? 9/13/18 Olive AMPS 184; +4=202; +6=148; +9=139; PMPS 201; +4=258

Olive & Paula

Member Since 2015
Yesterday

She should be popping a green tonight.

Here's my dilemma, 9 units is to much, 8.75 just isn't enough. I'm thrilled she is pretty much blue and yellow but I would like majority to be blue at least.

Opinions needed on this. What about 9 units but give higher carb food? 6% brings her up pretty good if given on the first low test. What about giving 6% or 8% between PS and +3?

It should I just leave it as is. If using the AT these numbers would more yellow. I'm thinking of using AT for awhile and see what the data comes up with.

Okay lay on the opinions please.
 
Hmmm. Is she eating ok or might there be a time when you've shot 9u then try to feed her between PS and +3 and she won't eat? What % is her food now? What about giving 8.75u and a lower % food?
 
She eats PS, +2, (1/2 can) +3 and sometimes +4 (1/4 can) if she's really pestering. She gets 3% and 2% carbs for all her meals. Then snacks (1/4 can) +5 or 6 and again +8 or 9. She is an eating machine, if I give more she will gain to much. I know they say feed the acro but 12 lbs is really good for her. She been maintaining 12-12.5 for months now. She looks much heavier though with her fat belly.
 
Do you use calipers? Maybe you can try measuring an in between dose. Make good notes with whatever you decide to do.
 
She got down to 50 four cycles ago and would continue to evaluate the dose every 6-8 cycles. I know you want her to stay in good numbers but she's just not a consistent cat yet IMHO.....AKA rainbow kitty. You can certainly the options above in regard to carbs etc. Not sure why you'd want the extra expense with using the AT meter except for a back up or spot check....TR was written with a human meter:)
 
Hi
She got down to 50 four cycles ago and would continue to evaluate the dose every 6-8 cycles. I know you want her to stay in good numbers but she's just not a consistent cat yet IMHO.....AKA rainbow kitty. You can certainly the options above in regard to carbs etc. Not sure why you'd want the extra expense with using the AT meter except for a back up or spot check....TR was written with a human meter:)

Hi there, 1st how's Leo? What's the plan?

So I grasping at straws here. I know my AT is spot on with arterial blood stick. So my thinking as crazy as it is that maybe with the AT the 9 units is actually enough. I have spot checked and if using AT then this dose isn't enough.

I just think again as crazy as it is maybe I can fine tune with the AT. It could be this is just the best she can be and I leave everything as is. What do I know. Do I leave it and this is good enough and okay? Do I push just a bit more for better readings maybe low blues all the time. I won't switch to AT permanently, just a few weeks.
 
I never fed the acro, I fed the cat and tried to keep Neko at a good weight for her. With her arthritis, common enough in acros, I didn't need extra weight in her.

Olive is very bouncy. She needs to spend more time in green. There are a couple of options to try to achieve that. One is to increase and aggressively feed the curve to limit premature reductions. You could use higher carb food when you see her heading to lower territory. The other option for more greens is waiting for more times under 50 before reducing, for kitties that fail their reductions, going to three under 50, or once under 40 if that comes first, is an option. Note, I am not personally so fond of this with acros unless you are around a lot to monitor.
 
I'm not feeding the acro. I'm trying to keep her under 12.5 lbs. I don't know what more I can do with the feedings. There are days she demands to eat every 2 hrs. I'm lucky I can get her to go 3 hrs. I really don't want to confine her in a room. Now the other 2 cats eat on her schedule, it's all we do is dish out food all day.
 
Back
Top