBG 95! +14-118 SHOT +1.5-113

It's scary the first cpl times, but you handled it like a champ, and soon you'll be relaxed and groovy right through it. :-D

Nice shooting!

and totally understandable on the keeping YOU healthy...
the caregiver's got to be in good shape, and you have a LOT on your plate!

celi
 
Re: 9/14 KT AMBG 95! +14-118 SHOT +1.5-113

Nice shooting! It is scary and then you realize it isn't......you are doing great handling everything you have on your plate. Take care of yourself, so you can take care of everyone else.
 
Re: 9/14 KT AMBG 95 +14-118 SHOT +1.5-113 +3-135 +6-280 WHA

Bounce.
KTs liver is not accustomed to the lower numbers he recently visited. The liver sees danger in the lower numbers and releases glucagen to make sure kiity is safe. Unfortunately that causes a temporary rise in BGs. It will pass.

BTW, was that +3 35 or 135 ???? :?
 
Re: 9/14 KT AMBG 95 +14-118 SHOT +1.5-113 +3-135 +6-280 WHA

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Bounce.
KTs liver is not accustomed to the lower numbers he recently visited. The liver sees danger in the lower numbers and releases glucagen to make sure kiity is safe. Unfortunately that causes a temporary rise in BGs. It will pass.

BTW, was that +3 35 or 135 ???? :?


:oops: 135 - I'd be a basket case if it was 35.

+8.5 was 324
 
Re: 9/14 KT AMBG 95 +14-118 SHOT +1.5-113 +3-135 +6-280 WHA

Whew! I'm glad it was a typo.



It may take a few cycles for KT to get settled back in the groove.
 
Re: 9/14 KT AMBG 95 +14-118 SHOT +1.5-113 +3-135 +6-280 WHA

You would not be a basket case, you will come right on here & ask what to do!
You are doing terrific & did great today--It is so hard in the beginning, but you do get used to it--
And the 280 was a bounce..We will help you, not to worry.
Remember, KT and all cats, pick up our feelings, if we are upset, so are they..So try to be calm, vent to us!
As far as the hairballs, a woman with 30 cats told me to give mine few drops of olive oil in their food(like 3 drops)..
I did & they rarely had hairballs!
Great job today! Hugs from us on your first freakout!! :lol: :lol: :lol: -You did good!
 
Re: 9/14 KT AMBG 95 +14-118 SHOT +1.5-113 +3-135 +6-280 WHA

Something important I just noticed - you need to indicate on your ss, preferably in the same cell as your PS, that you actually shot that at +14 this morning.
Check out BKs ss 04/21/2009 PM for an example of documenting stalls.

Can you get a +11 tonight?

That was some good shooting this morning BTW.
 
Re: 9/14 KT AMBG 95 +14-118 SHOT +1.5-113 +3-135 +6-280 WHA

THANK YOU ALL! This was a scary ride but I'm ready to do it again......in a little while.

+11 - 350
PMPS - 354

I shot 2.5u at 9:45pm. I won't be awake to do a pm+2

Clearing a bounce - So I shouldn't expect to have to freak out again tomorrow? WHEW! My strips will be here tomorrow afternoon - I've got 4 left. He'd BETTER not pull any funny stuff until then.
 
Re: 9/14 KT AMBG 95 +14-118 SHOT +1.5-113 +3-135 +6-280 WHA

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Something important I just noticed - you need to indicate on your ss, preferably in the same cell as your PS, that you actually shot that at +14 this morning.
Check out BKs ss 04/21/2009 PM for an example of documenting stalls.

Can you get a +11 tonight?

That was some good shooting this morning BTW.

Did you see the hover comments on his ss at the 10am shot?
 
Re: 9/14 KT AMBG 95 +14-118 SHOT +1.5-113 +3-135 +6-280 WHA

Nice hootin'!!! Pretty soon you'll be addicted to those green numbers, I shot Leo the other day when he was at 68....I didn't think too much about it, otherwise I woulda chickened out and in the end he surfed nice greens all cycle.
 
Re: 9/14 KT AMBG 95 +14-118 SHOT +1.5-113 +3-135 +6-280 WHA

Great job today Lyresa!!! It is so scary to shoot low the first time. I remember when we started out and I saw people shooting below 150, I thought "I'll never be able to do that!!". But I did and lower...and you will, too.

Sorry about the bounce....he'll get used to it eventually!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top