9/13 Kasha AMPS 141 PMPS 166 First chemo

Status
Not open for further replies.

kryskat

Member Since 2010
She vomited after I gave her a dose of azithromycin last night. Not sure why - it was about 10 - 15 min after. She did gag when I gave the A/B - but she usually hates the cod liver oil flavor anyway. I may give another dose tonight but I'm not sure if we should continue - I'll mention to the oncologist vet today.

Last night was bad. I'm having very conflicted emotions about even making her stick around to go thru more treatments, but I read last night before going to sleep that chemo can improve even severe symptoms as quickly as 24 hrs. Now that doesn't mean it will work that way for us, but any improvement would be welcome.

I heard a funny noise this morning and it was Kasha using the scratching post.

Appt is this afternoon around 4. I have to get to work earlier today because they flew someone in to train me this week (I'm taking over his job as of the end of the month). I don't know how I'm going to concentrate...

Kasha story:
A little more on the trip to Canada... The next morning we woke up and Kasha was extremely interested in the car. Since it was hot, I didn't want any of us to get in the car any earlier than necessary, so I kept her away from it. We walked - Kasha on her leash - through the camping areas and over to the beach. We looked at Lake Erie from the other side (since we're used to it from the Cleveland side). I thought - look, a beach! The world's biggest litter box! But Kasha was not impressed. She was pulling on the leash to head back to the car. So we meandered back - she was pretty focused though - it was as meandering a path as you might expect. We got back to the car and she wanted to go in so much... Finally, I opened the door and she flew into the car - right into her litter box. Right - she'd basically been holding her breath till she could get to her box. She'd been outside for hours.. walked on the beach... and the only place she'd pee was in her litter box in the car.

Yesterday
 
Re: 9/13 Kasha AMPS 141

I hope Kasha's symptoms improve.
I guess she's just used to the litter box, she's a good girl and knows that's where to go
 
Re: 9/13 Kasha AMPS 141

Awww Krys, that's such a cute story about the litter box.. :smile:
I Hope Kasha's tummy feels a little better today.
 
Re: 9/13 Kasha AMPS 141

That's a great story Krys!! You can't beat the familiar even if you have the world's biggest LB handy.

Good luck today. I'll be thinking about you and Kasha. Please update us when you can.
 
Re: 9/13 Kasha AMPS 141

I enjoy reading the stories you tell about Kasha...I am so happy to stop by and see what you are going to share with us each day! :mrgreen: How smart she is though...to know that the LB was IN the car. I guess she didn't want to mess the grass of the beach sand...LOL...if we could only really read their minds...right? LOL
Thinking of you today...hope you can get through the day with some amount of focus on your job...it is difficult, but you can do it Krys! Wishing you well this afternoon....
Hugs to Kasha and you :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/13 Kasha AMPS 141

Wonderful Story - thanks for sharing.

I will be thinking of you today - Good luck at the oncologist. I hope for good news. Please update when you can.

Hugs to everyone there!
 
Re: 9/13 Kasha AMPS 141

I'll be thinking good thoughts of you and Kasha today. I loved the story! How nice that you were able to take Kasha camping. My Rainbow Bridge 16 year old kitty had advanced intestinal lymphoma and was on an oral chemo and handled it surprisingly well. I remember my kitty's Vet telling me cats handle chemo very well and much better than us humans. Someone here also mentioned it. Good luck today with deciding what options are best for Kasha and also with getting thru work, too. That can't be easy either.
 
Re: 9/13 Kasha AMPS 141

riveraside_q5nvb939.gif
a ton of snowflakes for today Krys let us know how the appt goes you are in my thoughts and prayers and I love the story you shared with us (((((HUGS)))))
 
Re: 9/13 Kasha AMPS 141

Krys...that was too funny.

We are thinking about you and Kasha today.....lots of cyber hugs to ya both.

