9/14 Annie AMPS=270, +4=158, +9=153, PMPS=144, +2=151

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mrs.GusGus

Member Since 2014
Good Day All!

Tricia, no offense was taken! I know that my post from yesterday was very vague, I left out details and I had incorrectly converted that number. I certainly understand your concern, and can appreciate that you are only here to help, just like everyone else is! And I really am so thankful for that. And yes, I am certainly going to order one of those automatic feeders from Amazon. I understand how useful those are, especially for days like yesterday....

I will certainly make a profile for Annie that can be accessed from my signature. I will provide a little more information on her. Thanks for the tip, Shelley! I remember you saying that you are a teacher... and this is very obvious! lol. You always give the clearest, easy-to-follow instructions! (Could have used you a couple years ago in calculus)

But yes, Annie is a long-term diabetic, I am not certain as to when she was diagnosed... I would guess 2 years ago? And I am fairly certain that her diabetes have never been properly managed. She came into my care 6 months ago after being removed from very unfortunate circumstances, so I do not know too much about her history. I do have data on her since I got her in March 2014; however, the instructions I was following were far from what I've been doing since discovering FDMB. So the data consists of only pre-shot numbers and is pretty wonky & all over the place.

Overwhelming? Haha, yes...a bit. Glad that you can all relate to that! I guess I struggle most with predicting where she's going to go with those numbers for the day, and I guess that's where getting that +2 comes in handy. I've spoken with Wendy about gradually moving her injection time back so I can fit a +2 in each morning... it's now just a matter of training myself to wake-up an hour earlier...

Yes, Julie I have noticed there have been no pinks! That is a huge improvement because before I began the TR, it really was not unusual for me to see a value greater than 300 :sad: It is very frustrating to think of how poorly managed her diabetes has been over the last year... that's a lot of lost time.

So, my to do list:
-Automatic feeder from Amazon (just bought textbooks for the semester, so as soon as my credit card cools down)
-Methylcobalamin
-Attach Annie's profile to my signature with lots of cute photos
-Injections an hour earlier
-Ask more questions

Thanks ladies! Will be back this evening with her PM cycle

Yesterday's link: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=125268
 
Re: 9/14 Annie AMPS=270, +4=158, +9=153

that all sounds great! here is one recent discussion on timed feeders. it's not terribly complete, but it's got a little bit on it.

i added a google document link to my signature line for a profile document. you can put photos in there - take a look at punkin's profile in my signature if you want an idea.

we all realize that new members don't always even know what to ask, so don't be surprised if people just tell you things, based upon what they see. it's how all of us learned.
 
Hi Julie:

Looks like Annie had a nice, consistent day today.

Wow! I had no idea about her history. You are a very special person indeed to take her on, with her situation and your busy life. I have nothing but respect for you! Thanks for taking my comments in the spirit in which they were meant. I get pretty upset when I see an animal in danger, and sometimes it overrides my common sense. (okay, more than sometimes :oops: )

If Annie will use the timed feeder, I do think you will find it a godsend. It didn't take Cinco long to recognize that sound when it turned and know it meant food! Even now that he is blind, he still thinks it's the best thing ever! Right now he's in an e-collar, so he can't manage to get to the food in it, but as soon as he's out we'll be using it again.

Don't worry too much about predicting where Annie's numbers will go. As soon as you think you have her figured out, she'll change it up! If you think of it more as a clue, and use your best guess, that will be as good as most of us do!

B-12 ( helped Cinco's neuropathy tremendously. I buy Zobaline online and crush it in his food every morning. He doesn't notice it at all. He went from walking on his hocks to walking normally in just a few months.

Keep asking questions - that's how we learn. There is no such thing as a dumb question, except for the one you don't ask! ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top