9/12 Scully PMPS=143 +3=109 +6=34 +6.5=62 +7=60 +7.5=91

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara and Scully

Member Since 2014
Previous condo (9/11/14):
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=125138

Yikes! Woke up to check Scully and found her at 34 at +6! Fed 1 tsp. of FF Gravy Lovers Chicken. Waiting to retest. No visible signs of hypo. She was sleeping with DH and me on our bed. We just reduced her dose a few days ago from 1.5 U to 1.25 U. Tonight was her 6th cycle at 1.25 U. We'll reduce her dose again to 1 U at the AM cycle. I will update when I retest her in about 10 minutes.

Tara & Scully
 
Re: 9/12 Scully PMPS=143 +3=109 +6=34 +6.5=62

I checked Scully at +6.5 and she's risen up to 62. She responds very well to HC normally, and thank heaven tonight was no exception. I will wait 30 minutes and check her one more time before going back to bed. I hope the bounce that's sure to occur later won't be too high.

Tara & Scully
 
Re: 9/12 Scully PMPS=143 +3=109 +6=34 +6.5=62 +7=60

At +7, Scully's BG has dropped from 62 to 60. I'm glad she's still above 50 and this is a very slight drop, but normally her BG continues to rise. I fed her low carb FF Turkey. She ate about 1/3 of a can. I will check her again in 30 minutes.
 
Hi Tara:

Just so you know, when Kitty goes so low, you need two tests with rising numbers and no food influence to be safe. In other words, after you got the 62, you should have not fed, then tested in 30, which you did. However, you fed again, which means your 91 was food influenced. So once that food wears off, Scully could drop again. It looks like you've gone to bed. I hope that Scully will be alright and you'll have a nice number when you wake up, but you should know you were taking a chance.

Here is the protocol:

If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only.
(If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top