(((((Krys)))))) ((((Kasha))))
 
Re: 9/13 Kasha AMPS 141

I'm torn about even going thru with this appt... I considered canceling it while I was driving to work... So hard to know what's right for her. As BF said today, she is 18 yrs old - what am I doing? Should I try this? I tell myself that she's still so strong except for this, but I can no longer clearly see what's right and what's wrong. Thinking about how brave Joyce was to do what she did for Tuscany before things got too bad. I don't want Kasha to keep suffering, but I also want to give her a chance. I think if we don't notice some big improvement quickly, we won't continue.

I called the onc vet and left a message asking if we could start treatment today. I think it was supposed to be a consultation, but we really can't wait any longer.

I am truly in hell right now. I've been crying on and off at work all morning (in my special meetings with the guy they flew in from Florida).
 
Re: 9/13 Kasha AMPS 141

*hugs*
To me, age is just a number. Cats can live years past 18. The question is whether she is otherwise healthy enough to deal with the proposed treatment.

Praying for guidance and comfort for you.

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 9/13 Kasha AMPS 141

((((Krys))) to me 18 is just a number if there is a chance she can get thru this and still have QOL I think that is what I would be I guess asking myself if this were Do Lou since the thought of parting with him well I cannot even think it since I am so bonded with that cat I know if it were him I would do whatever I could to help him if there were a chance he would still be able to be with me and still feel ok since I would not want him to suffer or be in pain in anyway so I guess if I were in your place these are things I would be talking to the Vet about I know this is so hard but I would go to the appt if I were you since you do not want to look back and regret that you did not maybe
 
Re: 9/13 Kasha AMPS 141

I know how she feels. I have that same toilet thing when I travel. I just prefer to use my own LB too. :lol:

Good luck with your appt. this afternoon.
 
Re: 9/13 Kasha AMPS 141

I am so sorry you and Kasha are going through this. You are both in my prayers. Thank you for sharing your story - so cute about the litter box.
 
Re: 9/13 Kasha AMPS 141

Hoping and praying you have some quality time left with sweet Kasha, and that this vet gives you reason for optimism. (( Krys ))
 
Re: 9/13 Kasha AMPS 141

Hi Krys,
I hope you are ok right now.
I read your post about maybe not keeping the appt. I know Im late, but wanted to share...

I was hesitant to keep Latte's accupuncture appt , which ended up to be during her final week. Though I go back and forth about many things- what was too much, what was not enogh- I know I would really hate myself had I not given it a try. She may have just been humoring me by tolerating it. Or, maybe she was really trying to get better? As we all remember it gave us many hrs of hope, which was soon washed aside. But again, I do not regret doing everything I could...as long as SHE had that spark in her eyes.

I dont envy you, but I do respect and believe that all of your choices for kasha's care are out of love and respect for her.

Remember you told me I would know when. I said similar things as you and was very unsure. That day I let Latte go, it was right. You were right. You will know.

Thinking of you.
 
Well, she had her first chemo drug tonight - Elspar. You can google it - I wasn't familiar with it by any name - I'd researched various protocols such as COP or CHOP - I guess this will be used in conjunction with a CHOP approach? Maybe even more chemicals - they use a 25 week protocol - 9 weeks or so of weekly treatment and then every 2 weeks or so after. According to the oncologist, the Elspar can cause the tumor to shrink very very quickly.

They kept us waiting nearly an hour for our appt, which was not making me feel confident in my decision. But the vet seemed nice - I'm not sure why I was told he was difficult to understand, he didn't have much of an accent at all. He also seemed knowledgeable about various options. But I still don't know what to make of the whole thing. I had an hour or so to wait while she was in back being treated (I also don't like that so much) and I could just barely get enuf signal to google some stuff. I read somewhere that Elspar can cause very rapid (nearly immediate) remissions, but they don't "hold" which is why you use the more traditional protocols in an attempt for a lasting or "durable" remission. I don't know that my source was reliable, but that's what I read.

I'm worried about side effects now. She won't come upstairs - she down on the downstairs front porch right now. I think she plans to run away.

We didn't get prednisolone this week. Vet is concerned about her diabetic status. They did give dexamethasone (another steroid) and benadryl with her elspar injection to lessen possible allergic reactions/side effects. He said we'd see how she reacted to the dex and then decide next week on prednisolone. He also told me to give insulin as normal - so I force fed her some dinner (not as much as usual because I'm afraid she may vomit) and shot nearly an hour late - which isn't so great since I'm on a different schedule with work this week... Oh well.

