9/13 Ozy AMPS-328,+4-199,+6.5-138,PMPS-139,+6-98

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/13 Ozy 328

Morning Donaleen! Did you start the reduction already this morning, if he earned it in the PM cycle, or did you "shoot through the bounce" (giving one more cycle at the old dose while he's bouncing from the low that earned the reduction)? I just don't see the dose entered on the spreadsheet yet so I was curious.

Glad Ozy is feeling well . . . have a great day!
 
Re: 9/13 Ozy 328

Are you supposed to shoot through the bounce without the reduction? We gave the reduction. I could add a quarter if we are supposed to. I posted between AMPS and shooting and then I updated the SS with the units we shot...
 
Re: 9/13 Ozy 328

Shooting thru the bounce is always an option, but if you already shot, don't worry about it. It doesn't work for every kitty, or every time. But in some cases it can help as far as the bounce clearing faster.
 
Re: 9/13 Ozy 328

Sometimes you do just one more time before taking the reduction but it's not required.
It's used when you want to keep the pressure going.... to get that bg lower sooner.

It's perfectly okay that you didn't. I would not add it now.
Maybe get a little nap instead.

Congratulations on a good pj party and earning that reduction. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/13 Ozy 328

My bad :oops: :oops: :oops: I'm sorry I neglected to tell you that. FWIW, sometimes it helps, sometimes it doesn't and you all had a long night. When it does help, you could have another crazy cycle on your hands so it can be good to just take a breather.

Very sorry..... :cry:
 
Re: 9/13 Ozy 328

I probably could have tried to mention it last night, but it was pretty chaotic at 2 or 3 am. ;-)
 
Re: 9/13 Ozy 328

donaleen and Ozy said:
that is a finer point that I did not know about.

Hi Donaleen! Don't worry about not knowing about that option, I just thought I'd mention it since I see a lot of bounces too! You can always use it on the next reduction if Ozy bounces right after. It's just for the ONE cycle immediately following earning a reduction.
 
Re: 9/13 Ozy 328,+4-199,+6.5-138

Thanks Amy, Carl, and Marje. It's okay. He is down in the blues now. I'll know for next time.

Tired today.

Still on the agenda today is another try at subQ fluids...

I DID buy some Lantus on Craigslist. Is there any way to be sure it is good? The date is good. New sealed containers. But how do I know if it has been properly refrigerated?

I bought if from someone who changed the type of insulin they are using and needed the money.

And what is that stuff you are giving Gracie for hairball issues? One of my civies, little Pippin, has hairball issues. His vet said not being able to pass hair balls is a sign of poor digestion. Please, not another sick kitty. Especially not Pippin because he is so small...5 lb 6 oz at two and a half years.
 
Re: 9/13 Ozy AMPS-328,+4-199,+6.5-138,+11-151,PMPS-139

We did try subQ fluids again. I used a smaller needle, probably too small...I wanted to try 20 gauge but I didn't have any so I tried 23 gauge. We used his padded box. He was already in it; a new place to lie is always good. I got the needle in with no issue but as soon as the fluids started, he jumped too much. I tried warming them but perhaps not enough. Still, mostly what I want right now is to figure it out and get him used to it. I figure we will go slow on this one.

He's been pretty flat in the last half of this cycle, including PMPS. I wonder what that will mean. 139 didn't seem at all scary to shoot after shooting last night's 57.
 
Re: 9/13 Ozy AMPS-328,+4-199,+6.5-138,+11-151,PMPS-139

Very cute photo of him and his belly. Tobeys looks like that, too :-D

Yes, 23g are too small. I used 22g once and it was fine as far as Gus was concerned but I thought it would take forever!

My vet initially thought I should use coconut oil and so I got Tropical Traditions extra virgin, unrefined Gold Label. It made Gracies trigykcerides go up. But not Tobeys or Gus's. so then Dr. B said to give her pumpkin but Gracie wouldn't eat it. She like baby food squash but it made her BG go up. So finally Dr. b gave her standard process Gastro-fiber. You can get it at some health food stores and Online.
 
Re: 9/13 Ozy AMPS-328,+4-199,+6.5-138,+11-151,PMPS-139

Thanks, Marje. I tried coconut oil first. I didn't like the idea of him eating petroleum products (straight from the oil well to your table) but the vet said that you want something that doesn't digest so it can go all the way through... lubricating as it goes.

donaleen
 
Re: 9/13 Ozy AMPS-328,+4-199,+6.5-138,+11-151,PMPS-139

Suzanne was just telling me about egg yolk lecithin capsules. It breaks down any fat in the hairball and thus the hairball.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top