9/14 Hershey PMPS(296)+7.25(121)Bringing Jessica up to speed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Member Since 2012
9/13 Hershey

I couldn't sleep, so got up to read so my tossing and turning didn't keep Doug awake. Let's just say this was NOT the # I was hoping for...I'm in such denial that I think I'll retest right after he eats...hoping it was a wonky number...

AMPS (453) +12 - Shot .65u at 3:00am - 1/16th tsp Miralax
+5.25 (291) - fed
+7 (270)
+9.5 (341) - Hoping a little stress inflated. Jessica's 1st time testing and we had trouble getting Hershey to bleed.

PMPS (296) +12 - Shot .65u at 3:00pm - 1/16th tsp Miralax
+5 (196) - fed
+7.25 (121)
 
Re: 9/14 Hershey AMPS(453) :O

(((Libby, Doug and Hershey, too)))

Sorry about that AMPS!! COme on down, Hershey - be sweet and earn that delicious name of yours by throwing some sweet numbers at your beans!!

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/14 Hershey AMPS(453) :O

Hey, Jane - Nice to see you; I hope all is well at your house! Thanks for the hug, too! I just don't understand it...


Retest (420) - so it wasn't just a wonky reading... :YMSIGH:

I'd appreciate y'all helping me think through this.

- He was rising at +7.5, but still just (223) so that's a pretty steep increase. I don't really think he dipped really low and then bounced up to the (453).

- I don't think it'd be a bounce from the green 9/12, do you?

- Could he have found a goody on the floor? We had tacos for supper. Cinn/sugar corn tortilla chips with fruit salsa (strawberries, blueberries, applesauce and I think I saw him put a little sugar in). The tacos had meat, refried beans, cucumbers, green peppers, colby jack cheese, lettuce, jalapenos and hot salsa. I KNOW there was no salsa on the floor because it would've stained the floor. Would any of those other things raised his BG like that??

- How do we tell if the pen is petering out? I've heard some of y'all say you use it to the end and some of y'all have questioned it after a certain number of days. This is our first pen and we've been on Levemir 3 months.

THANKS for visiting us today and for helping us think through this. If he was going to sky-rocket like this, I wish he had waited until Saturday when I have to leave him at +3...but, he doesn't bother coordinating with my calendar...

Hoping I can put this on the back burner and get a few hours of sleep...
 
Re: 9/14 Hershey AMPS(453) :O Please think with me...

Could be a bounce from last night's 125, maybe?

Come on, Hershey...red really isn't a good color on you!
 
Re: 9/14 Hershey AMPS(453) :O Please think with me...

Ouch! I'm hoping that he comes down from that high #. Maybe he got into some kibble somewhere...? Or something? I hope that you have a good day despite that, and definitely hoping for those pretty yellow, and blue (more blue please, Hershey!) #s for you, too.
 
Re: 9/14 Hershey AMPS(453) :O Please think with me...

Oh, Hershey honey, you're supposed to be sweet, not your BG. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 9/14 Hershey AMPS(453) :O Please think with me...

((Libby))

There are just days when I think Gabby's pancreas gets tired.

Contraband is always a possibility. These carb addicts can be sneaky. Hershey could have read Libby's (Libby/Lucy that is) comments yesterday and decided to emulate Lucy. It could be a bounce. It could also be that your pen is petering out. Of course, the numbers could also be the result of Hershey being a cat and he didn't want you to become complacent. You know, they hate being predictable.
 
Re: 9/14 Hershey AMPS(453) :O Please think with me...

Hi guys .. bummer on this amps! That isn't anything we want to wake up to .. I don't know what could have caused that spike but I have my fingers crossed hershey comes back down for you .. You just have to hang in there, I know it's tough and frustrating but you guys really are doing awesome things for hershey :YMHUG: have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: 9/14 Hershey AMPS(453) :O Please think with me...

Ouch on the 453. Sometimes I think that their inner parts just get tired, need a rest. Mannie will do this from time to time - have these horrid numbers for no apparent reason. One then goes through the check list: food? fur shot? bounce? fast drop and rise? old toasty insulin? it could be anything.... more than likely it's just Hershey being a cat. They do have "those days".... Hang in there. Hershey has been doing so well - lots of great cycles, greens, blues, very nice things. He'll get back on track, and he has a great bean to help him.

