9/13 Chester AMPS 441

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jaye and Chester

Member Since 2010
Morning, All...

We're trying diligently to get Chester down from the WAY too high dose he had been on (which wasn't working at all for him). We've made quite a bit of progress, I think. This morning starts our 4th cycle at 2.5 and I plan on continuing at least through the week. I'll have time Friday, Sat and Sun for any changes. He's VERY high at shot time, but yesterday was nicely in the blue for most of the day. That's progress for us. He felt great and wore everyone out.

I'm not sure what's going on with the wonderful day and crappy night, though. I suspect we're still filling the shed from the dose of 1.5 he got the other day when I had an unexpected a.m. low (he's almost NEVER been low pre-shot before). Hoping these numbers will iron out at this dose because I really don't want his nadir lower than the 104 he had yesterday. My vet is telling me to just sit on my hands and ride it out, because it was the quick jumping around of doses that got him up to 4.5units in the first place and we don't want that again.

This couldn't be a bounce...again...could it? I hope not..... Could it be that his insulin kicked out on him before pmps and he's having a harder time bringing the bg down from such a high number?

No ketones, btw.
 
Yes could be because of reduced dose and refilling of shed.
Could also be kitty's body saying woah 104 way too low and throwing out some glucagon. Fondly known as 'liver training school'.

As you've cut the dose a lot (wise decision by the looks of it for now), hold fast till Friday. Even if numbers start up high, but check for keytones and observe his behaviour,litterbox action, food intake etc.
Normally hold a dose for 3-5 days anyway. If you do get worried that numbers keep rising, after 3days (6 cycles)could just try throwing some fat on it or a full .25u, otherwise I think your plan is a good one.

Just remember the keytone testing.

BTW-I spend most of my time on health these days so not such a tight track on LL users.Are you not looking for an attempt at remission? You say you don't want him lower than 104. A lot of cats on Lan/Lev will end up where beans are shooting a green number. Yes this takes more monitoring (though you look like you do a lot to me) as you have to watch the nadir (keep above the 40 mark, 50 in newly diagnosed). But the longer in a 24 hour cycle you can keep him in non-diabetic numbers the better for health, kidneys, pancreas etc.

Keep up the good work :mrgreen:
 
Hi Jaye...are you still using the Alpha Track? The numbers will be higher than a human meter in this case...and I see that you have been on 7 different doses since 9/2 right? We use Lev too BTW! :razz:
You are doing the right thing by sticking to this dose now...4th cycle...we see results sometimes in the 6th cycle after a change but that could be different since you have been bouncing around a lot, right? You are doing the right things and if you keep on a steady course now, you will see results soon. (sit on your hands..LOL)
I do believe that these angry reds could be the result of the lovely blues you saw yesterday! Bounces will happen until they don't happen anymore. fun, eh? <big sigh>. There is nothing to do but wait it out....
Chester will try to get back down when the bounce clears. It is all part of LTS (Liver Training School) Hang in there during this bounce though...you are doing a great job!!! :thumbup

Is this your last post on Fri Sept 10th? viewtopic.php?f=9&t=24596
We link our last post to the first one of each day so it is easy to refer back to what happened previously.... Did you get to read the starred stickies at the top of the page yet?

Do you have a supply of HC gravy on hand?
Just a reminder...any lower than usual preshot numbers: please come back and post the number and ask for help with shooting, okay? DO NOT FEED at that time, but retest in 15 minutes, okay? We will help you through that if /when that happens, okay?
Do you have any other questions from the stickies?
 
Jaye...since you use the Alpha Track meter...would you please add that to your signature line? That will help if anyone reads your condo in the future, okay? :mrgreen: the numbers read much higher than what a human meter reads and most of us are using those here...(I use the Reli-On Micro meter because the test strips are mush more reasonable $20 for 50)
Thank you! :mrgreen:
 
looking good! Yes, the red numbers are probably the result of seeing low blue yesterday. Bouncing is part of the process. It's frustrating, but it will stop at some point. Hold the course, dose to the nadir you want and eventually the rest of the numbers will come down too.

The bounces can take up to 72 hours to clear, so it's a good idea to wait for the bounce to clear before doing any dose increases.

You're doing fine!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top