9/13 Shadow PMPS 85 +2~53 +2.5~49 +3~65 +3.5~66 +4~76 +5~80

Status
Not open for further replies.

rhiannon and shadow (GA)

Member Since 2012
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=78952&p=853296#p853296

Yesterday
AMPS 88
+3 87
+4.25 87
+8.5 82
PMPS 90
+2 73
+4 80
+5 80
AMPS 103

Last night Shadow really got upset and screamed and hissed and fought and I had to get DH to hold her down. She was very upset
and I had to shoot her in the scruff of the neck which is why I think I have a 103 Blue number today instead of the usual.

This morning he had to hold her again but I did manage to get it on the flank.
We had rain all day yesterday and a lot in the night too. Nice cool temperatures, just right for a quilt.

I have to work again for 3-4 hrs but it's always flexible.

Hope everyone has a good day today.
 
Re: 9/13 Shadow AMPS 103

Good morning, Rhiannon -

Sorry Shadow was so feisty at shot time last night. I know that AMPS is higher than you'd like to see, but it's a NICE number, especially considering what you went through to shoot!

I hope she comes down a little for you and that y'all have a great day -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Re: 9/13 Shadow AMPS 103 +2.5~88 +4.5~80 +8~83

Hi Rhiannon,
Sorry Shadow was upset last night :cry: What got her so upset?
Hope she can move past this quickly for you. Her numbers do look great!
A good day and evening to you guys also!
 
Re: 9/13 Shadow AMPS 103 +2.5~88 +4.5~80 +8~83

I’ll say, well I hope she listened to you then! OTJ Shadow, quickly!!! :lol:
 
Re: 9/13 Shadow AMPS 103 +2.5~88 +4.5~80 +8~83

Poor kitty! I hope she starts feeling a little better about getting the shots after her stress today!
 
Re: 9/13 Shadow AMPS 103 +2.5~88 +4.5~80 +8~83

Oh gosh, Rhiannon, Shadow had a lovely day, but I hope she soon accepts the shots. Does she do that to testing too?
Did you say a couple days ago, that she wasn't always like this?
How awful for you and DH

Barb
 
Re: 9/13 Shadow AMPS 103 +2.5~88 +4.5~80 +8~83

Ohhh, I'm sorry you had to go through that with her. She has a surfing buddy today, though. Max is gliding right through the day.
 
Re: 9/13 Shadow AMPS 103 +2.5~88 +4.5~80 +8~83

Hope Shadow stops fighting you so much on the shots. She still had a nice day even with the blue AMPS.
 
Re: 9/13 Shadow AMPS 103 +2.5~88 +4.5~80 +8~83 PMPS 85

She did it again tonite's shot.

Screaming, loudly, twisting and fighting to get away.
You'd think we were trying to kill her. She's moving so much I can't target a spot and he can't hold her without hurting her.
I had to do a scruff shot again so I expect a little higher number tomorrow morning.
Wasn't sure I did well enough or if it could be a furshot. I may have even hurt her a little , the tent might not have tented.
I hope it's not a furshot.
We were doing so well.
 
Re: 9/13 Shadow AMPS 103 +2.5~88 +4.5~80 +8~83 PMPS 85

Have you tried the clothes pin trick..... or a spring loaded clip?
Kinda like mamma cat picking kitty up by the neck, kitty usually freezes and doesn't move.
It works on Tucker! Place the clip on a handfull of skin on the back of the neck. Worth a try....
 
Re: 9/13 Shadow AMPS 103 +2.5~88 +4.5~80 +8~83 PMPS 85

I did try that. Either it hurt from the pinches or she just didn't like it, wasn't sure which one.
She's fairly sensitive to touch because most of the time if you try to stroke her, she will lash back.
I can stroke her spine occasionally but not a lot. She basically only wants her chin and ears , cheeks scritched and I hold her paws a lot.
It's almost like
Feline Hyperesthesia but she doesn't have the rippling skin.
I was just re-reading it's description and it mentions anxiety, she definitely has a low stress threshold and I've wondered about thyroid
problems. One of our vets always says she's a large cat ( which I don't think she is) and looks like she has that problem that Pres.
Lincoln had where facial features get bigger over time. She does have a bit of an oversized chin.