Enjoy your day today - I hope it is a good one.
 
Re: 9/14 Hershey AMPS(453) :O Please think with me...

Awww Libby, dont let a number bring you down. Look at Hershey, is he acting his usual self? All the P's there? Dont worry.
 
Re: 9/14 Hershey AMPS(453) :O Please think with me...

Helen’s right Libby, whole cat report is important. This too shall pass, but I know it’s a big slap when you are doin’ so well. Chin up, better numbers ahead!
 
Re: 9/14 Hershey AMPS(453) :O Please think with me...

Hi Libby,
If it was contraband, it will go away fairly quickly. If it was your pen, it'll repeat, right? If if was just random wonkiness, then it is just a number you'll see on the SS a couple weeks from now and think"'what the heck was that all about?"
What happens next should tell you something. They only do this stuff at 3am because they can. I'm thinking cats have a pretty warped sense of humor.

Hugs,
Carl
 
Re: 9/14 Hershey AMPS(453) +5.25(291) +7(270) +9.5(341)

Hey, Amy - Could be a bounce from the (125), you never know when he's going to decide to bounce. Hope all is well with Ruby and Midgie!

Hey, Angela - I know he didn't get into any kibble. There is only a little in the house and it stays hidden in a Tupperware container as a just in case for Oreo. Since his diagnosis, I'm pretty obsessive (Ask Doug ;-) ) about cleaning up even bread crumbs on the table. I know there weren't crumbs on the floor before supper, that's why I was trying to figure if any of that would've raised him. Who knows?

Hey, Teresa - Yeah, hope he decides red is NOT his color!

Hey, Sienne - Thanks for the much-needed hug. All of the options make sense...especially the
Sienne and Gabby said:
Hershey being a cat and he didn't want you to become complacent. You know, they hate being predictable.

Hey, Devon - Thanks. Hershey did come down to yellow, but seems to have gone back up...looking forward to a new cycle in an hour. Sometimes I feel like I'm wishing my life away, looking forward to the next cycle...Thanks for the hug - much appreciated!

Hey, Michelle - Thanks for the encouragement. Now I'm hoping he doesn't plan some big swan dive the next two AMPS's since I'll be gone for most of them. Guess I just can't be pleased ;-)

Hey, Helen - Yes, he seems to feel fine. You're right, I shouldn't worry when it's one cycle and he doesn't act like anything is wrong. Thanks for the reassurance!

Hey, Donna - From your mouth to Hershey's innards! :lol: Hope they were listening and will show better numbers in just under an hour!

Hey, Carl - You're right, the next cycle should tell is it was a passing something or if the pen's going. After looking at the SS again, I'm not inclined to think it's the pen because PM cycle he came down to (125). Not as low as I'd like to see, of course, but it doesn't seem that a pen going bad would produce a lower blue.
Carl & Bob said:
I'm thinking cats have a pretty warped sense of humor.
Have to agree with you there! Thanks for the hug, too!



+5.25 (291) - fed
+7 (270)
+9.5 (341) - Hoping a little stress inflated. Jessica's 1st time testing and we had trouble getting Hershey to bleed.
 
Re: 9/14 Hershey AMPS(453) +5.25(291) +7(270) +9.5(341)

Hi Libby,

It's upsetting to get a high number like that but you have to keep in mind also that you have Hershey on a very low dose! That makes up for a lot and leaves all kinds of room to increase dose if you need to. Getting blues and greens on such a low dose is great! He feels well and get good numbers a lot so he i making progress.

Have a good day with better numbers.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 9/14 Hershey PMPS(296) Bringing Jessica up to speed

Hey, Melanie - Thanks for visiting us and for the reassurance. You're right, he is on a low dose; I don't always think about that. In fact, my vet she usually starts on 2u. I don't even want to THINK about what would've happened! :o


**Jessica tested for the first time and it went pretty well. Hershey didn't bleed well, so we had to poke several times, which is why I thought his BG might have been stress-inflated. At shot time, I talked Jessica through what I was doing and why. I showed her how to use the magnifier and calipers and how to shoot. (She did practice tenting Hershey.) At this point, she asked, "You're not going to make me DO this, are you?" You never know when we may need help with the baby due in 12 days or when I may get sick or whatever. At this point, she said she could never do all of this. I tried to make her understand that it's just part of taking care of the cat. You fall into a routine and get used to it. I know that's hard, a lot of responsibility for an 18-year old to understand. I'll keep working with her. :-D


PMPS (296) +12 - Shot .65u at 3:00pm - 1/16th tsp Miralax - Glad to see he's back to yellow...high yellow, but yellow nonetheless!


