I don’t get why he responded at lower doses and not at the higher dose? I had to give him more Flovent lately for his asthma/allergies but everything I’ve read says that shouldn’t cause insulin resistance. Also, he has some gingivitis and plan on scheduling a dental soon - have been waiting for him to stabilize but also understand that gingivitis can exacerbate diabetes so I hope that is not going on. I think she said he is grade 2 periodontal disease.Come on, Biggie! Jackie, if he doesn't give you green today, you are good for an increase to 1U tomorrow.
Usually, a test at +2 can act like a crystal ball of what the rest of the cycle is going to look like.
Of course, some cats have an onset later in the cycle like +2.5 or +3. In that case, a test at +2.5 or +3 would be a better indicator than a +2.
- If the +2 is about the same as the PS, it's usually going to be a pretty normal cycle - gradually down to nadir and then gradually back up to the next PS.
- If the +2 is a higher than the PS, that usually means there's a bounce starting and it's usually OK to take a little bit of a break from testing.
- If the +2 is (a lot) lower than the PS, that's your early warning that it could be an "active" cycle and numbers might go a lot lower later in the cycle and it's important to try to get more tests.
Let's look at a few cycles in the last 3-4 days.
I think you want to get a +2 or +3 and if much lower, get a test later - say +4 or +5 and only if he is still lower then, do you want to get more tests then. If he is pink or high yellows (280s-290s) mid-cycle (+4 to +6), and has slowed down, then you needn't bother with more tests.
- This morning he was lower at +3, so it was a good idea to get another test. He was flat till +5.75, so it was okay to take a break till PMPS (a test at +10 was not needed)
- In the PM cycle of 9/12, he was higher at +2. That meant he was bouncing and it was okay to call it a night.
- In AM cycle of 9/11 he was pink and flat at +5. No more tests were needed till PMPS
A cat's insulin needs can and do change. Any kind of pain, inflammation, infection etc can also cause BGs to elevate. I've read that asthma attacks/episodes can raise BGs as well. I don't think he's seeing insulin resistance. He just needs more insulin for now.I don’t get why he responded at lower doses and not at the higher dose? I had to give him more Flovent lately for his asthma/allergies but everything I’ve read says that shouldn’t cause insulin resistance. Also, he has some gingivitis and plan on scheduling a dental soon - have been waiting for him to stabilize but also understand that gingivitis can exacerbate diabetes so I hope that is not going on. I think she said he is grade 2 periodontal disease.
That’s really interesting and may be what is going on. It does seem like his bg was higher after his episodes though it’s difficult to pin causation on that. Trying to weed out the environmental allergens here but will take some time. Getting rid of the dusty carpet very soon. I feel so bad for his poor allergies.A cat's insulin needs can and do change. Any kind of pain, inflammation, infection etc can also cause BGs to elevate. I've read that asthma attacks/episodes can raise BGs as well. I don't think he's seeing insulin resistance. He just needs more insulin for now.