And when we were evaculated last year, I had to lay in the bed ( fortunately I had the laptop) with my knees up and let her lay
on my feet under the sheets/blanket to help her cope for that week. She's always liked to lay on my feet under the blanket.

I guess I'll have to ask the vet, it's time for a well check so maybe in the next week or two.
Meanwhile, I think I'm going to have to give her the scolding , bad cat, and dominate.
 
Re: 9/13 Shadow AMPS 103 +2.5~88 +4.5~80 +8~83 PMPS 85

Hi Rhiannon, I was reading how unhappy Shadow is with the shot. I know you probably give her a treat afterwards. That seemed to help Maggie in the beginning days. Whatever special treat Shadow likes, does that help after the shot? She sure does have a beautiful cycle today; Maggie is envious! :-D
 
Re: 9/13 Shadow AMPS 103 +2.5~88 +4.5~80 +8~83 PMPS 85

Nice greens despite the stress! I read here on LL that our kitties can sense when we are anxious and I know at the beginning I must have made poor Zener stressed with my stress. Paws crossed Shadow keeps make making such good progress and there is OTJ in your future! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/13 Shadow AMPS 103 +2.5~88 +4.5~80 +8~83 PMPS 85

One of our vets always says she's a large cat ( which I don't think she is) and looks like she has that problem that Pres. Lincoln had where facial features get bigger over time. She does have a bit of an oversized chin.
Rhiannon, You think Shadow has acromegaly? There is a group on here with kitties who have it. Check it out...
Also - http://www.cat-world.com.au/acromegaly-in-cats
 
Re: 9/13 Shadow AMPS 103 +2.5~88 +4.5~80 +8~83 PMPS 85

I'll have to ask the vet but she hasn't shown any symptoms and she's been diabetic a short time and seems to be moving towards otj.

the last thing I wanted to do these days was put her thru another blood draw.
 
Re: 9/13 Shadow AMPS 103 +2.5~88 +4.5~80 +8~83 PMPS 85

Hi Rhiannon - so sorry that you are having problems with Shadow's shots. I wish I had an answer or suggestion for you. I just don't..... Her Numbers are beautiful. Even that amps isn't too bad. I am wishing you guys the best.
 
Re: 9/13 Shadow PMPS 85 +2~53

well.
maybe she knew this was coming and didn't want the shot.
will retest in 15 minutes. ( i predict she'll go back up or stay the same)
She did get evo tonight so low carb dinner.
 
Re: 9/13 Shadow PMPS 85 +2~53

WE had the same problem with Moonie in the beginning!! She fought,hissed, scratched & went basically insane every time I tried to shoot her!! For months it was like that--Until I tried putting her favorite treats in front of her while we were shooting-She was preoccupied with the treats & she let us shoot her!!
But Look at her numbers!!! Guess you are getting these shots in!!!!
No worries..You are doing so so well & so is Shadow!!! Pat yourselves on the back--Good job--She will get better! Hugs & love from us!!
 
Re: 9/13 Shadow PMPS 85 +2~53 +2.5~49

Oh silly Shadow! You need to come up just a little. Green is a beautiful number on you, but now that you've earned a reduction (below 50 for a newly diagnosed, right?!), come on up and give your momma a break! :-D Good job, Rhiannon! Hope you get some sleep tonight!

~Deborah & Shasta
 
Re: 9/13 Shadow PMPS 85 +2~53 +2.5~49 +3~65 +3.5~66

Arrrggghhhh Shadow - bring ye numbers up a bit and surf the calm green seas with a bit higher double digits.

Speaking of calm - I know ye doesn't care for the needle, but thar be far, far better days if ye let yer Mama and Papa Bean do what needs be done.

Have ya imbibed a wee bit of Rescue Remedy Rum lately?

It be the good stuff fer sure, mate.
 
Re: 9/13 Shadow PMPS 85 +2~53 +2.5~49 +3~65 +3.5~66

WOW!!! She earned a reduction the old fashioned way!!!!! woootttt!!

congratulations and good luck!!
 
Re: 9/13 Shadow PMPS 85 +2~53 +2.5~49 +3~65 +3.5~66 +4~76 +5

Both times Neko has "officially" earned deductions, she hit 49, and one was also today. I like those nice numbers too! BTW, Neko has acromegaly but no larger facial features.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top