9/12 Sidney's AMPS 342, +6 312

Status
Not open for further replies.

Denise & Sidney

Member Since 2010
Sidney can't seem to get out of the pinks. The vet wanted me to start him on 4 u last Thurs. I waited until this morning. I have switched him to wet food. Do you think we have missed his optimum dose? I haven't been home enough to do a curve yet. I'm going to try to do that Tuesday. I'm not very comfortable with what seems like a high dose. He had started drinking and urinating less up until last night. I am having to use Neosporin/hydrocortisone on his back. He tends to have allergies and was evidentally allergic to one of the foods we tried. I've stopped feeding him beef. His dry food had rice in it. One of those was probably the culprit.
 
Hi Denise....I think your last post was Sept 1st...does that sound about right? Here is the link to that day:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... =9&t=23893

I am glad you are feeding the wet food now. Sometimes the BGs come down a lot with the switch. Is Sidney on any dry at all now?
I am also glad you are getting some tests in. Will you be able to test again tonight? We do ask for at least a before bedtime check during the PM cycle.

You have a good point about the dose. As i said to you previously, my vet started Shadow on that same 4.0u dose of Vetsulin. Here in LL we like to start low and go slow precisely for the reason you mentioned. If we start low we will go up in increasing the dose by .25u increments so as to NOT miss the ideal dose.
It is your choice of course, but for myself i decided to go to the 1.0u and start all over again as per the instructions of the people on this forum. No one here is a vet but they have seen many kitties go off the insulin and they do have a lot of experience with FD. So, I opted to start over with 1.0u twice each day.

I hop you did read the stickies at the top of this page. I mentioned it last time....it will give you so much useful information about the Protocol we use here and other valuable information. Do you have any questions about anything in the stickies?

Will you be able to post daily? It is the one thing that will keep you on track.
We post a new thread each day (we call it our condo for the day) and we link the previous day's post to the first entry of the day. During the day we update with new BGs tht we have. It is important to test often during the cycle so you will be able to see how Sidney is reacting to the insulin.

There is much to learn at first. But we welcome you to post here and welcome you to our family. :razz:
You did a good job with your SS! Congratulations!
Also, I see you opened a new Lantus pen and marked it in the notes on your SS...great job again!
So glad you are here...
If you have any specific questions, you are welcome to post it in reply to this post, okay! :razz:

ETA: my cats both had a very bad reaction to a new brand of cat food..beef & chicken...so I just do not feed beef at all anymore....
 
Hi, Denise & Sidney!

sounds like someone is a Casablanca fan...good taste.

hope we see more of you here...these folks have really been instrumental in setting my cat on the right track...(they haven't quite achieved that with me, however) :))

celi & binks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top