Please don't send me any scary info about any of these chemicals. I'm a nervous wreck and not in any condition to take on any more worry...
 
No scary info. Just remember we can always work the insulin around the steroids. There are lots of kitties here who are on steroids for all sorts of reasons.

Just be good to yourself. It's one step at a time with all of this. None of your decisions are irrevocable. Just see how Kasha is doing at each step.
 
((((Krys)))) the way I see it, if the vet is talking about a 25 week plan, then he must think there is a chance that she'll make it for at least 25 weeks, right? And if he gave her a drug that can cause fast remission/shrinkage, he probably did that at least partly to see how she responds. I bet you'll know a lot more by next week's appointment.

I really hope Kasha starts feeling better right away.
 
I am glad that you skipped the consult and went right for the treatment today....after all, why wait? You did good kid! I know nothing about those drugs...but for tonight you would do well to rest.
And are her bags packed by the front door or something? You said she might be thinking of running away...
I thought that was how you knew she was planning that....
Hope she changes her mind and comes in to hang out with you tonight... ((Krys & Kasha))
 
I think you did the right thing in starting her chemo right away.
Sending healing white light
download

vines that she feels better REAL soon!
6.gif
get a good night's sleep Krys
 
I know nothing about any of this, but my inner self says you made a good choice. I hope she will respond quickly, and feel better soon. She's been through alot today, as have you. It will be OK, as will Kasha. Give her some space, love her to pieces, she'll come around. Take care - we are all here for you.
 
Hey Kris, Kasha is one fine kitty and you are giving her a chance to live with good QOL. That's all that matters right now. So give your Kasha lots of love this evening and explain to her what is happening and how it will make her feel better and breathe easier. Take each day as it comes. You have a lot to deal with right now with the new job assignment and Kasha's treatment, but you are strong and so is Kasha and you will be able to do it. We are sending lots of prayers, healing vines, snowflakes, etc. etc. and thinking good thoughts. Do try to get some sleep tonight.

Many hugs,
Ella & Stu
p.s. Loved the story about the beach and the litterbox. When we were selling an apartment and the realtor was having an open house, we had to take Alice (GA) out of the apartment. It was November and a cold, gray day, but we took her to the beach, thinking that the sand (i.e., huge litterbox) would interest her. She couldn't wait to get back into her carrier and into the car!!
 
So glad you were able to start treatment right away. That sounds like a smart choice. Praying you will see results quickly, and Kasha will start to feel better!
 
Krys,

What a day you have had...what a week and what a month. Whew!

You, Krys, have worked very hard at helping your dear Kasha. She is so lucky to have such a wonderful, caring Momma Bean.

I hope that there is someone there w/you during this time who can give you a little TLC. You deserve it.

We will be here for you. Thinking about you and Kasha....sending lots of snowflakes and healing vines.


Hey Kasha. Unpack those bags of yours and stay home w/your Momma Bean. She loves you very much. Stay home and rest. Let her feed you with that spoon, let her stroke you sweet little furry head and help her to remember some really neat stories about your life together. We all chuckled at the story about you going for a walk along the world's largest litterbox.....You were not impressed. Stay home a spell and rest. You've had a tough day w/that first round of chemotherapy. All of us kitties are PURRING for you.
 
Krys - I am glad you were able to start the chemo today. Lymphomas can be very responsive and quickly to chemo. Kasha has a chance - even if it is for some good shrinkage now and maybe not the cure - it should help her QOL. We were in a bit of different state for Tuscany. They had nothing to offer us for her sarcoma. They don't respond to chemo /radiation and for her an amputation at her age, with the diabetes, with the significant arthritis she had and the neurological event (her balance thingy that happened in February) - the amputation was not an option. If Tuscany had had lymphoma I would have given the chemo a shot at it. You have nothing to lose and everything to gain at this point in time. And - if she does experience issues with the drug - or doesn't get the response you had hoped for- then you know you gave it your best shot. (((HUGS)))
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top