9/13 Missy AMPS 338 +12 111 +14 112

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mom2Missy

Member Since 2010
If only I could prevent these morning pinks! She does so good during the day and PMPS has been in the blue the past few days. If I don't shoot anything, she's pink in the morning. Last night I shot a s0.2 on a 164... she's pink this morning. I checked her twice before bed last night because I was worried about shooting so low. At+3 she was at 78. At +4 she was at 128.

If it's twelve hours between both shots, why is she pink in the morning and not in the evening?
 
Re: 9/13 Missy AMPS 338 PMPS 111

+ 10 78
PMPS 111

I'm feeding her a little bit of food, and then I'll recheck in an hour or so to see if she'll give me a shootable number. If so, hopefully the insulin I give her will last until morning this time. I still don't understand why the morning shot lasts at least 12 hours and the evening shot does not. Nothing is done differently.
 
Re: 9/13 Missy AMPS 338 PMPS 111

Does she has a secret stash of kibble hidden somewhere that she dips into in the middle of the night.
 
Nope. No kibble in the house anywhere.

It looks like she's not getting a shot tonight. She was 111 at +12. I fed her and waited two hours. Now she's at 112. I guess we'll just wait to see what the morning brings

Edited to change 11 at +12 to 111 at +12
 
I'm guessing that the 11 was supposed to be 111. It scared the crap out of me. :lol:

She'll probably be little high in the morning again. What does she do at night? If she's a night owl and runs around all night, exercise will lower her bg. But if she sleeps, then that's not it.
 
Yes. 111. Sorry about that.

I have no clue what she does at night. Right now she's walking around the house because the dog is asleep. Usually the dog wants to play with her all the time, so Missy usually hangs out in the office during the day. So, I'm assuming when the dog is asleep Missy roams around the house. But I honestly have no clue. I know she plays when I'm still up with the lights on. But once the lights go out, your guess is as good as mine.
 
Woohoo, look at those #s today, go Missy!!!!

There's a thing called Dawn Phenomenon I've read w/human diabetics, where #s are often high in the morning for reasons unknown. I've seen it mentioned here & there w/cats too.

If her eating patterns are different that could affect it too. Maybe she snacks more during the day? Or eats a lot in the morning right when the insulin has worn off, giving you a food spike? Who knows, but if her meal times aren't the same, that could be a factor (not saying they need to be the same!).

Hopefully it will be a non-issue, but if needed, I've seen people shoot a higher dose at night (if there's room in the nadir zone to do so), to try to get better duration overnight. Alternately, you could alter the timing a little - maybe let the day cycle be +13 and the night cycle be +11. Could be too confusing, and again, hopefully.... it don't matter no mo'! :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top