? 9/12 - Xander | AMPS 263 - Scary night last night; interested in thoughts

Brianna & Xander

Member Since 2024
Previous post: 9/3/25

Here we are again...

Numbers have been stubbornly sucky, so yesterday AM I went with an increase. Sometimes he does well if I wait more than the 6 cycles, but looking at previous instances, there were at least more good numbers mixed in there than right now and I felt like he needed a big push. We may have gotten it (?) but I don't know for sure because - you guessed it - I can't confirm! πŸ™ƒ

Every day lately I give him a dose of Mirataz (transdermal) or at some point he'll just stop eating. Yesterday I gave it to him a couple hours earlier because it's often his 5:00 meal that he refuses to eat (but is starving around 7). No difference in it aside from that.

Around 5:30ish, my partner noticed that Xander was, like, shivering. Just shaking all over. Otherwise seemed totally fine; was walking around and sociable and even playing a bit. It wasn't constant and he's a cat, so naturally every time we tried to record it, he stopped or moved. I chalked it up to excitement about my partner getting home.

Around 7:00 he started screaming for food (so I guess the earlier dose didn't help). Partner noticed that he was still/began shaking again. At that point the Libre put him in the 80s-90s, so nothing drastic, but I started to feel like maybe this screaming was a warning of a hypo and he has never been symptomatic before, so I said eff it to waiting for PS and shooting and fed him HC instead. I think he continued to shake off and on for the next maybe half hour or so, after I'd fed him again. I watched closely but don't remember seeing any shaking after that. The lowest number I saw on the Libre this whole time was 55 and it was taken off of the graph later with a low of 69. He did go up and come down a bit with each feeding, but never hypo in numbers. The last HC I gave him was at about 9, then I waited an hour before giving LC to see if he would stay up. He did, so I waited a bit longer and then gave him some overnight LC food and went to bed (really hard, I was afraid).

Obviously I couldn't confirm that he was low and the Libre was wrong, so I simply don't know. We were cursing that the whole damn time. It would be so much EASIER. I also considered serotonin syndrome, but the symptoms from that overlap pretty well with Mirataz's side effects in general. He was screaming for food (as he always does with it), his pupils were big but I don't know that it was any more than usual because he tends to have Disney eyes, and he was shaking, which was the only new thing. Lastly of course it's possible that this specific Libre is just way off. I've never had one seem to be far off (and especially not showing falsely high as opposed to falsely low) so maybe he has been having better numbers than I thought since it was replaced and thus really was hypo last night. I wish I could know for sure.

I know that repeated hypos can make future ones easier to reach/worse, so I'm wondering if maybe he's had too many asymptomatic hypos and this was the result. I just don't know.

He seems totally fine today, back to his usual (lately) self. Really freaked me out. I obviously gave a reduction this morning in case, but I was afraid to give anything and now I'm afraid to give any Mirataz (even a lower dose), but him not eating isn't an option either.

Dental is still scheduled for the 22nd, and only as of yesterday did the specialist finally give our vet a date (really not impressed with this specialist tbh) of the 24th for an ultrasound. So we've still got quite a wait until we can even see what might be going on that's making him generally not feel well and sometimes not eat. I'm not sure if I mentioned it last time or not, but I did put his labs up in the labs tab. Vet basically said they were all good (despite the urine seeming bad, which she literally didn't mention and I had to find out myself, but that may be dehydration from struggling to get him to eat consistently).

I know his high numbers may be related to whatever's going on with him, but it's hard to see them and not feel like we were finally on the right track and then everything spiraled out of control and now it's gone forever. 😞
 
Last edited:
I'd normally be giving him some Mirataz about now. Not sure if I should or not. 🫀 If I don't, he may not eat tonight and I won't be able to shoot. If I do, maybe whatever happened last night will happen again.

Edit: Aaaaand he won't even eat his lunch, which I can usually at least manage. Sigh.
 
Last edited:
UH!!! I'm so sorry, Brianna. What a scary thing to go through. I don't have much advice, but I'm wondering if (especially because he's not even eating his lunch) you give the Mirataz tonight, see if it happens again and at least you'll know you can give more carbs to help correct it. Also, because his numbers are higher tonight, if it were to happen again (I really hope not) then you'd know it's not from hypo? I will say, when I did briefly use the Libre (2) and was still doing some manual tests, there were times when we had higher numbers on the Libre and a hypo on the handheld (example 115 vs 38). However, almost always the Libre read higher than the handheld for us, which isn't the same for your experience (when you've been able to manual test).

Regardless, I hope this doesn't happen again!!! πŸ€— πŸ€— πŸ€—πŸƒπŸƒπŸƒ (and annoyed with you about the vet situation)
 
UH!!! I'm so sorry, Brianna. What a scary thing to go through. I don't have much advice, but I'm wondering if (especially because he's not even eating his lunch) you give the Mirataz tonight, see if it happens again and at least you'll know you can give more carbs to help correct it. Also, because his numbers are higher tonight, if it were to happen again (I really hope not) then you'd know it's not from hypo? I will say, when I did briefly use the Libre (2) and was still doing some manual tests, there were times when we had higher numbers on the Libre and a hypo on the handheld (example 115 vs 38). However, almost always the Libre read higher than the handheld for us, which isn't the same for your experience (when you've been able to manual test).