***Back to helping Jessica get ready for tomorrow...will try to visit later :-D
 
Re: 9/14 Hershey PMPS(296) Bringing Jessica up to speed

I actually wonder if it was a bounce from the 49. Sometimes it seems they start to clear the bounce (like he did), and then numbers go up more...almost like they just decided they weren't quite done bouncing. And I also think Sienne and Michelle had a good point that sometimes they need a rest. It is true that sometimes those new little fragile beta cells they might be making get too stressed and don't function.

I know it's hard, Libby, but sometimes we just don't have the answer. I wish I had an a dime for every time I couldn't figure out where a crazy number came from. Somehow, we just have to breathe, look at it as a blip and one cycle, and go on. Of course, if it continues, I would change pens.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/14 Hershey PMPS(296) Bringing Jessica up to speed

Hey Libby - WOW - 12 days to go!

Glad you're training Jessica! Great to have a third person in the household to help with it all. She'll catch on... I remember it wasn't too much fun when my little turnip and I first learned the dance. Good job Jessica!!!

Wishing lots of good luck for both her AND the little one!
 
Re: 9/14 Hershey PMPS(296) Bringing Jessica up to speed

Jessica,
Welcome to the Vampire Club! Great job!!! Honey, you could do this if you had to. It's stressful and overwhelming for everyone the first few times.
This is just for you:


Carl
 

Attachments

  • DSC_3523 modified.jpg
    DSC_3523 modified.jpg
    136.3 KB · Views: 474
Re: 9/14 Hershey PMPS(296) Bringing Jessica up to speed

Hi Libby:)

I know you were bummed about Hershey's numbers today but perhaps he didn't want to scare Jessica while she was learning how to test?! :-D I bet he'll come back down in no time and by then Jessica will be ready to tackle anything that comes her way. Sending Hershey some greenios to eat for brekky!
 
Re: 9/14 Hershey PMPS(296)+7.25(121)Bringing Jessica up to s

Hey, Marje - Could still be a bounce from the (49). Y'all made a good point about their bodies needing a rest, hadn't thought about that. Thanks for the reassurance...and the hugs! :-D

Hey, Lu - Yepperz, 12 days, but the doctor said she could go any time. I talked to her tonight and she said she doesn't expect to deliver this weekend, but things can change QUICKLY! I do hope she waits until at least Sunday, because I don't have a back-up person in place to help Jessica tomorrow. Yes, I have confidence that Jessica will catch on. I'm not planning to depend on her on a regular basis (She has a full plate with 15 hours and working 15 hours a week, plus child care.) but I would feel better knowing I had her as a back-up! She appreciated the encouragement! :-D

Well, Carl - You made Jessica's night! She awwwwwwwed and awwwwwwwed!! Perfect timing as she is currently working on a 1-page paper and a 6-page paper, both due tomorrow, plus trying to get all of her ducks in a row for her jewelry booth tomorrow. :shock: She appreciated your kind words :-D :-D

Hey, Tamara - Maybe. Hershey is sweet that way. Whoever knows what's going on in his mind or body?! Thanks for the greenios!


+5 (196) - fed
+7.25 (121)

I wouldn't have minded seeing green today, but was TICKLED to see the BLUE!!!!

Going to try to visit a little more and hit the bed earlier tonight. THANKS, again! Goodnight...
 
Re: 9/14 Hershey PMPS(296)+7.25(121)Bringing Jessica up to s

I'm coming to y'alls house for dinner!!!! :-D Liking the blues you are getting tonight!!! Keep up the good work, Hershey & Libby! Hope you get some sleep tonight.

Good night!!!
 
Re: 9/14 Hershey PMPS(296)+7.25(121)Bringing Jessica up to s

Hey, Deborah. Thanks, sure hope the Sandman visits earlier than he did last night! Yes, ma'am, those blues were a WELCOME sight!! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top