9/14 Diane AMPS: 75, PMPS: 48

Status
Not open for further replies.

Haley&Diane

Member Since 2015
Hi!

Well, I reduced Diane's dose down to .10 units on Thursday night. I thought I'd do a curve tomorrow since I'll be home most of the day, and thought more time for her levels to adjust to the new dose would be best.

Imagine my shock at seeing her PM pre-shot at 48 tonight! I did not give insulin yet....gave her food first since she's so low. Going to see how she is in about half an hour or so (she isn't due for her shot until then).

So, being at 48 should I reduce again so quickly? I imagine next would be just a drop....
 
Yikes!!!!!!

Did you re-test to check the strip? If not, can you do it before the food hits her system? We want to know whether or not that 48 is "real". If it's been more than 15-20mins, just do the later check you were already planning on.

If that 48 stands, I think I would skip tonight. As for dose, not sure I'd go to a drop just yet-- she looks like she's almost done with insulin, but you're still getting a lot of blue preshots. I'd stick with the 0.1 dose a little longer if it were me, but let's hear what others have to say!
 
Yikes!!!!!!

Did you re-test to check the strip? If not, can you do it before the food hits her system? We want to know whether or not that 48 is "real". If it's been more than 15-20mins, just do the later check you were already planning on.

If that 48 stands, I think I would skip tonight. As for dose, not sure I'd go to a drop just yet-- she looks like she's almost done with insulin, but you're still getting a lot of blue preshots. I'd stick with the 0.1 dose a little longer if it were me, but let's hear what others have to say!

I didn't have time to test quick enough before the food hit her. She ate half of the can and went up to 55 when I tested a few minutes ago (20 min. after the initial 48). I'll likely just skip tonight unless her levels are up in the 70's in the next half hour when her shot is typically due.

And that's my train of thought with the dose reduction...I'm afraid to reduce so quickly...I just reduced from .25 Thursday when she hit into the 40's. I think the curve tomorrow will be very telling about where she's at in this journey.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top