Regardless, I hope this doesn't happen again!!! πŸ€— πŸ€— πŸ€—πŸƒπŸƒπŸƒ (and annoyed with you about the vet situation)
That's a good point! I think it's too late to give to him now, though, or he'll be screaming all night long overnight. He did eventually eat his lunch over a couple of hours, but I don't have high hopes for his meal a half hour from now. πŸ˜•

Yeah, my experience has always seemed to be the opposite (Libre reads low), but maybe this one is the opposite. Sure wish I could just test.
 
Awe, poor guy, sorry y'all had to go through that. I've never had a hypo event with Bell, but when she gets into the low greens, she becomes almost frantic for food. She almost never meows, but one of the few times I hear her little rasp is when I'm bringing food to her when she is low. I've never seen the shivering before though.

I think the most frustrated and anxious I get through all of FD is when Bell refuses to eat. πŸ€—
 
That's a good point! I think it's too late to give to him now, though, or he'll be screaming all night long overnight. He did eventually eat his lunch over a couple of hours, but I don't have high hopes for his meal a half hour from now. πŸ˜•

Yeah, my experience has always seemed to be the opposite (Libre reads low), but maybe this one is the opposite. Sure wish I could just test.
Keep us posted on how the next meal goes. Hope he goes for something, anything.

And you’re doing the best you can with the numbers you have. And you know his behaviour so you were able to know something was off and help him.
 
Oh Brianna, I’m sorry to read you and Xander are having a tough time πŸ«‚

That must have been very scary to see him shivering. I’m glad the food seems to have gotten him out of the odd symptoms he was having.
I’m so glad you are able to watch him so carefully.

I hope he will eat his dinner tonight so that will make everything easier on you. I’m glad he did eat his lunch.

Keep us posted, we are sending lots of good wishes and vines your way for good eating πŸ€πŸ€πŸ€πŸƒπŸƒπŸƒπŸƒ
Please give Xander lots of hugs from me πŸ˜»πŸ’žπŸ’
 
Awe, poor guy, sorry y'all had to go through that. I've never had a hypo event with Bell, but when she gets into the low greens, she becomes almost frantic for food. She almost never meows, but one of the few times I hear her little rasp is when I'm bringing food to her when she is low. I've never seen the shivering before though.

I think the most frustrated and anxious I get through all of FD is when Bell refuses to eat. πŸ€—
Aww, just imagining little Bell's tiny meow when she's low!!! πŸ₯Ί I don't think I knew that she didn't really meow, but it somehow seems fitting with her name and her sweet little face that she'd be so quiet.

It's possible the shivering wasn't related (sure hope it's not some neurological thing πŸ˜“) but it seems like the most likely culprit (at least to my inexperienced eye). Definitely shakes my confidence.

Yes!! Not being able to get them to eat is the worst! Like you said, it's the most frustrated and anxious I get. You never know if it's something wrong or just Being a Catℒ️, but either way it's bad with insulin. Ugh.

Thanks for the kind words, Seth. πŸ€—
 
Keep us posted on how the next meal goes. Hope he goes for something, anything.

And you’re doing the best you can with the numbers you have. And you know his behaviour so you were able to know something was off and help him.

He did end up eating the food I mix his Gaba in (I mix it into a third of his meal, make sure he eats that first and then give the rest), which is great, but not the other β…”.

Shortly later I was making him some catsicles out of his 10% and HC food and he sure wanted that. Yelling about it even without Mirataz. I guess that's interesting food. 😏

However, he was pretty stoked about his PS snack so he got that and his PM dose.

His Libre's been in and out of sensor error all night which makes me think that yeah, it may not be accurate. We're only a week in and have nowhere else to put one for another week though, so I guess I'll just be extra vigilant and careful.
 
Oh Brianna, I’m sorry to read you and Xander are having a tough time πŸ«‚

That must have been very scary to see him shivering. I’m glad the food seems to have gotten him out of the odd symptoms he was having.
I’m so glad you are able to watch him so carefully.

I hope he will eat his dinner tonight so that will make everything easier on you. I’m glad he did eat his lunch.

Keep us posted, we are sending lots of good wishes and vines your way for good eating πŸ€πŸ€πŸ€πŸƒπŸƒπŸƒπŸƒ
Please give Xander lots of hugs from me πŸ˜»πŸ’žπŸ’

It was scary! It doesn't sound like much but I'd never seen him do it before and when he was so urgently begging for food it was disturbing. I definitely watched him like a hawk until his numbers were steady and he was comfortably settling down to sleep.

He did eat a bit of his dinner and the PS, so it could be worse, especially considering I didn't give him any Mirataz today.

Thank you, Staci!! Hugs deployed! 😊πŸ₯°

(Also, I will reply to your email!! lol)
 
I have seen the Libre read both higher and lower than the handheld meter, which makes sense with how serum vs. blood glucose works. Oftentimes if we catch the low on the handheld early and intervene with snacks, the lower numbers never end up sticking on the graph for the Libre. That 39 we had on the handheld meter a few days ago for example, I think the lowest number on the Libre chart that day was maybe 50 or 55. Whereas if he's low for a while on the Libre and we give a snack and then test, he'll be higher on the meter than the Libre.

Sending good vibes!
 
Back
Top