9/14 Klinger AMPS 432; PMPS 268

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marcy & Klinger (GA)

Very Active Member
So his PMPS last night were 439 and his AMPS are 432 today. That's better right - when the number from PMPS and AMPS are closer to each other??
At work, no spot checks today. Hopefully one before bed tonight.
Hope everyone has a great day!
 
Re: 9/14 Klinger AMPS 432

yes nice if they are even...but nicer if we can get them way lower than that..gonna look at SS and see if you maybe want to increase dose
 
Re: 9/14 Klinger AMPS 432

i know we agreed on this dose for a while....but i'm thinking of upping it already....anyone eles want to chime in.
 
PMPS 268; ate tested again 379. Too many carbs in the ff or is that ok?
Trying out a topical anti itch for his scratched allergy area tonight. Hopefully that helps him stop scratching and give his neck a chance to heal.
 
are you getting the fancy feast with 10 or less carbs? have you seen janet and binky's food chart?
that allergy and itch could be a factor in raised bg's.
so i guess that 3u was fine for tonight right?
 
Yes, I have been on the food charts. I think this weekend I'll try him on Wellness or Blue Mountain? I just picked up Vitakitty for snacks. He LOVES them.
We even tried raw food a few years ago and he didn't want anything to do with that stuff. He looked at us as if we were nuts. :lol:
 
I switched Harley to Wellness Chicken or Turkey, 4% carbs and it has helped.

Actually last week when he threw me that +3 41 I fed him Friskies 8% and it brought him up. That's the kind of difference it makes.
 
Unless you are seeing a perfect nadir, which would change the overall picture, I think you want the PSs to come down some with each shot. If you get PSs like 150 or 180, then you want it steady. Sometimes it seems like they need one dose to bring their #s down, and then a smaller dose to kind-of maintain them steady.

The regular non-core Wellness grain-free chicken, and the grain-free turkey (separate cans) are both 4%. The ones with seafood mixed in are slightly higher carb, maybe 6% though I don't recall exactly since I don't feed those. Don't know anything about the Core ones...
 
I counted around 20 recent doses of 3 units, with an awful lot of red, which can't feel good. IMO she's given it a fair test, and its time to bump. IMO the nadir is the most important number, and they aren't even close to pretty, almost all red and even black.

I hope you can test for ketones soon. Its ok to test a fresh puddle in the LB if you cant catch him while he's going.

Also, I know you are used to seeing red, and yellow is scary, but when you saw the 268, you should not have fed and waited if that was +12, you should go ahead and shoot, anything over 200. We need to catch some momentum. On Prozinc you can be pretty certain that he will continue to rise after +8 through +2 of the next dose.

and remember, you have the power- to feed HC food anytime he ever gets below about 70

And I don't see a bounce, I just see what looks like not enough insulin. I'll look again, but I don't think he ever went low enough to cause a bounce, even for a cat used to high numbers.

Whats the allergy? could it be to gluten? or fleas? Is he an outside kitty? fall pollen already?

In general, the FF flavors with gravy are higher carbs and the pates are better.
 
He has seasonal allergies. He used to get a steriod shot for them..which probably threw him over the edge into the land of diabetes. Right now allergy season is bad especially with the fires we've been having and the cutting of the corn. That looks really weird. LOL. We're in Colorado. ;-)
He's pretty much an indoor kitty. We let him out in the small fenced in patio "yard" we have, but he can't get out in the big world.
I've been checking for fleas, but haven't seen any yet.
I've been feeding him the FF Classics - no gravy, just pate. I've also cut out the fish.
Thanks, Joanna for the food info.
I have the old (new) needles from when I was on Lantus, which I believe are the u100's. I have to dig them out of the closet. So, what's the new dose recommendation?
 
Oh and the 268 was the PMPS. I fed him and tested him again just to see how much the food was raising his BG and gave him the 3units. Just curious to see what the rise was like.
 
Yes you would have used u100 needles with Lantus. They should have an orange cap I think.

Have you seen the conversion chart to use u100 syringes with U40 insulin (Prozinc)? Put in a search in the little box above. I cant really advise on that because I haven't done it, but many u40 users do for greater accuracy.

Another look at his ss and I just have to ask if he's been checked out for any other illnesses, need for a dental, etc ... his ss is pretty unpredictable. I think you said he's a picky eater... or at least not a huge eater, does he throw up a lot? How's he acting?

As for a new dose, what's your work schedule? can you get any midcycle data? I don't like to say anything about specific dose because my reality is so different, so I'll defer to others that have been helping you.
 
I would raise in 0.5u increments until you see much better #s.

I think there is a link to the syringe conversion chart up in the PZI sticky.

Thanks for chiming in Nancy, it's great to have your input!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top